Libraries are open! We still offer contactless pickup with Books on the Go!

Not getting our emails? Read our FAQ about this issue.

Atlantic: great sea battles, heroic discoveries, titanic storms, and a vast ocean of a million stories

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(0)
4 star
 
(1)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Language:
English
More Details
ISBN:
9780061702587
9780061702624
9780307876539
9780062020109
Also in This Series
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDe4c1e684-7ceb-daf3-b5e3-41f910ff2218
Grouping Titleatlantic great sea battles heroic discoveries titanic storms and a vast ocean of a million
Grouping Authorsimon winchester
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2021-06-13 07:36:21AM
Last Indexed2021-06-13 07:51:43AM
Novelist Primary ISBN9780061702587

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
authorSimon Winchester
author_displayWinchester, Simon
available_at_catalogAthens Drive Community
collection_catalogAdult Non-Fiction
detailed_location_catalogAthens Drive Community - Adult Non-fiction
Cary Regional - Adult Non-fiction
Village Regional Library - Adult Non-fiction
WCPL - Adult Non-fiction
display_description

"Variably genial, cautionary, lyrical, admonitory, terrifying, horrifying and inspiring...A lifetime of thought, travel, reading, imagination and memory inform this affecting account." —Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

Blending history and anecdote, geography and reminiscence, science and exposition, New York Times bestselling author Simon Winchester tells the breathtaking saga of the Atlantic Ocean. A gifted storyteller and consummate historian, Winchester sets the great blue sea's epic narrative against the backdrop of mankind's intellectual evolution, telling not only the story of an ocean, but the story of civilization. Fans of Winchester's Krakatoa, The Man Who Loved China, and The Professor and the Madman will love this masterful, penetrating, and resonant tale of humanity finding its way across the ocean of history.

format_catalogBook
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_catalogAudio Books
Books
eBook
ide4c1e684-7ceb-daf3-b5e3-41f910ff2218
isbn9780061702587
9780061702624
9780062020109
9780307876539
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
overdrive:0dca26c4-ff43-4359-a31e-eb6fd0b0bea6-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook5falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
overdrive:12ecf49c-79c6-4dd5-8556-fef38e4cd66c-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books2falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenAvailable Online
ils:6091807345423Cary Regional - Adult Non-fiction551.46 WINCH1falsefalseChecked outCRY
ils:6091804951507Village Regional Library - Adult Non-fiction551.46 WINCH1falsefalseTransit RequestVIL
ils:6091804611070Village Regional Library - Adult Non-fiction551.46 WINCH1falsefalseNo Longer Avail.VIL
ils:6091804611076WCPL - Adult Non-fiction551.46 WINCH1falsefalseOn ShelfWCPL
ils:6091807345424Athens Drive Community - Adult Non-fiction551.46 WINCH1falsefalseOn ShelfADR
last_indexed2021-06-13T11:51:43.84Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formNon Fiction
literary_form_fullNon Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog551.46 WINCH
owning_library_catalogWake County Public Libraries
owning_location_catalogAthens Drive Community
Cary Community
Village Regional
primary_isbn9780061702587
publishDate2010
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
overdrive:0dca26c4-ff43-4359-a31e-eb6fd0b0bea6eBookeBookEnglishHarperCollins e-books2010
overdrive:12ecf49c-79c6-4dd5-8556-fef38e4cd66ceAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishBooks on Tape2010
ils:609180BookBooksFirst edition.EnglishHarper, [2010]xiv, 495 pages : illustrations, maps ; 24 cm
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:0dca26c4-ff43-4359-a31e-eb6fd0b0bea6-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:12ecf49c-79c6-4dd5-8556-fef38e4cd66c-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
ils:6091807345423Checked outChecked outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:6091804951507Checked OutTransit Requestfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:6091804611070Currently UnavailableNo Longer Avail.falsefalsefalsefalsefalsetrue
ils:6091804611076On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:6091807345424On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
subject_facetAtlantic Ocean -- Description and travel
Atlantic Ocean -- Folklore
Atlantic Ocean -- Geography
Atlantic Ocean -- History
Ocean and civilization
Winchester, Simon -- Travel
title_displayAtlantic : great sea battles, heroic discoveries, titanic storms, and a vast ocean of a million stories
title_fullAtlantic : great sea battles, heroic discoveries, titanic storms, and a vast ocean of a million stories / Simon Winchester
Atlantic Great Sea Battles, Heroic Discoveries, Titanic Storms, and a Vast Ocean of a Million Stories
title_shortAtlantic
title_subgreat sea battles, heroic discoveries, titanic storms, and a vast ocean of a million stories
topic_facetDescription and travel
Geography
History
Nonfiction
Ocean and civilization
Travel
Winchester, Simon