All WCPL locations are closed until further notice. During this time you will not be able to place new holds on physical materials. If you have holds on the shelf, they will be held until we reopen. Discover an array of library resources you can access from home, available anytime.

The Beautiful and the Cursed

Book Cover
Average Rating
Author:
Language:
English
More Details
ISBN:
9780307980816
Accelerated Reader:
UG
Level 5.8, 16 Points
Also in This Series
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDd343b364-4119-27bc-1e97-380a8a1c616e
Grouping Titlebeautiful and the cursed
Grouping Authormorgan page
Grouping Categorybook
Last Grouping Update2020-06-02 07:30:47AM
Last Indexed2020-06-02 07:43:13AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_levelUG
accelerated_reader_point_value16
accelerated_reader_reading_level5.8
authorPage Morgan
author_displayPage Morgan
display_descriptionFans of Cassandra Clare's Mortal Instruments series and Lauren Kate's Fallen novels will devour The Beautiful and the Cursed, a wholly original interpretation of gargoyle lore.
After a bizarre accident, Ingrid Waverly is forced to leave London with her mother and her younger sister, Gabby, trading a world full of fancy dresses and society events for the unfamiliar city of Paris.
In Paris there are no grand balls or glittering parties for Ingrid, and, disturbingly, the house her twin brother, Grayson, was sent ahead to secure for the family isn't a house at all. It's an abandoned abbey, its roof lined with stone gargoyles that could almost be mistaken for living, breathing creatures.
And Grayson is missing.
Yet no one seems worried about his whereabouts save for Luc, a devastatingly handsome servant at their new home.
Ingrid is sure her twin isn't dead—she can feel it deep in her soul—but she knows he's in grave danger, and that it's up to her and Gabby to find him before all hope is lost.
The path to Grayson will be twisted, leading Ingrid to discover dark secrets and otherworldly truths that, once uncovered, can never again be buried.
Praise for the Dispossessed Trilogy:
"A deliciously satisfying mix of historical fiction, mystery, and supernatural romance."—The Bulletin
"Morgan combines fantasy with gothic romance in this well-crafted standout."—Booklist
"Forbidden romance and hot kissing abound."—Kirkus Reviews
"Morgan keeps the plot moving with constant action...dark adventure and romance."—School Library Journal

"Morgan's fluid descriptions, inventive otherworldly elements, and characters with convincing motivations result in an immersive first installment."—Publishers Weekly
From the Hardcover edition.
format_catalogeBook
format_category_catalogeBook
idd343b364-4119-27bc-1e97-380a8a1c616e
isbn9780307980816
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
overdrive:98721c41-e9f5-497f-9397-ccf084668fcc-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook2falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
last_indexed2020-06-02T11:43:13.805Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
primary_isbn9780307980816
publishDate2013
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
overdrive:98721c41-e9f5-497f-9397-ccf084668fcceBookeBookEnglishRandom House Children's Books2013
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:98721c41-e9f5-497f-9397-ccf084668fcc-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
seriesThe dispossessed
series_with_volumeThe dispossessed|1
title_displayThe Beautiful and the Cursed
title_fullThe Beautiful and the Cursed
title_shortThe Beautiful and the Cursed
topic_facetFantasy
Historical Fiction
Young Adult Fiction
Young Adult Literature