Atlantic: great sea battles, heroic discoveries, titanic storms, and a vast ocean of a million stories

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(0)
4 star
 
(1)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Language:
English
More Details
ISBN:
9780061702587
9780061702624
9780307876539
9780062020109
Also in This Series
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDe4c1e684-7ceb-daf3-b5e3-41f910ff2218
Grouping Titleatlantic great sea battles heroic discoveries titanic storms and a vast ocean of a million
Grouping Authorsimon winchester
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2022-12-06 05:23:01AM
Last Indexed2022-12-06 05:49:07AM

Solr Fields

accelerated_reader_point_value
0
accelerated_reader_reading_level
0
author
Winchester, Simon
author_display
Winchester, Simon
available_at_catalog
Athens Drive Community
Leesville Community
collection_catalog
Adult Non-Fiction
detailed_location_catalog
Athens Drive Community - Adult Non-Fiction
Leesville Community - Adult Non-Fiction
display_description

"Variably genial, cautionary, lyrical, admonitory, terrifying, horrifying and inspiring...A lifetime of thought, travel, reading, imagination and memory inform this affecting account." —Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

Blending history and anecdote, geography and reminiscence, science and exposition, New York Times bestselling author Simon Winchester tells the breathtaking saga of the Atlantic Ocean. A gifted storyteller and consummate historian, Winchester sets the great blue sea's epic narrative against the backdrop of mankind's intellectual evolution, telling not only the story of an ocean, but the story of civilization. Fans of Winchester's Krakatoa, The Man Who Loved China, and The Professor and the Madman will love this masterful, penetrating, and resonant tale of humanity finding its way across the ocean of history.

format_catalog
Book
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_catalog
Audio Books
Books
eBook
id
e4c1e684-7ceb-daf3-b5e3-41f910ff2218
isbn
9780061702587
9780061702624
9780062020109
9780307876539
last_indexed
2022-12-06T10:49:07.317Z
lexile_score
-1
literary_form
Non Fiction
literary_form_full
Non Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog
551.46 WINCH
owning_library_catalog
Wake County Public Libraries
owning_location_catalog
Athens Drive Community
Leesville Community
primary_isbn
9780061702587
publishDate
2010
publisher
Books on Tape
Harper
HarperCollins
recordtype
grouped_work
subject_facet
Atlantic Ocean -- Description and travel
Atlantic Ocean -- Folklore
Atlantic Ocean -- Geography
Atlantic Ocean -- History
Ocean and civilization
Winchester, Simon -- Travel
title_display
Atlantic : great sea battles, heroic discoveries, titanic storms, and a vast ocean of a million stories
title_full
Atlantic : great sea battles, heroic discoveries, titanic storms, and a vast ocean of a million stories / Simon Winchester
Atlantic Great Sea Battles, Heroic Discoveries, Titanic Storms, and a Vast Ocean of a Million Stories
title_short
Atlantic
title_sub
great sea battles, heroic discoveries, titanic storms, and a vast ocean of a million stories
topic_facet
Description and travel
Geography
History
Nonfiction
Ocean and civilization
Sociology
Travel
Winchester, Simon

Solr Details Tables

item_details

Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent URLDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocation
overdrive:0dca26c4-ff43-4359-a31e-eb6fd0b0bea6-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook5falsetrueOverDriveAvailable Online
overdrive:12ecf49c-79c6-4dd5-8556-fef38e4cd66c-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books2falsetrueOverDriveAvailable Online
ils:6091807345424Athens Drive Community - Adult Non-Fiction551.46 WINCH1falsefalseOn ShelfADR
ils:6091807345423Leesville Community - Adult Non-Fiction551.46 WINCH1falsefalseOn ShelfLEE

record_details

Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
overdrive:0dca26c4-ff43-4359-a31e-eb6fd0b0bea6eBookeBookEnglishHarperCollins2010
overdrive:12ecf49c-79c6-4dd5-8556-fef38e4cd66ceAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishBooks on Tape2010
ils:609180BookBooksFirst editionEnglishHarper[2010]xiv, 495 pages : illustrations, maps ; 24 cm

scoping_details_catalog

Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:0dca26c4-ff43-4359-a31e-eb6fd0b0bea6-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:12ecf49c-79c6-4dd5-8556-fef38e4cd66c-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
ils:6091807345424On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:6091807345423On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue