A thousand pardons: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(0)
4 star
 
(1)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Language:
English
More Details
ISBN:
9780812993219
9780679645009
Also in This Series
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDb2c39417-d373-01d2-8c39-d02a795d9c1a
Grouping Titlethousand pardons
Grouping Authorjonathan dee
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2023-02-04 03:09:05AM
Last Indexed2023-02-04 03:27:26AM

Solr Fields

accelerated_reader_point_value
0
accelerated_reader_reading_level
0
author
Dee, Jonathan
author_display
Dee, Jonathan
collection_catalog
Adult Fiction
detailed_location_catalog
Remote Storage - Adult Fiction
display_description
NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY KIRKUS REVIEWS
For readers of Jonathan Franzen and Richard Russo, Jonathan Dee’s novels are masterful works of literary fiction. In this sharply observed tale of self-invention and public scandal, Dee raises a trenchant question: what do we really want when we ask for forgiveness?

 
Once a privileged and loving couple, the Armsteads have now reached a breaking point. Ben, a partner in a prestigious law firm, has become unpredictable at work and withdrawn at home—a change that weighs heavily on his wife, Helen, and their preteen daughter, Sara. Then, in one afternoon, Ben’s recklessness takes an alarming turn, and everything the Armsteads have built together unravels, swiftly and spectacularly.
 
Thrust back into the working world, Helen finds a job in public relations and relocates with Sara from their home in upstate New York to an apartment in Manhattan. There, Helen discovers she has a rare gift, indispensable in the world of image control: She can convince arrogant men to admit their mistakes, spinning crises into second chances. Yet redemption is more easily granted in her professional life than in her personal one.
 
As she is confronted with the biggest case of her career, the fallout from her marriage, and Sara’s increasingly distant behavior, Helen must face the limits of accountability and her own capacity for forgiveness.
Look for special features inside. Join the Random House Reader’s Circle for author chats and more.
Praise for A Thousand Pardons
 
A Thousand Pardons is that rare thing: a genuine literary thriller. Eerily suspenseful and packed with dramatic event, it also offers a trenchant, hilarious portrait of our collective longing for authenticity in these overmediated times.”—Jennifer Egan, Pulitzer Prize–winning author of A Visit from the Goon Squad
“Hugely enjoyable . . . Dee is a snappy, cinematic writer. . . . A Thousand Pardons moves fast. It’s a mere 200 or so pages, and it packs a lot of turns of fate within there.”The Boston Globe
 
“Dee’s gifts are often dazzling and his material meticulously shaped. . . . [He] articulates complex emotional dynamics with precision and insight.”—The New York Times Book Review
 
“Some stories begin with a bang. And some begin with a roaring fireball of truth. Jonathan Dee’s latest novel belongs in the latter camp.”—O: The Oprah Magazine
 
“Dee bounds gracefully among Helen’s, Ben’s, and Sara’s points of view as they try to reassemble their lives. Their stories feel honest, and the prose is beautiful.”—Entertainment Weekly
 
“A page turner . . . What a triumph.”Kirkus Reviews (starred review)
 
“Graceful prose and such a sharp understanding of human weakness that you’ll wince as you laugh.”—People
 
“Propulsively readable.”—The Millions
 
“Dee continues to establish himself as an ironic observer of contemporary behavior. . . . The plot is energetic. . . . But most compelling is the acuteness of the details.”—The Atlantic
format_catalog
Book
eBook
format_category_catalog
Books
eBook
id
b2c39417-d373-01d2-8c39-d02a795d9c1a
isbn
9780679645009
9780812993219
last_indexed
2023-02-04T08:27:26.826Z
lexile_score
-1
literary_form
Fiction
literary_form_full
Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog
DEE
owning_library_catalog
Wake County Public Libraries
primary_isbn
9780812993219
publishDate
2013
publisher
Random House
Random House Publishing Group
recordtype
grouped_work
subject_facet
Businesswomen -- Fiction
Corporations -- Corrupt practices -- Fiction
Divorced women -- Fiction
Man-woman relationships -- Fiction
Political corruption -- Fiction
title_display
A thousand pardons : a novel
title_full
A Thousand Pardons A Novel
A thousand pardons : a novel / Jonathan Dee
title_short
A thousand pardons
title_sub
a novel
topic_facet
Businesswomen
Corporations
Corrupt practices
Divorced women
Fiction
Literature
Man-woman relationships
Political corruption

Solr Details Tables

item_details

Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent URLDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocation
overdrive:672e913a-b755-4d0e-813f-fcfab01768fb-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook2falsetrueOverDriveAvailable Online
ils:6741265073446Remote Storage - Adult FictionDEE1falsefalseIn TransitLAB

record_details

Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
overdrive:672e913a-b755-4d0e-813f-fcfab01768fbeBookeBookEnglishRandom House Publishing Group2013
ils:674126BookBooksFirst editionEnglishRandom House[2013]214 pages ; 25 cm

scoping_details_catalog

Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:672e913a-b755-4d0e-813f-fcfab01768fb-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
ils:6741265073446Currently UnavailableIn Transitfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue