Libraries are closed until further notice.
We are now offering contactless pickup and return at select locations with Books on the Go!

Some notices were not sent. Check your account for due dates (but we are still fine free)!

The sisters: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
Language:
English
More Details
ISBN:
9780312542702
9781483059983
Accelerated Reader:
UG
Level 6.1, 19 Points
Also in This Series
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID9b7f2f04-9cd3-f1db-832d-9eb14a90bfd6
Grouping Titlesisters
Grouping Authornancy jensen
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2020-09-19 07:30:42AM
Last Indexed2020-09-19 07:44:06AM
Novelist Primary ISBN9781455117093

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_levelUG
accelerated_reader_point_value19
accelerated_reader_reading_level6.1
authorJensen, Nancy, 1961-
author_displayJensen, Nancy
available_at_catalogCary Community
Eva H. Perry Regional
Green Road Community
Holly Springs Community
Northeast Regional
Southeast Regional
collection_catalogAdult Fiction
detailed_location_catalogCary Regional - Adult Fiction
Eva H. Perry Regional - Adult Fiction
Green Road Community - Adult Fiction
Holly Springs Community - Adult Fiction
Northeast Regional - Adult Fiction
Southeast Regional - Adult Fiction
display_description

In the tradition of Marilynne Robinson's Housekeeping and Elizabeth Strout's Olive Kitteridge comes a dazzling debut novel about the family bonds that remain even when they seem irretrievably torn apart.

Growing up in hardscrabble Kentucky in the 1920s, with their mother dead and their stepfather an ever-present threat, Bertie Fischer and her older sister, Mabel, have no one but each other—with perhaps a sweetheart for Bertie waiting in the wings. But on the day that Bertie receives her eighth-grade diploma, good intentions go terribly wrong, setting off a chain of misunderstandings that will send the sisters on separate paths and reverberate through their daughters' and granddaughters' lives.

What happens when nothing turns out as you planned?  From the Depression through World War II and Vietnam, and smaller events both tragic and joyful, Bertie and Mabel forge unexpected identities and raise daughters—and sisters—of their own, learning that love and betrayal are even more complicated than they seem. Gorgeously written, with extraordinary insight and emotional truth, Nancy Jensen's debut novel illuminates the far-reaching power of family and family secrets.

format_catalogBook
eAudiobook
format_category_catalogAudio Books
Books
eBook
id9b7f2f04-9cd3-f1db-832d-9eb14a90bfd6
isbn9780312542702
9781483059983
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
overdrive:8081144f-fa77-4c65-bf98-4a43a196575a-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books3falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenAvailable Online
ils:6239974870533Green Road Community - Adult FictionJENSEN1falsefalseOn ShelfGRE
ils:6239975794264Holly Springs Community - Adult FictionJENSEN1falsefalseOn ShelfHSP
ils:6239974870535Eva H. Perry Regional - Adult FictionJENSEN1falsefalseOn ShelfEVA
ils:6239975794260Southeast Regional - Adult FictionJENSEN1falsefalseOn ShelfSER
ils:6239975794266Northeast Regional - Adult FictionJENSEN1falsefalseOn ShelfNER
ils:6239975794263Southeast Regional - Adult FictionJENSEN1falsefalseOn ShelfSER
ils:6239975794265Cary Regional - Adult FictionJENSEN1falsefalseOn ShelfCRY
ils:6239974870528Southeast Regional - Adult FictionJENSEN1falsefalseOn ShelfSER
last_indexed2020-09-19T11:44:06.067Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_catalogJENSEN
owning_library_catalogWake County Public Libraries
owning_location_catalogCary Community
Eva H. Perry Regional
Green Road Community
Holly Springs Community
Northeast Regional
Southeast Regional
primary_isbn9780312542702
publishDate2011
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
overdrive:8081144f-fa77-4c65-bf98-4a43a196575aeAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishBlackstone Publishing2011
ils:623997BookBooksFirst edition.EnglishSt. Martin's Press, 2011.pages ; cm.
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:8081144f-fa77-4c65-bf98-4a43a196575a-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
ils:6239974870533On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:6239975794264On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:6239974870535On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:6239975794260On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:6239975794266On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:6239975794263On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:6239975794265On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:6239974870528On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
subject_facetDomestic fiction
Family secrets -- Fiction
Indiana -- Fiction
Kentucky -- Fiction
Psychological fiction
Separation (Psychology) -- Fiction
Sisters -- Fiction
title_displayThe sisters : a novel
title_fullThe Sisters A Novel
The sisters : a novel / Nancy Jensen
title_shortThe sisters
title_suba novel
topic_facetFamily secrets
Fiction
Literature
Separation (Psychology)
Sisters