Libraries are open! We still offer contactless pickup with Books on the Go!

Not getting our emails? Read our FAQ about this issue.

Creativity, Inc: overcoming the unseen forces that stand in the way of true inspiration

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(2)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Author:
Language:
English
More Details
Contributors:
ISBN:
9780812993011
9780679644507
9780804127479
Also in This Series
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID4b6c02cf-6343-23c6-63cb-d3c7c3f2a2a5
Grouping Titlecreativity inc overcoming the unseen forces that stand in the way of true inspiration
Grouping Authored catmull
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2021-06-17 07:34:07AM
Last Indexed2021-06-17 07:46:21AM
Novelist Primary ISBN9780804127479

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
auth_author2Wallace, Amy
authorCatmull, Ed
author2-roleWallace, Amy
author_displayCatmull, Ed
available_at_catalogLeesville Community
Morrisville Community
North Regional
Village Regional
West Regional
collection_catalogBusiness
detailed_location_catalogEva H. Perry Regional - Business
Leesville Community - Business
Morrisville Community Library - Business
North Regional - Business
Southeast Regional - Business
Village Regional Library - Business
West Regional - Business
display_descriptionFrom a co-founder of Pixar Animation Studios—the Academy Award–winning studio behind Coco, Inside Out, and Toy Story—comes an incisive book about creativity in business and leadership for readers of Daniel Pink, Tom Peters, and Chip and Dan Heath.
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER | NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY The Huffington PostFinancial TimesSuccessInc.Library Journal
Creativity, Inc. is a manual for anyone who strives for originality and the first-ever, all-access trip into the nerve center of Pixar Animation—into the meetings, postmortems, and “Braintrust” sessions where some of the most successful films in history are made. It is, at heart, a book about creativity—but it is also, as Pixar co-founder and president Ed Catmull writes, “an expression of the ideas that I believe make the best in us possible.”
For nearly twenty years, Pixar has dominated the world of animation, producing such beloved films as the Toy Story trilogy, Monsters, Inc., Finding Nemo, The Incredibles, Up, WALL-E, and Inside Out, which have gone on to set box-office records and garner thirty Academy Awards. The joyousness of the storytelling, the inventive plots, the emotional authenticity: In some ways, Pixar movies are an object lesson in what creativity really is. Here, in this book, Catmull reveals the ideals and techniques that have made Pixar so widely admired—and so profitable.
As a young man, Ed Catmull had a dream: to make the first computer-animated movie. He nurtured that dream as a Ph.D. student at the University of Utah, where many computer science pioneers got their start, and then forged a partnership with George Lucas that led, indirectly, to his co-founding Pixar in 1986. Nine years later, Toy Story was released, changing animation forever. The essential ingredient in that movie’s success—and in the thirteen movies that followed—was the unique environment that Catmull and his colleagues built at Pixar, based on leadership and management philosophies that protect the creative process and defy convention, such as:
• Give a good idea to a mediocre team, and they will screw it up. But give a mediocre idea to a great team, and they will either fix it or come up with something better.
• If you don’t strive to uncover what is unseen and understand its nature, you will be ill prepared to lead.
• It’s not the manager’s job to prevent risks. It’s the manager’s job to make it safe for others to take them.
• The cost of preventing errors is often far greater than the cost of fixing them.
• A company’s communication structure should not mirror its organizational structure. Everybody should be able to talk to anybody.
format_catalogBook
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_catalogAudio Books
Books
eBook
id4b6c02cf-6343-23c6-63cb-d3c7c3f2a2a5
isbn9780679644507
9780804127479
9780812993011
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
overdrive:d8d7219b-6ea3-40bf-9722-a44a4a0f6a08-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books5falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenAvailable Online
overdrive:c85ab64a-79cf-402f-a449-15164e546c78-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook3falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, OverDrive ReadChecked Out
ils:6850275839130Leesville Community - Business658.407 CATMU1falsefalseOn ShelfLEE
ils:6850275277670Eva H. Perry Regional - Business658.407 CATMU1falsefalseItem being heldEVA
ils:6850275277671West Regional - Business658.407 CATMU1falsefalseOn ShelfWRL
ils:6850275277659Village Regional Library - Business658.407 CATMU1falsefalseOn ShelfVIL
ils:6850276888680West Regional - Business658.407 CATMU1falsefalseChecked outWRL
ils:6850277131899North Regional - Business658.407 CATMU1falsefalseOn ShelfNOR
ils:6850275277664Southeast Regional - Business658.407 CATMU1falsefalseChecked outSER
ils:6850275277669North Regional - Business658.407 CATMU1falsefalseRemote StorageNOR
ils:6850275839129North Regional - Business658.407 CATMU1falsefalseOn ShelfNOR
ils:6850275277660West Regional - Business658.407 CATMU1falsefalseLong OverdueWRL
ils:6850277295607Morrisville Community Library - Business658.407 CATMU1falsefalseOn ShelfMOR
last_indexed2021-06-17T11:46:21.497Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formNon Fiction
literary_form_fullNon Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog658.407 CATMU
owning_library_catalogWake County Public Libraries
owning_location_catalogEva H. Perry Regional
Leesville Community
Morrisville Community
North Regional
Southeast Regional
Village Regional
West Regional
primary_isbn9780812993011
publishDate2014
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
overdrive:d8d7219b-6ea3-40bf-9722-a44a4a0f6a08eAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishPenguin Random House Audio Publishing Group2014
overdrive:c85ab64a-79cf-402f-a449-15164e546c78eBookeBookEnglishRandom House Publishing Group2014
ils:685027BookBooksFirst edition.EnglishRandom House, [2014]xvi, 340 pages, 8 unnumbered pages of plates : illustrations (some color) ; 25 cm
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:d8d7219b-6ea3-40bf-9722-a44a4a0f6a08-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:c85ab64a-79cf-402f-a449-15164e546c78-1Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsefalse
ils:6850275839130On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:6850275277670Checked OutItem being heldfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:6850275277671On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:6850275277659On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:6850276888680Checked outChecked outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:6850277131899On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:6850275277664Checked outChecked outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:6850275277669Currently UnavailableRemote Storagefalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:6850275839129On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:6850275277660Currently UnavailableLong Overduefalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:6850277295607On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
subject_facetCorporate culture
Creative ability in business
Organizational effectiveness
Pixar (Firm)
title_displayCreativity, Inc. : overcoming the unseen forces that stand in the way of true inspiration
title_fullCreativity, Inc. : overcoming the unseen forces that stand in the way of true inspiration / Ed Catmull ; with Amy Wallace
Creativity, Inc. Overcoming the Unseen Forces That Stand in the Way of True Inspiration
title_shortCreativity, Inc
title_subovercoming the unseen forces that stand in the way of true inspiration
topic_facetBiography & Autobiography
Business
Corporate culture
Creative ability in business
Nonfiction
Organizational effectiveness
Performing Arts