A thousand pardons: A Novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
More Details
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Also in this Series
More Like This
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID ef7c0560-af29-54b1-2ec5-b8fbb438a60f
full_title thousand pardons
author dee jonathan
grouping_category book
lastUpdate 2018-03-21 07:32:35AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Jonathan Dee
author_display Jonathan Dee
available_at_catalog Cameron Village Regional, Cary Community, Fuquay-Varina Community, Northeast Regional, Richard B. Harrison Community
collection_catalog Adult Fiction
detailed_location_catalog Cameron Village Regional - Adult Fiction, Cary Community - Adult Fiction, Fuquay-Varina Community - Adult Fiction, Northeast Regional - Adult Fiction, Richard B Harrison - Adult Fiction
For readers of Jonathan Franzen and Richard Russo, Jonathan Dee's novels are masterful works of literary fiction. In this sharply observed tale of self-invention and public scandal, Dee raises a trenchant question: what do we really want when we ask for forgiveness?

Once a privileged and loving couple, the Armsteads have now reached a breaking point. Ben, a partner in a prestigious law firm, has become unpredictable at work and withdrawn at home—a change that weighs heavily on his wife, Helen, and their preteen daughter, Sara. Then, in one afternoon, Ben's recklessness takes an alarming turn, and everything the Armsteads have built together unravels, swiftly and spectacularly.

Thrust back into the working world, Helen finds a job in public relations and relocates with Sara from their home in upstate New York to an apartment in Manhattan. There, Helen discovers she has a rare gift, indispensable in the world of image control: She can convince arrogant men to admit their mistakes, spinning crises into second chances. Yet redemption is more easily granted in her professional life than in her personal one.

As she is confronted with the biggest case of her career, the fallout from her marriage, and Sara's increasingly distant behavior, Helen must face the limits of accountability and her own capacity for forgiveness.
Look for special features inside. Join the Random House Reader's Circle for author chats and more.
Praise for A Thousand Pardons

"A Thousand Pardons is that rare thing: a genuine literary thriller. Eerily suspenseful and packed with dramatic event, it also offers a trenchant, hilarious portrait of our collective longing for authenticity in these overmediated times."—Jennifer Egan, Pulitzer Prize–winning author of A Visit from the Goon Squad
"Hugely enjoyable . . . Dee is a snappy, cinematic writer. . . . A Thousand Pardons moves fast. It's a mere 200 or so pages, and it packs a lot of turns of fate within there."The Boston Globe

"Dee's gifts are often dazzling and his material meticulously shaped. . . . [He] articulates complex emotional dynamics with precision and insight."—The New York Times Book Review

"Some stories begin with a bang. And some begin with a roaring fireball of truth. Jonathan Dee's latest novel belongs in the latter camp."—O: The Oprah Magazine

"Dee bounds gracefully among Helen's, Ben's, and Sara's points of view as they try to reassemble their lives. Their stories feel honest, and the prose is beautiful."—Entertainment Weekly

"A page turner . . . What a triumph."Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

"Graceful prose and such a sharp understanding of human weakness that you'll wince as you laugh."—People

"Propulsively readable."—The Millions

"Dee continues to establish himself as an ironic observer of contemporary behavior. . . . The plot is energetic. . . . But most compelling is the acuteness of the details."—The Atlantic
From the Trade Paperback edition.
format_catalog Book, eBook
format_category_catalog Books, eBook
id ef7c0560-af29-54b1-2ec5-b8fbb438a60f
isbn 9780679645009, 9780812993219
item_details ils:674126|5073439|Cameron Village Regional - Adult Fiction|DEE|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||CAM||, ils:674126|5073441|Cary Community - Adult Fiction|DEE|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||CRY||, ils:674126|5073445|Richard B Harrison - Adult Fiction|DEE|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||RBH||, ils:674126|5073447|Northeast Regional - Adult Fiction|DEE|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||NER||, ils:674126|5073448|Fuquay-Varina Community - Adult Fiction|DEE|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||FUQ||, overdrive:672e913a-b755-4d0e-813f-fcfab01768fb|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|2|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,Kindle Book,OverDrive Read|Checked Out||||
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog DEE
owning_library_catalog Wake County Public Libraries
owning_location_catalog Cameron Village Regional, Cary Community, Fuquay-Varina Community, Northeast Regional, Richard B. Harrison Community
primary_isbn 9780812993219
publishDate 2013
record_details ils:674126|Book|Books|First edition.|English|Random House,|[2013]|214 pages ; 25 cm, overdrive:672e913a-b755-4d0e-813f-fcfab01768fb|eBook|eBook||English|Random House Publishing Group|2013|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog ils:674126|5073439|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, ils:674126|5073441|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, ils:674126|5073445|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, ils:674126|5073447|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, ils:674126|5073448|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, overdrive:672e913a-b755-4d0e-813f-fcfab01768fb|-1|Checked Out|Checked Out|false|false|true|false|false|false||||
subject_facet Businesswomen -- Fiction, Corporations -- Corrupt practices -- Fiction, Divorced women -- Fiction, Man-woman relationships -- Fiction, Political corruption -- Fiction
title_display A thousand pardons : a novel
title_full A Thousand Pardons A Novel, A thousand pardons : a novel / Jonathan Dee
title_short A thousand pardons :
title_sub A Novel
topic_facet Businesswomen, Corporations, Corrupt practices, Divorced women, Fiction, Literature, Man-woman relationships, Political corruption