Libraries are closed until further notice.
We are now offering contactless pickup and return at select locations with Books on the Go!

Some notices were not sent. Check your account for due dates (but we are still fine free)!

Creativity, Inc: overcoming the unseen forces that stand in the way of true inspiration

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(2)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Author:
Language:
English
More Details
Contributors:
ISBN:
9780812993011
9780679644507
9780804127479
Also in This Series
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID4b6c02cf-6343-23c6-63cb-d3c7c3f2a2a5
Grouping Titlecreativity inc overcoming the unseen forces that stand in the way of true inspiration
Grouping Authored catmull
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2020-09-25 07:30:39AM
Last Indexed2020-09-25 07:43:50AM
Novelist Primary ISBN9780804127479

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
auth_author2Wallace, Amy
authorCatmull, Ed
author2-roleWallace, Amy
author_displayCatmull, Ed
available_at_catalogCary Community
Eva H. Perry Regional
North Regional
Wake Forest Community
West Regional
collection_catalogBusiness
detailed_location_catalogCary Regional - Business
Eva H. Perry Regional - Business
North Regional - Business
Wake Forest Community - Business
West Regional - Business
display_descriptionFrom a co-founder of Pixar Animation Studios—the Academy Award–winning studio behind Coco, Inside Out, and Toy Story—comes an incisive book about creativity in business and leadership for readers of Daniel Pink, Tom Peters, and Chip and Dan Heath.
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER | NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY The Huffington Post
  • Financial Times
  • Success
  • Inc.
  • Library Journal
    Creativity, Inc. is a manual for anyone who strives for originality and the first-ever, all-access trip into the nerve center of Pixar Animation—into the meetings, postmortems, and "Braintrust" sessions where some of the most successful films in history are made. It is, at heart, a book about creativity—but it is also, as Pixar co-founder and president Ed Catmull writes, "an expression of the ideas that I believe make the best in us possible."
    For nearly twenty years, Pixar has dominated the world of animation, producing such beloved films as the Toy Story trilogy, Monsters, Inc., Finding Nemo, The Incredibles, Up, WALL-E, and Inside Out, which have gone on to set box-office records and garner thirty Academy Awards. The joyousness of the storytelling, the inventive plots, the emotional authenticity: In some ways, Pixar movies are an object lesson in what creativity really is. Here, in this book, Catmull reveals the ideals and techniques that have made Pixar so widely admired—and so profitable.
    As a young man, Ed Catmull had a dream: to make the first computer-animated movie. He nurtured that dream as a Ph.D. student at the University of Utah, where many computer science pioneers got their start, and then forged a partnership with George Lucas that led, indirectly, to his co-founding Pixar in 1986. Nine years later, Toy Story was released, changing animation forever. The essential ingredient in that movie's success—and in the thirteen movies that followed—was the unique environment that Catmull and his colleagues built at Pixar, based on leadership and management philosophies that protect the creative process and defy convention, such as:
  • Give a good idea to a mediocre team, and they will screw it up. But give a mediocre idea to a great team, and they will either fix it or come up with something better.
  • If you don't strive to uncover what is unseen and understand its nature, you will be ill prepared to lead.
  • It's not the manager's job to prevent risks. It's the manager's job to make it safe for others to take them.
  • The cost of preventing errors is often far greater than the cost of fixing them.
  • A company's communication structure should not mirror its organizational structure. Everybody should be able to talk to anybody.
  • format_catalogBook
    eAudiobook
    eBook
    format_category_catalogAudio Books
    Books
    eBook
    id4b6c02cf-6343-23c6-63cb-d3c7c3f2a2a5
    isbn9780679644507
    9780804127479
    9780812993011
    item_details
    Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
    overdrive:d8d7219b-6ea3-40bf-9722-a44a4a0f6a08-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books5falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenChecked Out
    overdrive:c85ab64a-79cf-402f-a449-15164e546c78-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook3falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadChecked Out
    ils:6850275277666Wake Forest Community - Business658.407 CATMU1falsefalseOn ShelfWAK
    ils:6850275277669North Regional - Business658.407 CATMU1falsefalseRemote StorageNOR
    ils:6850275277660West Regional - Business658.407 CATMU1falsefalseOn ShelfWRL
    ils:6850275839129Cary Regional - Business658.407 CATMU1falsefalseOn ShelfCRY
    ils:6850275277671West Regional - Business658.407 CATMU1falsefalseOn ShelfWRL
    ils:6850275277659North Regional - Business658.407 CATMU1falsefalseOn ShelfNOR
    ils:6850276888680Eva H. Perry Regional - Business658.407 CATMU1falsefalseOn ShelfEVA
    last_indexed2020-09-25T11:43:50.139Z
    lexile_score-1
    literary_formNon Fiction
    literary_form_fullNon Fiction
    local_callnumber_catalog658.407 CATMU
    owning_library_catalogWake County Public Libraries
    owning_location_catalogCary Community
    Eva H. Perry Regional
    North Regional
    Wake Forest Community
    West Regional
    primary_isbn9780812993011
    publishDate2014
    record_details
    Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
    overdrive:d8d7219b-6ea3-40bf-9722-a44a4a0f6a08eAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishPenguin Random House Audio Publishing Group2014
    overdrive:c85ab64a-79cf-402f-a449-15164e546c78eBookeBookEnglishRandom House Publishing Group2014
    ils:685027BookBooksFirst edition.EnglishRandom House, [2014]xvi, 340 pages, 8 unnumbered pages of plates : illustrations (some color) ; 25 cm
    recordtypegrouped_work
    scoping_details_catalog
    Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
    overdrive:d8d7219b-6ea3-40bf-9722-a44a4a0f6a08-1Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsefalse
    overdrive:c85ab64a-79cf-402f-a449-15164e546c78-1Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsefalse
    ils:6850275277666On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
    ils:6850275277669Currently UnavailableRemote Storagefalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue
    ils:6850275277660On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
    ils:6850275839129On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
    ils:6850275277671On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
    ils:6850275277659On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
    ils:6850276888680On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
    subject_facetCorporate culture
    Creative ability in business
    Organizational effectiveness
    Pixar (Firm)
    title_displayCreativity, Inc. : overcoming the unseen forces that stand in the way of true inspiration
    title_fullCreativity, Inc. : overcoming the unseen forces that stand in the way of true inspiration / Ed Catmull ; with Amy Wallace
    Creativity, Inc. Overcoming the Unseen Forces That Stand in the Way of True Inspiration
    title_shortCreativity, Inc
    title_subovercoming the unseen forces that stand in the way of true inspiration
    topic_facetBiography & Autobiography
    Business
    Corporate culture
    Creative ability in business
    Nonfiction
    Organizational effectiveness
    Performing Arts