The how & the why

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(1)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Language:
English
Lexile measure:
HL: High-Low 590L
More Details
ISBN:
9780062693167
9780062693181
Accelerated Reader:
UG
Level 4.2, 15 Points
Lexile measure:
HL: High-Low 590L
Also in This Series
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDb94b3f16-29fa-2be6-fda4-a701f1cd89cd
Grouping Titlehow and the why
Grouping Authorcynthia hand
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2022-08-10 05:22:59AM
Last Indexed2022-08-10 05:43:52AM

Solr Fields

accelerated_reader_interest_level
UG
accelerated_reader_point_value
15
accelerated_reader_reading_level
4.2
author
Hand, Cynthia, 1978-
author_display
Hand, Cynthia
available_at_catalog
Athens Drive Community
Cary Regional
East Regional
Middle Creek Community
Morrisville Community
North Regional
Northeast Regional
Southeast Regional
Southgate Community
West Regional
collection_catalog
Young Adult
detailed_location_catalog
Athens Drive Community - Young Adult
Cary Regional - Young Adult
East Regional - Young Adult
Eva H. Perry Regional - Young Adult
Leesville Community - Young Adult
Middlecreek Community - Young Adult
Morrisville Community - Young Adult
North Regional - Young Adult
Northeast Regional - Young Adult
Remote Storage - Young Adult
Southeast Regional - Young Adult
Southgate Community - Young Adult
West Regional - Young Adult
display_description
Cassandra McMurtrey has the best parents a girl could ask for; they've given Cass a life she wouldn't trade for the world. She has everything she needs--but she has questions, too. Like, to know who she is. Where she came from. Questions her adoptive parents can't answer, no matter how much they love her. But eighteen years ago, someone wrote Cass a series of letters. And they may just hold the answers Cass has been searching for. Alternating between Cass's search for answers and letters from the pregnant teen who placed her for adoption, this emotionally resonant narrative is the perfect read for fans of Nina LaCour and Jandy Nelson. "Cassandra McMurtrey has the best parents a girl could ask for; they've given Cass a life she wouldn't trade for the world. She has everything she needs--but she has questions, too. Like, to know who she is. Where she came from. Questions her adoptive parents can't answer, no matter how much they love her. But eighteen years ago, someone wrote Cass a series of letters. And they may just hold the answers Cass has been searching for. Alternating between Cass's search for answers and letters from the pregnant teen who placed her for adoption, this emotionally resonant narrative is the perfect read for fans of Nina LaCour and Jandy Nelson."--Provided by publisher.
format_catalog
Book
eBook
format_category_catalog
Books
eBook
id
b94b3f16-29fa-2be6-fda4-a701f1cd89cd
isbn
9780062693167
9780062693181
last_indexed
2022-08-10T09:43:52.995Z
lexile_code
HL: High-Low
lexile_score
590
literary_form
Fiction
literary_form_full
Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog
YA HAND
owning_library_catalog
Wake County Public Libraries
owning_location_catalog
Athens Drive Community
Cary Regional
East Regional
Eva H. Perry Regional
Leesville Community
Middle Creek Community
Morrisville Community
North Regional
Northeast Regional
Southeast Regional
Southgate Community
West Regional
primary_isbn
9780062693167
publishDate
2019
publisher
HarperCollins
HarperTeen, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers
recordtype
grouped_work
subject_facet
Adopted children -- Fiction
Adopted children -- Juvenile fiction
Bildungsromans
Birthparents -- Fiction
Birthparents -- Juvenile fiction
Epistolary fiction
Teenage girls -- Fiction
Teenage girls -- Juvenile fiction
Teenage mothers -- Fiction
Teenage mothers -- Juvenile fiction
title_display
The how & the why
title_full
The How & the Why
The how & the why / Cynthia Hand
title_short
The how & the why
topic_facet
Adopted children
Birthparents
Teenage girls
Teenage mothers
Young Adult Fiction
Young Adult Literature

Solr Details Tables

item_details

Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocation
overdrive:77240df1-e1db-4553-a94d-552d078159e1-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook3falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
ils:7408587217964West Regional - Young AdultYA HAND1falsefalseOn ShelfWRL
ils:7408587217954East Regional - Young AdultYA HAND1falsefalseOn ShelfERL
ils:7408587217958Northeast Regional - Young AdultYA HAND1falsefalseChecked outNER
ils:7408587217955Cary Regional - Young AdultYA HAND1falsefalseChecked outCRY
ils:7408587217951Remote Storage - Young AdultYA HAND1falsefalseOn ShelfLAB
ils:7408587217956East Regional - Young AdultYA HAND1falsefalseOn ShelfERL
ils:7408587217962North Regional - Young AdultYA HAND1falsefalseOn ShelfNOR
ils:7408587217963Cary Regional - Young AdultYA HAND1falsefalseOn ShelfCRY
ils:7408587217961Leesville Community - Young AdultYA HAND1falsefalseChecked outLEE
ils:7408587217969Southgate Community - Young AdultYA HAND1falsefalseOn ShelfSGA
ils:7408587217968Remote Storage - Young AdultYA HAND1falsefalseOn ShelfLAB
ils:7408587217960Middlecreek Community - Young AdultYA HAND1falsefalseOn ShelfMID
ils:7408587217965Eva H. Perry Regional - Young AdultYA HAND1falsefalseChecked outEVA
ils:7408587383211Morrisville Community - Young AdultYA HAND1falsefalseOn ShelfMOR
ils:7408587217967Remote Storage - Young AdultYA HAND1falsefalseOn ShelfLAB
ils:7408587217966Northeast Regional - Young AdultYA HAND1falsefalseOn ShelfNER
ils:7408587217952Remote Storage - Young AdultYA HAND1falsefalseOn ShelfLAB
ils:7408587217953Southeast Regional - Young AdultYA HAND1falsefalseOn ShelfSER
ils:7408587217959Athens Drive Community - Young AdultYA HAND1falsefalseOn ShelfADR

record_details

Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
overdrive:77240df1-e1db-4553-a94d-552d078159e1eBookeBookEnglishHarperCollins2019
ils:740858BookBooksFirst editionEnglishHarperTeen, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers[2019]450 pages ; 22 cm

scoping_details_catalog

Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:77240df1-e1db-4553-a94d-552d078159e1-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
ils:7408587217964On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:7408587217954On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:7408587217958Checked outChecked outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:7408587217955Checked outChecked outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:7408587217951On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:7408587217956On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:7408587217962On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruefalsefalsefalsetrue
ils:7408587217963On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:7408587217961Checked outChecked outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:7408587217969On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:7408587217968On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:7408587217960On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:7408587217965Checked outChecked outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:7408587383211On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:7408587217967On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:7408587217966On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:7408587217952On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:7408587217953On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:7408587217959On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue