Creativity, Inc: overcoming the unseen forces that stand in the way of true inspiration

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(2)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Author:
Language:
English
More Details
Contributors:
ISBN:
9780812993011
9780679644507
9780804127479
Also in This Series
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID4b6c02cf-6343-23c6-63cb-d3c7c3f2a2a5
Grouping Titlecreativity inc overcoming the unseen forces that stand in the way of true inspiration
Grouping Authored catmull
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2022-12-05 05:23:03AM
Last Indexed2022-12-05 05:47:37AM

Solr Fields

accelerated_reader_point_value
0
accelerated_reader_reading_level
0
auth_author2
Wallace, Amy
author
Catmull, Ed
author2-role
Wallace, Amy
author_display
Catmull, Ed
available_at_catalog
Cary Regional
East Regional
Green Road Community
North Regional
West Regional
collection_catalog
Business
detailed_location_catalog
Cary Regional - Business
East Regional - Business
Express - Fayetteville St. - Business
Green Road Community - Business
North Regional - Business
Oberlin Regional - Business
West Regional - Business
display_description
From a co-founder of Pixar Animation Studios—the Academy Award–winning studio behind Coco, Inside Out, and Toy Story—comes an incisive book about creativity in business and leadership for readers of Daniel Pink, Tom Peters, and Chip and Dan Heath.
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER | NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY The Huffington PostFinancial TimesSuccessInc.Library Journal
Creativity, Inc. is a manual for anyone who strives for originality and the first-ever, all-access trip into the nerve center of Pixar Animation—into the meetings, postmortems, and “Braintrust” sessions where some of the most successful films in history are made. It is, at heart, a book about creativity—but it is also, as Pixar co-founder and president Ed Catmull writes, “an expression of the ideas that I believe make the best in us possible.”
For nearly twenty years, Pixar has dominated the world of animation, producing such beloved films as the Toy Story trilogy, Monsters, Inc., Finding Nemo, The Incredibles, Up, WALL-E, and Inside Out, which have gone on to set box-office records and garner thirty Academy Awards. The joyousness of the storytelling, the inventive plots, the emotional authenticity: In some ways, Pixar movies are an object lesson in what creativity really is. Here, in this book, Catmull reveals the ideals and techniques that have made Pixar so widely admired—and so profitable.
As a young man, Ed Catmull had a dream: to make the first computer-animated movie. He nurtured that dream as a Ph.D. student at the University of Utah, where many computer science pioneers got their start, and then forged a partnership with George Lucas that led, indirectly, to his co-founding Pixar in 1986. Nine years later, Toy Story was released, changing animation forever. The essential ingredient in that movie’s success—and in the thirteen movies that followed—was the unique environment that Catmull and his colleagues built at Pixar, based on leadership and management philosophies that protect the creative process and defy convention, such as:
• Give a good idea to a mediocre team, and they will screw it up. But give a mediocre idea to a great team, and they will either fix it or come up with something better.
• If you don’t strive to uncover what is unseen and understand its nature, you will be ill prepared to lead.
• It’s not the manager’s job to prevent risks. It’s the manager’s job to make it safe for others to take them.
• The cost of preventing errors is often far greater than the cost of fixing them.
• A company’s communication structure should not mirror its organizational structure. Everybody should be able to talk to anybody.
format_catalog
Book
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_catalog
Audio Books
Books
eBook
id
4b6c02cf-6343-23c6-63cb-d3c7c3f2a2a5
isbn
9780679644507
9780804127479
9780812993011
last_indexed
2022-12-05T10:47:37.895Z
lexile_score
-1
literary_form
Non Fiction
literary_form_full
Non Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog
658.407 CATMU
owning_library_catalog
Wake County Public Libraries
owning_location_catalog
Cary Regional
East Regional
Express Library Fayetteville St.
Green Road Community
North Regional
Oberlin Regional
West Regional
primary_isbn
9780812993011
publishDate
2014
publisher
Books on Tape
Random House
Random House Publishing Group
recordtype
grouped_work
subject_facet
Corporate culture
Creative ability in business
Organizational effectiveness
Pixar (Firm)
title_display
Creativity, Inc. : overcoming the unseen forces that stand in the way of true inspiration
title_full
Creativity, Inc. : overcoming the unseen forces that stand in the way of true inspiration / Ed Catmull ; with Amy Wallace
Creativity, Inc. Overcoming the Unseen Forces That Stand in the Way of True Inspiration
title_short
Creativity, Inc
title_sub
overcoming the unseen forces that stand in the way of true inspiration
topic_facet
Biography & Autobiography
Business
Corporate culture
Creative ability in business
Nonfiction
Organizational effectiveness
Performing Arts

Solr Details Tables

item_details

Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent URLDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocation
overdrive:d8d7219b-6ea3-40bf-9722-a44a4a0f6a08-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books5falsetrueOverDriveAvailable Online
overdrive:c85ab64a-79cf-402f-a449-15164e546c78-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook3falsetrueOverDriveAvailable Online
ils:6850275839130Express - Fayetteville St. - Business658.407 CATMU1falsefalseChecked outELF
ils:6850275277664East Regional - Business658.407 CATMU1falsefalseOn ShelfERL
ils:6850276888680Green Road Community - Business658.407 CATMU1falsefalseOn ShelfGRE
ils:6850277295607West Regional - Business658.407 CATMU1falsefalseOn ShelfWRL
ils:6850275277671Oberlin Regional - Business658.407 CATMU1falsefalseChecked outOBR
ils:6850275277666Cary Regional - Business658.407 CATMU1falsefalseOn ShelfCRY
ils:6850275839129North Regional - Business658.407 CATMU1falsefalseOn ShelfNOR
ils:6850277131899North Regional - Business658.407 CATMU1falsefalseOn ShelfNOR
ils:6850275277670West Regional - Business658.407 CATMU1falsefalseOn ShelfWRL
ils:6850275277659North Regional - Business658.407 CATMU1falsefalseOn ShelfNOR

record_details

Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
overdrive:d8d7219b-6ea3-40bf-9722-a44a4a0f6a08eAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishBooks on Tape2014
overdrive:c85ab64a-79cf-402f-a449-15164e546c78eBookeBookEnglishRandom House Publishing Group2014
ils:685027BookBooksFirst editionEnglishRandom House[2014]xvi, 340 pages, 8 unnumbered pages of plates : illustrations (some color) ; 25 cm

scoping_details_catalog

Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:d8d7219b-6ea3-40bf-9722-a44a4a0f6a08-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:c85ab64a-79cf-402f-a449-15164e546c78-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
ils:6850275839130Checked outChecked outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:6850275277664On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:6850276888680On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:6850277295607On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:6850275277671Checked outChecked outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:6850275277666On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:6850275839129On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:6850277131899On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:6850275277670On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:6850275277659On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue