A thousand pardons: A Novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
Author:
Language:
English
More Details
ISBN:
9780812993219
9780679645009
Also in This Series
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDef7c0560-af29-54b1-2ec5-b8fbb438a60f
Grouping Titlethousand pardons
Grouping Authordee jonathan
Grouping Categorybook
Last Grouping Update2019-10-22 07:24:59AM
Last Indexed2019-10-22 07:39:30AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
authorJonathan Dee
author_displayJonathan Dee
available_at_catalogEast Regional
Northeast Regional
collection_catalogAdult Fiction
detailed_location_catalogEast Regional - Adult Fiction
Northeast Regional - Adult Fiction
display_descriptionNAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY KIRKUS REVIEWS
For readers of Jonathan Franzen and Richard Russo, Jonathan Dee's novels are masterful works of literary fiction. In this sharply observed tale of self-invention and public scandal, Dee raises a trenchant question: what do we really want when we ask for forgiveness?


Once a privileged and loving couple, the Armsteads have now reached a breaking point. Ben, a partner in a prestigious law firm, has become unpredictable at work and withdrawn at home—a change that weighs heavily on his wife, Helen, and their preteen daughter, Sara. Then, in one afternoon, Ben's recklessness takes an alarming turn, and everything the Armsteads have built together unravels, swiftly and spectacularly.

Thrust back into the working world, Helen finds a job in public relations and relocates with Sara from their home in upstate New York to an apartment in Manhattan. There, Helen discovers she has a rare gift, indispensable in the world of image control: She can convince arrogant men to admit their mistakes, spinning crises into second chances. Yet redemption is more easily granted in her professional life than in her personal one.

As she is confronted with the biggest case of her career, the fallout from her marriage, and Sara's increasingly distant behavior, Helen must face the limits of accountability and her own capacity for forgiveness.
Look for special features inside. Join the Random House Reader's Circle for author chats and more.
Praise for A Thousand Pardons

"A Thousand Pardons is that rare thing: a genuine literary thriller. Eerily suspenseful and packed with dramatic event, it also offers a trenchant, hilarious portrait of our collective longing for authenticity in these overmediated times."—Jennifer Egan, Pulitzer Prize–winning author of A Visit from the Goon Squad
"Hugely enjoyable . . . Dee is a snappy, cinematic writer. . . . A Thousand Pardons moves fast. It's a mere 200 or so pages, and it packs a lot of turns of fate within there."The Boston Globe

"Dee's gifts are often dazzling and his material meticulously shaped. . . . [He] articulates complex emotional dynamics with precision and insight."—The New York Times Book Review

"Some stories begin with a bang. And some begin with a roaring fireball of truth. Jonathan Dee's latest novel belongs in the latter camp."—O: The Oprah Magazine

"Dee bounds gracefully among Helen's, Ben's, and Sara's points of view as they try to reassemble their lives. Their stories feel honest, and the prose is beautiful."—Entertainment Weekly

"A page turner . . . What a triumph."Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

"Graceful prose and such a sharp understanding of human weakness that you'll wince as you laugh."—People

"Propulsively readable."—The Millions

"Dee continues to establish himself as an ironic observer of contemporary behavior. . . . The plot is energetic. . . . But most compelling is the acuteness of the details."—The Atlantic
From the Trade Paperback edition.
format_catalogBook
eBook
format_category_catalogBooks
eBook
idef7c0560-af29-54b1-2ec5-b8fbb438a60f
isbn9780679645009
9780812993219
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
overdrive:672e913a-b755-4d0e-813f-fcfab01768fb-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook2falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
ils:6741265073447Northeast Regional - Adult FictionDEE1falsefalseOn ShelfNER
ils:6741265073444East Regional - Adult FictionDEE1falsefalseOn ShelfERL
last_indexed2019-10-22T11:39:30.815Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_catalogDEE
owning_library_catalogWake County Public Libraries
owning_location_catalogEast Regional
Northeast Regional
primary_isbn9780812993219
publishDate2013
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
overdrive:672e913a-b755-4d0e-813f-fcfab01768fbeBookeBookEnglishRandom House Publishing Group2013
ils:674126BookBooksFirst edition.EnglishRandom House, [2013]214 pages ; 25 cm
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:672e913a-b755-4d0e-813f-fcfab01768fb-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
ils:6741265073447On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:6741265073444On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
subject_facetBusinesswomen -- Fiction
Corporations -- Corrupt practices -- Fiction
Divorced women -- Fiction
Man-woman relationships -- Fiction
Political corruption -- Fiction
title_displayA thousand pardons : a novel
title_fullA Thousand Pardons A Novel
A thousand pardons : a novel / Jonathan Dee
title_shortA thousand pardons
title_subA Novel
topic_facetBusinesswomen
Corporations
Corrupt practices
Divorced women
Fiction
Literature
Man-woman relationships
Political corruption