Libraries are open! We still offer contactless pickup with Books on the Go!

As night falls: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(1)
4 star
 
(5)
3 star
 
(2)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(1)
Language:
English
More Details
ISBN:
9780553394818
9781681411507
9780553394825
Also in This Series
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID3429412a-80b1-25f1-469a-f0dfca667d14
Grouping Titleas night falls
Grouping Authorjenny milchman
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2021-10-18 05:22:48AM
Last Indexed2021-10-18 05:39:37AM
Novelist Primary ISBN9780553394818

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
authorMilchman, Jenny
author_displayMilchman, Jenny
available_at_catalogCary Regional
Duraleigh Road Community
East Regional
Eva H. Perry Regional
Holly Springs Community
Middle Creek Community
Southeast Regional
Village Regional
Wake Forest Community
Wendell Community
West Regional
Zebulon Community
collection_catalogAdult Fiction
detailed_location_catalogCary Regional - Adult Fiction
Duraleigh Road - Adult Fiction
East Regional - Adult Fiction
Eva H. Perry Regional - Adult Fiction
Holly Springs Community - Adult Fiction
Middlecreek Community - Adult Fiction
Northeast Regional - Adult Fiction
Remote Storage - Adult Fiction
Southeast Regional - Adult Fiction
Village Regional Library - Adult Fiction
Wake Forest Community - Adult Fiction
Wendell Community - Adult Fiction
West Regional - Adult Fiction
Zebulon Community - Adult Fiction
display_description"From the acclaimed author of Ruin Falls and Cover of Snow comes a breathless new novel of psychological suspense about a dark, twisted turn of events that could shatter a family--a read perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn, Chris Bohjalian, and Nancy Pickard. Gazing out at the shadowy woods, Sandy has no idea that tonight her life will be forever changed. As a late autumn sky darkens over the Adirondack mountains, and the threat of a heavy snowfall looms, the mood in the Tremont house is already charged with tension. Upstairs in her bedroom, teenage Ivy listens to music and broods, while below in the kitchen, Sandy sips coffee and tries not to take her daughter's latest snit personally. But when her husband Ben, a wilderness guide, arrives home, the troubled atmosphere immediately lightens--and Sandy can push all the discord to the back of her mind. Nearby, two desperate men on the run make their way through the fading light, bloodstained and determined to leave no loose ends or witnesses. After nearly two decades as prison cellmates, they have become a deadly team: Harlan the muscle, Nick the mind and will. As they approach a secluded house, its spacious windows revealing a cozy scene within, Nick instinctually knows that here he will find what he's looking for--before disappearing north. When he opens the door to the Tremont home, Nick brings with him a long legacy of terror. Armed with only the truth, Sandy must fight to protect the family she loves, even as a terrible secret threatens to drag her into the darkness. Praise for Jenny Milchman Ruin Falls "Tight and suspenseful. Milchman has a gift that allows her to delve deep into the mind and psyche of her characters, and fans of dark plots like the works of Gillian Flynn will find another author to savor."--RT Book Reviews "Extreme, heart-pounding action. essential for psychological thriller fanatics."--Library Journal "A complex and intriguing tale, adeptly pacing the narrative as danger escalates."--Publishers Weekly Cover ofSnow "Everything a great suspense novel should be--tense, emotional, mysterious, and satisfying. Let's hope this is the start of a long career."--Lee Child, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Personal "An emotional roller-coaster ride through the darkest night, with blinding twists and occasionally fatal turns. a richly woven story."--Booklist (starred review) "Milchman tackles small-town angst where evil can simmer under the surface with a breathless energy and a feel for realistic characters."--The Seattle Times"-- "Sandy has no idea that tonight her life will be forever changed. As a late autumn sky darkens over the Adirondack mountains ... the mood in the Tremont house is already charged with tension ... But when her husband Ben, a wilderness guide, arrives home, the troubled atmosphere immediately lightens ... Nearby, two desperate men on the run make their way through the fading light ... After nearly two decades as prison cellmates, they have become a deadly team: Harlan the muscle, Nick the mind and will. As they approach a secluded house, its spacious windows revealing a cozy scene within, Nick instinctually knows that here he will find what he's looking for--before disappearing north"--
format_catalogBook
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_catalogAudio Books
Books
eBook
id3429412a-80b1-25f1-469a-f0dfca667d14
isbn9780553394818
9780553394825
9781681411507
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
overdrive:37c3ac00-7dda-4b13-a583-1621894eacd7-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook3falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
overdrive:f542cdee-85a1-4ff7-93df-c8d798733b92-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books4falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenAvailable Online
ils:7003575588889East Regional - Adult FictionMILCHMAN1falsefalseOn ShelfERL
ils:7003575588879Remote Storage - Adult FictionMILCHMAN1falsefalseOn ShelfLAB
ils:7003575588887Cary Regional - Adult FictionMILCHMAN1falsefalseOn ShelfCRY
ils:7003575588870Village Regional Library - Adult FictionMILCHMAN1falsefalseOn ShelfVIL
ils:7003575788815Remote Storage - Adult FictionMILCHMAN1falsefalseOn ShelfLAB
ils:7003575588872Remote Storage - Adult FictionMILCHMAN1falsefalseOn ShelfLAB
ils:7003575588884Southeast Regional - Adult FictionMILCHMAN1falsefalseChecked outSER
ils:7003575588865West Regional - Adult FictionMILCHMAN1falsefalseOn ShelfWRL
ils:7003575588878Village Regional Library - Adult FictionMILCHMAN1falsefalseOn ShelfVIL
ils:7003575788816Zebulon Community - Adult FictionMILCHMAN1falsefalseOn ShelfZEB
ils:7003575588867West Regional - Adult FictionMILCHMAN1falsefalseDisplayWRL
ils:7003576226493Wake Forest Community - Adult FictionMILCHMAN1falsefalseOn ShelfWAK
ils:7003575588883Wake Forest Community - Adult FictionMILCHMAN1falsefalseOn ShelfWAK
ils:7003575588888Cary Regional - Adult FictionMILCHMAN1falsefalseOn ShelfCRY
ils:7003575588863Remote Storage - Adult FictionMILCHMAN1falsefalseOn ShelfLAB
ils:7003575588876Southeast Regional - Adult FictionMILCHMAN1falsefalseOn ShelfSER
ils:7003575588880Duraleigh Road - Adult FictionMILCHMAN1falsefalseOn ShelfDUR
ils:7003575588890East Regional - Adult FictionMILCHMAN1falsefalseOn ShelfERL
ils:7003575588861Middlecreek Community - Adult FictionMILCHMAN1falsefalseOn ShelfMID
ils:7003575588874West Regional - Adult FictionMILCHMAN1falsefalseDisplayWRL
ils:7003575588875Remote Storage - Adult FictionMILCHMAN1falsefalseOn ShelfLAB
ils:7003575588882East Regional - Adult FictionMILCHMAN1falsefalseOn ShelfERL
ils:7003575588864Eva H. Perry Regional - Adult FictionMILCHMAN1falsefalseOn ShelfEVA
ils:7003575588857Remote Storage - Adult FictionMILCHMAN1falsefalseOn ShelfLAB
ils:7003575588860Northeast Regional - Adult FictionMILCHMAN1falsefalseChecked outNER
ils:7003575588886Wendell Community - Adult FictionMILCHMAN1falsefalseOn ShelfWEN
ils:7003575588871Holly Springs Community - Adult FictionMILCHMAN1falsefalseOn ShelfHSP
ils:7003575788814Southeast Regional - Adult FictionMILCHMAN1falsefalseOn ShelfSER
ils:7003575588877Northeast Regional - Adult FictionMILCHMAN1falsefalseChecked outNER
last_indexed2021-10-18T09:39:37.714Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_catalogMILCHMAN
owning_library_catalogWake County Public Libraries
owning_location_catalogCary Regional
Duraleigh Road Community
East Regional
Eva H. Perry Regional
Holly Springs Community
Middle Creek Community
Northeast Regional
Southeast Regional
Village Regional
Wake Forest Community
Wendell Community
West Regional
Zebulon Community
primary_isbn9780553394818
publishDate2015
publisherBallantine Books,
Dreamscape Media
Random House Publishing Group
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
overdrive:37c3ac00-7dda-4b13-a583-1621894eacd7eBookeBookEnglishRandom House Publishing Group2015
overdrive:f542cdee-85a1-4ff7-93df-c8d798733b92eAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishDreamscape Media2015
ils:700357BookBooksFirst edition.EnglishBallantine Books, [2015]367 pages ; 25 cm
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:37c3ac00-7dda-4b13-a583-1621894eacd7-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:f542cdee-85a1-4ff7-93df-c8d798733b92-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
ils:7003575588889On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:7003575588879On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:7003575588887On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:7003575588870On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:7003575788815On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:7003575588872On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:7003575588884Checked outChecked outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:7003575588865On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:7003575588878On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:7003575788816On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:7003575588867On ShelfDisplayfalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:7003576226493On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:7003575588883On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:7003575588888On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:7003575588863On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:7003575588876On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:7003575588880On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:7003575588890On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:7003575588861On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:7003575588874On ShelfDisplayfalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:7003575588875On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:7003575588882On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:7003575588864On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:7003575588857On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:7003575588860Checked outChecked outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:7003575588886On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:7003575588871On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:7003575788814On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:7003575588877Checked outChecked outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue
subject_facetBrothers and sisters -- Fiction
Escaped prisoners -- Fiction
Family secrets -- Fiction
Hostages -- Fiction
Psychological fiction
Suspense fiction
Thrillers (Fiction)
title_displayAs night falls : a novel
title_fullAs Night Falls
As Night Falls A Novel
As night falls : a novel / Jenny Milchman
title_shortAs night falls
title_suba novel
topic_facetBrothers and sisters
Escaped prisoners
Family secrets
Fiction
Hostages
Literature
Mystery
Suspense
Thriller