The sisters: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
Language:
English
More Details
ISBN:
9780312542702
9781483059983
Accelerated Reader:
UG
Level 6.1, 19 Points
Also in This Series
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID9b7f2f04-9cd3-f1db-832d-9eb14a90bfd6
Grouping Titlesisters
Grouping Authornancy jensen
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2022-11-27 05:29:47AM
Last Indexed2022-11-27 05:53:50AM

Solr Fields

accelerated_reader_interest_level
UG
accelerated_reader_point_value
19
accelerated_reader_reading_level
6.1
author
Jensen, Nancy, 1961-
author_display
Jensen, Nancy
available_at_catalog
East Regional
Eva H. Perry Regional
Oberlin Regional
West Regional
collection_catalog
Adult Fiction
detailed_location_catalog
Duraleigh Road - Adult Fiction
East Regional - Adult Fiction
Eva H. Perry Regional - Adult Fiction
North Regional - Adult Fiction
Oberlin Regional - Adult Fiction
West Regional - Adult Fiction
display_description

In the tradition of Marilynne Robinson's Housekeeping and Elizabeth Strout's Olive Kitteridge comes a dazzling debut novel about the family bonds that remain even when they seem irretrievably torn apart.

Growing up in hardscrabble Kentucky in the 1920s, with their mother dead and their stepfather an ever-present threat, Bertie Fischer and her older sister, Mabel, have no one but each other—with perhaps a sweetheart for Bertie waiting in the wings. But on the day that Bertie receives her eighth-grade diploma, good intentions go terribly wrong, setting off a chain of misunderstandings that will send the sisters on separate paths and reverberate through their daughters' and granddaughters' lives.

What happens when nothing turns out as you planned?  From the Depression through World War II and Vietnam, and smaller events both tragic and joyful, Bertie and Mabel forge unexpected identities and raise daughters—and sisters—of their own, learning that love and betrayal are even more complicated than they seem. Gorgeously written, with extraordinary insight and emotional truth, Nancy Jensen's debut novel illuminates the far-reaching power of family and family secrets.

format_catalog
Book
eAudiobook
format_category_catalog
Audio Books
Books
eBook
id
9b7f2f04-9cd3-f1db-832d-9eb14a90bfd6
isbn
9780312542702
9781483059983
last_indexed
2022-11-27T10:53:50.663Z
lexile_score
-1
literary_form
Fiction
literary_form_full
Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog
JENSEN
owning_library_catalog
Wake County Public Libraries
owning_location_catalog
Duraleigh Road Community
East Regional
Eva H. Perry Regional
North Regional
Oberlin Regional
West Regional
primary_isbn
9780312542702
publishDate
2011
publisher
Blackstone Publishing
St. Martin's Press
recordtype
grouped_work
subject_facet
Domestic fiction
Family secrets -- Fiction
Indiana -- Fiction
Kentucky -- Fiction
Psychological fiction
Separation (Psychology) -- Fiction
Sisters -- Fiction
title_display
The sisters : a novel
title_full
The Sisters A Novel
The sisters : a novel / Nancy Jensen
title_short
The sisters
title_sub
a novel
topic_facet
Family secrets
Fiction
Literature
Separation (Psychology)
Sisters

Solr Details Tables

item_details

Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent URLDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocation
overdrive:8081144f-fa77-4c65-bf98-4a43a196575a-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books3falsetrueOverDriveAvailable Online
ils:6239975794261East Regional - Adult FictionJENSEN1falsefalseOn ShelfERL
ils:6239975794265West Regional - Adult FictionJENSEN1falsefalseOn ShelfWRL
ils:6239975794266Eva H. Perry Regional - Adult FictionJENSEN1falsefalseOn ShelfEVA
ils:6239975794262Duraleigh Road - Adult FictionJENSEN1falsefalseRemote StorageDUR
ils:6239975794260North Regional - Adult FictionJENSEN1falsefalseChecked outNOR
ils:6239975794264Oberlin Regional - Adult FictionJENSEN1falsefalseOn ShelfOBR
ils:6239975794263East Regional - Adult FictionJENSEN1falsefalseOn ShelfERL

record_details

Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
overdrive:8081144f-fa77-4c65-bf98-4a43a196575aeAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishBlackstone Publishing2011
ils:623997BookBooksFirst editionEnglishSt. Martin's Press2011pages ; cm.

scoping_details_catalog

Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:8081144f-fa77-4c65-bf98-4a43a196575a-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
ils:6239975794261On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:6239975794265On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:6239975794266On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:6239975794262Currently UnavailableRemote Storagefalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:6239975794260Checked outChecked outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:6239975794264On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:6239975794263On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue