Our Regional Libraries are now open for Express Visits! Know before you go.
And we still offer contactless pickup and return with Books on the Go!

Some notices were not sent. Check your account for due dates (but we are still fine free)!

The heavy: a mother, a daughter, a diet : a memoir

Book Cover
Average Rating
Language:
English
More Details
ISBN:
9780345541345
9780345541352
Also in This Series
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDd8c84731-24a0-e772-25aa-3e127a5bb533
Grouping Titleheavy
Grouping Authordara lynn weiss
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2020-11-23 07:30:42AM
Last Indexed2020-11-23 07:43:31AM
Novelist Primary ISBN9780345541345

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
authorDara-Lynn Weiss
author_displayWeiss, Dara-Lynn
available_at_catalogCameron Village Regional
Eva H. Perry Regional
Southeast Regional
collection_catalogBiography
detailed_location_catalogCameron Village Regional - Biography
Eva H. Perry Regional - Biography
Remote Storage - Biography
Southeast Regional - Biography
display_descriptionFor readers of Battle Hymn of the Tiger Mother and Bringing Up Bebe, a mother’s unflinching memoir about helping her seven year-old daughter lose weight, and the challenges of modern parenting.
 
When a doctor pronounced Dara-Lynn Weiss’s daughter Bea obese at age seven, the mother of two knew she had to take action. But how could a woman with her own food and body issues—not to mention spotty eating habits—successfully parent a little girl around the issue of obesity?
 
In this much-anticipated, controversial memoir, Dara-Lynn Weiss chronicles the struggle and journey to get Bea healthy. In describing their process—complete with frustrations, self-recriminations, dark humor, and some surprising strategies—Weiss reveals the hypocrisy inherent in the debates over many cultural hot-button issues: from processed snacks, organic foods, and school lunches to dieting, eating disorders, parenting methods, discipline, and kids’ self-esteem.
 
Compounding the challenge were eating environments—from school to restaurants to birthday parties—that set Bea up to fail, and unwelcome judgments from fellow parents. Childhood obesity, Weiss discovered, is a crucible not just for the child but also for parents. She was criticized as readily for enabling Bea’s condition as she was for enforcing the rigid limits necessary to address it. Never before had Weiss been made to feel so wrong for trying to do the right thing.
 
The damned if you do/damned if you don’t predicament came into sharp relief when Weiss raised some of these issues in a Vogue article. Critics came out in full force, and Weiss unwittingly found herself at the center of an emotional and highly charged debate on childhood obesity.
 
A touching and relatable story of loving a child enough to be unpopular, The Heavy will leave readers applauding Weiss’s success, her bravery, and her unconditional love for her daughter.
Advance praise for The Heavy
 
“Have you ever been ‘that mother’? You know, the one who others criticize or question? If so, then you know what incredible courage and daring it can take to raise a child in a way that doesn't always meet other people’s expectations. Dara-Lynn Weiss is inspirational for her sheer will, her unwavering dedication, and her willingness to take accountability for her own actions. The Heavy is a stark look at imperfect parenting—and why our mistakes make us better parents.”—Christine Carter, author of Raising Happiness
 
“Dara-Lynn Weiss had to defy her child’s school, the judgments of other parents, and our fast food culture to rescue her daughter from the epidemic of obesity. Parents should see this as an inspiration—and a wake-up call.”—Amy Dickinson, “Ask Amy” advice columnist and author of The Mighty Queens of Freeville
 
The Heavy should be required reading for every parent because it tackles—with refreshing honesty—that universal question we’ll all face: how to do what’s best for our children, even when the kids resist our efforts and society judges our approach. Dara-Lynn Weiss has written a brave book and started a crucial and overdue national conversation.”—Abigail Pogrebin, author of One and the Same and Stars of David
format_catalogBook
eBook
format_category_catalogBooks
eBook
idd8c84731-24a0-e772-25aa-3e127a5bb533
isbn9780345541345
9780345541352
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
ils:6726395054497Cameron Village Regional - BiographyB WEISS1falsefalseOn ShelfCAM
ils:6726395054494Eva H. Perry Regional - BiographyB WEISS1falsefalseOn ShelfEVA
ils:6726395054493Southeast Regional - BiographyB WEISS1falsefalseOn ShelfSER
ils:6726395054500Cameron Village Regional - BiographyB WEISS1falsefalseOn ShelfCAM
ils:6726395054498Remote Storage - BiographyB WEISS1falsefalseOn ShelfLAB
overdrive:dd54de24-6e17-4a0f-8c84-640bb0b4e474-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook2falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
last_indexed2020-11-23T12:43:31.474Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formNon Fiction
literary_form_fullNon Fiction
local_callnumber_catalogB WEISS
owning_library_catalogWake County Public Libraries
owning_location_catalogCameron Village Regional
Eva H. Perry Regional
Southeast Regional
primary_isbn9780345541345
publishDate2013
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
ils:672639BookBooksFirst edition.EnglishBallantine Books, [2013]240 pages ; 22 cm
overdrive:dd54de24-6e17-4a0f-8c84-640bb0b4e474eBookeBookEnglishRandom House Publishing Group2013
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:6726395054497On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:6726395054494On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:6726395054493On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:6726395054500On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:6726395054498On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
overdrive:dd54de24-6e17-4a0f-8c84-640bb0b4e474-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
subject_facetMothers and daughters -- United States -- Biography
Obesity in children
Overweight children
Weiss, Dara-Lynn
title_displayThe heavy : a mother, a daughter, a diet : a memoir
title_fullThe Heavy A Mother, a Daughter, a Diet—A Memoir
The heavy : a mother, a daughter, a diet : a memoir / Dara-Lynn Weiss
title_shortThe heavy
title_suba mother, a daughter, a diet : a memoir
topic_facetBiography & Autobiography
Family & Relationships
Health & Fitness
Mothers and daughters
Nonfiction
Obesity in children
Overweight children
Weiss, Dara-Lynn