Never broken: Songs Are Only Half the Story

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(0)
4 star
 
(1)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Author:
Language:
English
More Details
ISBN:
9780399174339
9781504630283
9781504630221
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Also in this Series
More Like This
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 144d9537-f65d-67aa-697f-bd44b6bbf4a6
Full title never broken songs are only half the story
Author jewel
Grouping Category book
Last Update 2018-06-21 03:06:18AM
Last Indexed 2018-06-21 03:29:19AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Jewel
author2-role Blackstone Audio, Inc., Recorded Books, LLC.
author_display Jewel
available_at_catalog Athens Drive Community, Cameron Village Regional, Cary Community, Duraleigh Road Community, East Regional, Eva H. Perry Regional, Leesville Community, North Regional, Northeast Regional, Southeast Regional, West Regional, Zebulon Community
collection_catalog Audio Books - Adult Nonfiction, Biography
detailed_location_catalog Athens Drive Community - Biography, Cameron Village Regional - Biography, Cary Community - Biography, Duraleigh Road - Biography, East Regional - Biography, Eva H. Perry Regional - Biography, Fuquay-Varina Community - Biography, Holly Springs Community - Biography, Leesville Community - Biography, North Regional - Audio Books - Adult Nonfiction, North Regional - Biography, Northeast Regional - Biography, Remote Storage - Biography, Southeast Regional - Biography, West Regional - Biography, Zebulon Community - Biography
display_description

New York Times bestselling poet and multi-platinum singer-songwriter Jewel explores her unconventional upbringing and extraordinary life in an inspirational memoir that covers her childhood to fame, marriage, and motherhood.

When Jewel's first album, Pieces of You, topped the charts in 1995, her emotional voice and vulnerable performance were groundbreaking. In the tradition of Joan Baez and Joni Mitchell (she has been compared to both), a singer-songwriter of her kind had not emerged in decades. Now, with over thirty million albums sold worldwide, Jewel tells the story of her life and the lessons learned from her experience and her music.

Living on a homestead in Alaska, Jewel learned to yodel at age three and joined her parents' act, working in hotels, honkytonks, and biker bars. Behind a strong-willed and independent family life, with an emphasis on music and artistic talent, was also instability, abuse, and trauma. At age fifteen Jewel was accepted to the prestigious Interlochen School in Michigan, where she began writing her own songs as a means of expression. She was eighteen, homeless, and living out of her car in San Diego when a radio DJ aired a bootleg version of her song, and it was requested into the top-ten countdown, something unheard of for an unsigned artist. By age twenty-one, her debut album went multi-platinum.

There is so much more to Jewel's story, one complicated by family and financial woes, by crippling fear and insecurity, by parents who forced a child to grow up far too quickly, and by the extraordinary circumstances in which she become a world-famous singer and songwriter. Here Jewel reflects on how she survived and how writing songs, poetry, and prose have saved her life many times over. She writes beautifully about the natural wonders of Alaska, about pain and childhood trauma, and about discovering her own identity years after the entire world had discovered the beauty of her songs.

format_catalog Audio Book, Book, eAudiobook
format_category_catalog Audio Books, Books, eBook
id 144d9537-f65d-67aa-697f-bd44b6bbf4a6
isbn 9780399174339, 9781504630221, 9781504630283
item_details ils:701907|5634368|Cameron Village Regional - Biography|B JEWEL|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||CAM||, ils:701907|5634369|Leesville Community - Biography|B JEWEL|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||LEE||, ils:701907|5634370|Remote Storage - Biography|B JEWEL|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||LAB||, ils:701907|5634371|Eva H. Perry Regional - Biography|B JEWEL|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||EVA||, ils:701907|5634372|North Regional - Biography|B JEWEL|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||NOR||, ils:701907|5634373|Athens Drive Community - Biography|B JEWEL|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||ADR||, ils:701907|5634374|West Regional - Biography|B JEWEL|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||WRL||, ils:701907|5634376|Remote Storage - Biography|B JEWEL|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||LAB||, ils:701907|5634377|Southeast Regional - Biography|B JEWEL|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||SER||, ils:701907|5634378|Eva H. Perry Regional - Biography|B JEWEL|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||EVA||, ils:701907|5634379|Remote Storage - Biography|B JEWEL|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||LAB||, ils:701907|5634380|Cary Community - Biography|B JEWEL|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||CRY||, ils:701907|5634381|Southeast Regional - Biography|B JEWEL|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||SER||, ils:701907|5634382|Eva H. Perry Regional - Biography|B JEWEL|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||EVA||, ils:701907|5634384|Fuquay-Varina Community - Biography|B JEWEL|||1|false|false|||||Checked out||FUQ||, ils:701907|5634385|Zebulon Community - Biography|B JEWEL|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||ZEB||, ils:701907|5634386|Remote Storage - Biography|B JEWEL|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||LAB||, ils:701907|5634387|West Regional - Biography|B JEWEL|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||WRL||, ils:701907|5634388|Northeast Regional - Biography|B JEWEL|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||NER||, ils:701907|5634389|West Regional - Biography|B JEWEL|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||WRL||, ils:701907|5634390|Duraleigh Road - Biography|B JEWEL|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||DUR||, ils:701907|5634391|Remote Storage - Biography|B JEWEL|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||LAB||, ils:701907|5634392|North Regional - Biography|B JEWEL|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||NOR||, ils:701907|5634393|Cameron Village Regional - Biography|B JEWEL|||1|false|false|||||Checked out||CAM||, ils:701907|5634394|Eva H. Perry Regional - Biography|B JEWEL|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||EVA||, ils:701907|5634395|Cameron Village Regional - Biography|B JEWEL|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||CAM||, ils:701907|5634396|Remote Storage - Biography|B JEWEL|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||LAB||, ils:701907|5634397|Southeast Regional - Biography|B JEWEL|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||SER||, ils:701907|5634398|North Regional - Biography|B JEWEL|||1|false|false|||||Checked out||NOR||, ils:701907|5634399|North Regional - Biography|B JEWEL|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||NOR||, ils:701907|5634400|East Regional - Biography|B JEWEL|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||ERL||, ils:701907|5634401|Holly Springs Community - Biography|B JEWEL|||1|false|false|||||Checked out||HSP||, ils:701907|5777373|Northeast Regional - Biography|B JEWEL|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||NER||, ils:701907|5777374|Remote Storage - Biography|B JEWEL|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||LAB||, ils:701907|5777375|Remote Storage - Biography|B JEWEL|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||LAB||, ils:711473|5950793|North Regional - Audio Books - Adult Nonfiction|B JEWEL 9CDs|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||NOR||, overdrive:4060ef7a-7e32-4986-b467-33ba4c3f284a|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eAudiobook|Audio Books|2|false|true|OverDrive|||OverDrive MP3 Audiobook,OverDrive Listen|Available Online||||
itype_catalog
last_indexed 2018-06-21T07:29:19.636Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Non Fiction
literary_form_full Non Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog B JEWEL, B JEWEL 9CDs
owning_library_catalog Wake County Public Libraries
owning_location_catalog Athens Drive Community, Cameron Village Regional, Cary Community, Duraleigh Road Community, East Regional, Eva H. Perry Regional, Fuquay-Varina Community, Holly Springs Community, Leesville Community, North Regional, Northeast Regional, Southeast Regional, West Regional, Zebulon Community
primary_isbn 9780399174339
publishDate 2015
record_details ils:701907|Book|Books||English|Blue Rider Press,|[2015]|xx, 386 pages : illustrations (some color) ; 24 cm, ils:711473|Audio Book|Audio Books|Unabridged.|English|Blackstone Audio,|[2015]|9 audio discs (10 hr., 30 min.) : digital ; 4 3/4 in., overdrive:4060ef7a-7e32-4986-b467-33ba4c3f284a|eAudiobook|Audio Books||English|Blackstone Publishing|2015|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:711473 5950793 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:701907 5634389 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:701907 5634397 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:701907 5634380 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:701907 5634377 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:701907 5634374 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:701907 5634395 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:701907 5634384 Checked out Checked out false false true false false true
ils:701907 5634370 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:701907 5634379 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:701907 5634393 Checked out Checked out false false true false false true
ils:701907 5634401 Checked out Checked out false false true false false true
ils:701907 5634391 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:701907 5634398 Checked out Checked out false false true false false true
ils:701907 5634390 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:701907 5634382 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:701907 5634392 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:701907 5634373 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:701907 5634388 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:701907 5777373 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:701907 5634399 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:701907 5634376 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:701907 5634400 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:701907 5634368 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:701907 5634396 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:701907 5634378 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:701907 5634386 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:701907 5634394 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:701907 5634369 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:701907 5634381 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:701907 5777374 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:701907 5634371 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:701907 5634385 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:701907 5634387 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:701907 5634372 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:701907 5777375 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
overdrive:4060ef7a-7e32-4986-b467-33ba4c3f284a -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
subject_facet Audiobooks, Biographies, Jewel, -- 1974-, Singers -- United States -- Biography
title_display Never broken : songs are only half the story
title_full Never Broken Songs Are Only Half the Story, Never broken : songs are only half the story / Jewel, Never broken [sound recording] : songs are only half the story / by Jewel
title_short Never broken :
title_sub Songs Are Only Half the Story
topic_facet Biography & Autobiography, Jewel, Nonfiction, Performing Arts, Singers