Wendell Community Library will be closed Monday, Sept. 23 - Friday, Oct. 4, for a mini makeover. It will reopen Saturday, Oct. 5.

The luster of lost things

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(0)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(1)
Language:
English
More Details
ISBN:
9780735210783
Also in This Series
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 365fea6b-1eb5-b43b-c472-c46042cd6267
Grouping Title luster of lost things
Grouping Author keller sophie chen
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2019-09-20 07:31:31AM
Last Indexed 2019-09-21 07:53:04AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Keller, Sophie Chen, 1988-
author_display Keller, Sophie Chen
available_at_catalog Athens Drive Community
Cameron Village Regional
Cary Community
Duraleigh Road Community
Eva H. Perry Regional
Green Road Community
Holly Springs Community
Leesville Community
Middle Creek Community
North Regional
Northeast Regional
Southeast Regional
West Regional
collection_catalog Adult Fiction
detailed_location_catalog Athens Drive Community - Adult Fiction
Cameron Village Regional - Adult Fiction
Cary Community - Adult Fiction
Duraleigh Road - Adult Fiction
Eva H. Perry Regional - Adult Fiction
Green Road Community - Adult Fiction
Holly Springs Community - Adult Fiction
Leesville Community - Adult Fiction
Middlecreek Community - Adult Fiction
North Regional - Adult Fiction
Northeast Regional - Adult Fiction
Southeast Regional - Adult Fiction
West Regional - Adult Fiction
display_description "A fablelike debut for readers of Mark Haddon's The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time and Rebecca Makkai's The Borrower, in which a boy with an uncanny ability to find lost objects must embark on his most important search yet in order to save his mother's enchanted dessert shop, the only place he's ever called home. There's only one place in the world that lonely twelve-year-old Walter Lavender Jr. feels at home: The Lavenders, his mother's unusual West Village dessert shop, where meringues scud through displays like clouds, marzipan dragons breathe actual fire, and the airy angel food cake can make customers pounds lighter. When the mysterious and magical Book at the heart of the shop vanishes and a landlord threatens closure, it's up to Walter to find the Book and save the shop. Despite--or because of--a communication disorder that renders him speechless and friendless, Walter has a special ability to find lost things. In fact, the only thing he's failed to find is his father, a pilot lost in a presumed plane crash at sea before Walter was born. Accompanied by Milton, his best friend and overweight golden retriever, Walter's quest will take him around and under New York City, into subway tunnels and soaring over Central Park, from bottle collecting in Chinatown to racing through the Met, and introduce him to the extraordinary and forgotten people of this fantastical city. Along the way he will discover his voice and learn what it means to truly be found"--
format_catalog Book
format_category_catalog Books
id 365fea6b-1eb5-b43b-c472-c46042cd6267
isbn 9780735210783
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
ils:720988 6342374 Duraleigh Road - Adult Fiction KELLER 1 false false On Shelf DUR
ils:720988 6342383 Southeast Regional - Adult Fiction KELLER 1 false false On Shelf SER
ils:720988 6342373 West Regional - Adult Fiction KELLER 1 false false On Shelf WRL
ils:720988 6342378 West Regional - Adult Fiction KELLER 1 false false On Shelf WRL
ils:720988 6342386 Cameron Village Regional - Adult Fiction KELLER 1 false false On Shelf CAM
ils:720988 6342390 North Regional - Adult Fiction KELLER 1 false false On Shelf NOR
ils:720988 6342377 Middlecreek Community - Adult Fiction KELLER 1 false false On Shelf MID
ils:720988 6342387 North Regional - Adult Fiction KELLER 1 false false On Shelf NOR
ils:720988 6342389 Cameron Village Regional - Adult Fiction KELLER 1 false false On Shelf CAM
ils:720988 6342384 North Regional - Adult Fiction KELLER 1 false false On Shelf NOR
ils:720988 6342376 Cary Community - Adult Fiction KELLER 1 false false On Shelf CRY
ils:720988 6342385 Cary Community - Adult Fiction KELLER 1 false false Checked out CRY
ils:720988 6342375 Holly Springs Community - Adult Fiction KELLER 1 false false On Shelf HSP
ils:720988 6342379 Athens Drive Community - Adult Fiction KELLER 1 false false On Shelf ADR
ils:720988 6342388 Green Road Community - Adult Fiction KELLER 1 false false On Shelf GRE
ils:720988 6342391 Northeast Regional - Adult Fiction KELLER 1 false false On Shelf NER
ils:720988 6342380 Leesville Community - Adult Fiction KELLER 1 false false On Shelf LEE
ils:720988 6342382 Eva H. Perry Regional - Adult Fiction KELLER 1 false false On Shelf EVA
itype_catalog
last_indexed 2019-09-21T11:53:04.092Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog KELLER
owning_library_catalog Wake County Public Libraries
owning_location_catalog Athens Drive Community
Cameron Village Regional
Cary Community
Duraleigh Road Community
Eva H. Perry Regional
Green Road Community
Holly Springs Community
Leesville Community
Middle Creek Community
North Regional
Northeast Regional
Southeast Regional
West Regional
primary_isbn 9780735210783
publishDate 2017
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
ils:720988 Book Books English G.P. Putnam's Sons, 2017. 324 pages ; 21 cm
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:720988 6342374 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:720988 6342383 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:720988 6342373 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:720988 6342378 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:720988 6342386 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:720988 6342390 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:720988 6342377 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:720988 6342387 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:720988 6342389 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:720988 6342384 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:720988 6342376 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:720988 6342385 Checked out Checked out false false true false false true
ils:720988 6342375 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:720988 6342379 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:720988 6342388 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:720988 6342391 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:720988 6342380 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:720988 6342382 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
subject_facet Autism -- Fiction
Bildungsromans
Boys -- Fiction
Dogs -- Fiction
Fantasy fiction
title_display The luster of lost things
title_full The luster of lost things / Sophie Chen Keller
title_short The luster of lost things
topic_facet Autism
Boys
Dogs