Cover of Snow

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(1)
4 star
 
(1)
3 star
 
(1)
2 star
 
(1)
1 star
 
(1)
Language:
English
More Details
ISBN:
9780345534224
9780345534217
9780385366236
9780345534231
Also in This Series
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID810b7dad-4f75-db73-319a-e14cfdb6a673
Grouping Titlecover of snow
Grouping Authorjenny milchman
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2022-07-03 05:28:28AM
Last Indexed2022-07-03 05:47:10AM

Solr Fields

accelerated_reader_point_value
0
accelerated_reader_reading_level
0
author
Milchman, Jenny
author_display
Milchman, Jenny
available_at_catalog
Cary Regional
East Regional
Eva H. Perry Regional
Holly Springs Community
Northeast Regional
Southeast Regional
West Regional
collection_catalog
Adult Fiction
detailed_location_catalog
Cary Regional - Adult Fiction
Duraleigh Road - Adult Fiction
East Regional - Adult Fiction
Eva H. Perry Regional - Adult Fiction
Holly Springs Community - Adult Fiction
Northeast Regional - Adult Fiction
Remote Storage - Adult Fiction
Southeast Regional - Adult Fiction
West Regional - Adult Fiction
display_description
"Jenny Milchman's Cover of Snow is a remarkable debut, a gripping tale of suspense in the tradition of Gillian Flynn, Chris Bohjalian, and Nancy Pickard. Waking up one wintry morning in her old farmhouse nestled in the Adirondack Mountains of New York, Nora Hamilton instantly knows that something is wrong. When her fog of sleep clears, she finds her world is suddenly, irretrievably shattered: Her husband, Brendan, has committed suicide. The first few hours following Nora's devastating discovery pass for her in a blur of numbness and disbelief. Then, a disturbing awareness slowly settles in: Brendan left no note and gave no indication that he was contemplating taking his own life. Why would a rock-solid police officer with unwavering affection for his wife, job, and quaint hometown suddenly choose to end it all? Having spent a lifetime avoiding hard truths, Nora must now start facing them. Unraveling her late husband's final days, Nora searches for an explanation--but finds a bewildering resistance from Brendan's best friend and partner, his fellow police officers, and his brittle mother. It quickly becomes clear to Nora that she is asking questions no one wants to answer. For beneath the soft cover of snow lies a powerful conspiracy that will stop at nothing to keep its presence unknown and its darkest secrets hidden. Advance praise for Cover of Snow "Everything a great suspense novel should be--tense, emotional, mysterious, and satisfying. Let's hope this is the start of a long career."--Lee Child, #1 New York Times bestselling author of A Wanted Man "A suspenseful, darkly atmospheric story of switchbacks and surprises, reminiscent of Margaret Maron's work, which is about the highest praise I can bestow."--Laura Lippmann"-- "On a wintry morning, in the remote Adirondack village of Wedeskyull, New York, Nora Hamilton wakes to find her life utterly changed: her rock-solid policeman husband has committed suicide. The life that Nora has grown to know and love in her husband's peaceful hometown is gone. And almost immediately, the pieces don't add up: solid as an oak Brendan was prescribed sedatives a week earlier, an odd local mechanic tells Nora strange stories about her husband's past, Brendan's coworkers on the police force are keeping an eye on her, as is a genial local reporter, hot on the trail of an explosive expose. Relying on the methodical nature that serves her so well as a restorer of old homes, Nora struggles to understand what happened to her husband -- even as this insular, frigid mountain town is determined to keep its deadly secrets buried"--
format_catalog
Book
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_catalog
Audio Books
Books
eBook
id
810b7dad-4f75-db73-319a-e14cfdb6a673
isbn
9780345534217
9780345534224
9780345534231
9780385366236
last_indexed
2022-07-03T09:47:10.624Z
lexile_score
-1
literary_form
Fiction
literary_form_full
Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog
MILCHMAN
owning_library_catalog
Wake County Public Libraries
owning_location_catalog
Cary Regional
Duraleigh Road Community
East Regional
Eva H. Perry Regional
Holly Springs Community
Northeast Regional
Southeast Regional
West Regional
primary_isbn
9780345534224
publishDate
2013
publisher
Ballantine Books
Penguin Random House Audio Publishing Group
Random House Publishing Group
recordtype
grouped_work
title_display
Cover of Snow
title_full
Cover of Snow A Novel
Cover of Snow Milchman, Jenny
title_short
Cover of Snow
topic_facet
Fiction
Literature
Suspense
Thriller

Solr Details Tables

item_details

Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocation
overdrive:354428e8-00c6-44d0-b9ac-8d7ef79d9bf2-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books2falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenAvailable Online
overdrive:db9b303e-5988-4d1c-b37e-76a748e41ac5-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook12falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
ils:6725435360105Southeast Regional - Adult FictionMILCHMAN1falsefalseOn ShelfSER
ils:6725435360113Holly Springs Community - Adult FictionMILCHMAN1falsefalseOn ShelfHSP
ils:6725435361248West Regional - Adult FictionMILCHMAN1falsefalseOn ShelfWRL
ils:6725435361253East Regional - Adult FictionMILCHMAN1falsefalseOn ShelfERL
ils:6725435360099Duraleigh Road - Adult FictionMILCHMAN1falsefalseRemote StorageDUR
ils:6725435360104Eva H. Perry Regional - Adult FictionMILCHMAN1falsefalseOn ShelfEVA
ils:6725435360111Remote Storage - Adult FictionMILCHMAN1falsefalseOn ShelfLAB
ils:6725435360101Eva H. Perry Regional - Adult FictionMILCHMAN1falsefalseOn ShelfEVA
ils:6725435361252Cary Regional - Adult FictionMILCHMAN1falsefalseOn ShelfCRY
ils:6725435360100Remote Storage - Adult FictionMILCHMAN1falsefalseOn ShelfLAB
ils:6725435360102Eva H. Perry Regional - Adult FictionMILCHMAN1falsefalseRemote StorageEVA
ils:6725435361250Cary Regional - Adult FictionMILCHMAN1falsefalseOn ShelfCRY
ils:6725435360106Northeast Regional - Adult FictionMILCHMAN1falsefalseOn ShelfNER
ils:6725435361255Remote Storage - Adult FictionMILCHMAN1falsefalseOn ShelfLAB

record_details

Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
overdrive:354428e8-00c6-44d0-b9ac-8d7ef79d9bf2eAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishPenguin Random House Audio Publishing Group2013
overdrive:db9b303e-5988-4d1c-b37e-76a748e41ac5eBookeBookEnglishRandom House Publishing Group2013
ils:672543BookBooksEnglishBallantine Books2013

scoping_details_catalog

Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:354428e8-00c6-44d0-b9ac-8d7ef79d9bf2-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:db9b303e-5988-4d1c-b37e-76a748e41ac5-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
ils:6725435360105On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:6725435360113On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:6725435361248On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:6725435361253On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:6725435360099Currently UnavailableRemote Storagefalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:6725435360104On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:6725435360111On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:6725435360101On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:6725435361252On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:6725435360100On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:6725435360102Currently UnavailableRemote Storagefalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:6725435361250On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:6725435360106On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:6725435361255On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue