Libraries are closed until further notice.
We are now offering contactless pickup and return at select locations with Books on the Go!

Some notices were not sent. Check your account for due dates (but we are still fine free)!

The dress shop of dreams: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(0)
4 star
 
(1)
3 star
 
(3)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(1)
Language:
English
More Details
ISBN:
9780804178983
9780804178990
Also in This Series
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDf2b11432-dfdb-4473-0de7-3f24f9e1c3f0
Grouping Titledress shop of dreams
Grouping Authormenna van praag
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2020-09-26 07:30:33AM
Last Indexed2020-09-26 07:44:35AM
Novelist Primary ISBN9780804178983

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
authorMenna Van Praag
author_displayPraag, Menna van
available_at_catalogCameron Village Regional
Cary Community
Eva H. Perry Regional
Fuquay-Varina Community
Middle Creek Community
North Regional
Northeast Regional
Southeast Regional
collection_catalogAdult Fiction
detailed_location_catalogCameron Village Regional - Adult Fiction
Cary Regional - Adult Fiction
East Regional - Adult Fiction
Eva H. Perry Regional - Adult Fiction
Fuquay-Varina Community - Adult Fiction
Holly Springs Community - Adult Fiction
Middlecreek Community - Adult Fiction
North Regional - Adult Fiction
Northeast Regional - Adult Fiction
Remote Storage - Adult Fiction
Southeast Regional - Adult Fiction
West Regional - Adult Fiction
display_description"For fans of Alice Hoffman, Sarah Addison Allen, and Adriana Trigiani, The Dress Shop of Dreams is a captivating novel of enduring hopes, second chances, and the life-changing magic of true love. Since her parents' mysterious deaths many years ago, scientist Cora Sparks has spent her days in the safety of her university lab or at her grandmother Etta's dress shop. Tucked away on a winding Cambridge street, Etta's charming tiny store appears quite ordinary to passersby, but the colorfully vibrant racks of beaded silks, delicate laces, and jewel-toned velvets hold bewitching secrets: With just a few stitches from Etta's needle, these gorgeous gowns have the power to free a woman's deepest desires. Etta's dearest wish is to work her magic on her granddaughter. Cora's studious, unromantic eye has overlooked Walt, the shy bookseller who has been in love with her forever. Determined not to allow Cora to miss her chance at happiness, Etta sews a tiny stitch into Walt's collar, hoping to give him the courage to confess his feelings to Cora. But magic spells--like true love--can go awry. After Walt is spurred into action, Etta realizes she's set in motion a series of astonishing events that will transform Cora's life in extraordinary and unexpected ways. Advance praise for The Dress Shop of Dreams "Bighearted, beautiful, and brushed with magic, this novel celebrates life's moments of joy, possibility, and transformation. Menna van Praag's writing is bright with sparkles and lovely grace notes."--Susan Wiggs, bestselling author of The Beekeeper's Ball Look for special features inside. Join the Random House Reader's Circle for author chats and more"-- "Etta Sparks's cozy dress shop, tucked away at the end of a winding Cambridge road, is a magical place - anyone who steps inside the little blue door to glimpse the glorious silks and jewel-hued velvets can see they are someplace special. But only Etta knows the dresses she sells are actually magic - a few stitches from her needle and each gown imbues the wearer with the confidence to achieve whatever they set their mind too. The only two people the dresses don't seem to work on are Etta, still nursing a heart broken 40 years ago, and her granddaughter Cora, who dedicated her life to science after her brilliant inventor parents died in a mysterious fire and doesn't have time for things like magic or love. Determined to help Cora find happiness, Etta sews her magic stitch onto the shirt of Walter, the shy young man who works at the bookstore next door and has been in love with Cora for years. When she does, Etta sets in motion a surprising series of events, uncovering a lifetime of secrets that will change her granddaughter's mind about love -- and maybe even bring back something Etta thought she had lost forever"--
format_catalogBook
eBook
format_category_catalogBooks
eBook
idf2b11432-dfdb-4473-0de7-3f24f9e1c3f0
isbn9780804178983
9780804178990
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
ils:6940015447707North Regional - Adult FictionPRAAG1falsefalseOn ShelfNOR
ils:6940015447698Cameron Village Regional - Adult FictionPRAAG1falsefalseOn ShelfCAM
ils:6940016228257Northeast Regional - Adult FictionPRAAG1falsefalseOn ShelfNER
ils:6940015447706North Regional - Adult FictionPRAAG1falsefalseOn ShelfNOR
ils:6940015792154Cameron Village Regional - Adult FictionPRAAG1falsefalseOn ShelfCAM
ils:6940015447682Remote Storage - Adult FictionPRAAG1falsefalseOn ShelfLAB
ils:6940015447702Eva H. Perry Regional - Adult FictionPRAAG1falsefalseOn ShelfEVA
ils:6940015447681Remote Storage - Adult FictionPRAAG1falsefalseOn ShelfLAB
ils:6940015447688North Regional - Adult FictionPRAAG1falsefalseOn ShelfNOR
ils:6940015447694Remote Storage - Adult FictionPRAAG1falsefalseOn ShelfLAB
ils:6940015447711Southeast Regional - Adult FictionPRAAG1falsefalseOn ShelfSER
ils:6940015447687Remote Storage - Adult FictionPRAAG1falsefalseOn ShelfLAB
ils:6940015792155East Regional - Adult FictionPRAAG1falsefalseChecked outERL
ils:6940015447705Cary Regional - Adult FictionPRAAG1falsefalseOn ShelfCRY
ils:6940015447700Eva H. Perry Regional - Adult FictionPRAAG1falsefalseOn ShelfEVA
ils:6940015447696Middlecreek Community - Adult FictionPRAAG1falsefalseOn ShelfMID
ils:6940016872167Fuquay-Varina Community - Adult FictionPRAAG1falsefalseOn ShelfFUQ
ils:6940015792157West Regional - Adult FictionPRAAG1falsefalseIn TransitWRL
ils:6940015447697North Regional - Adult FictionPRAAG1falsefalseOn ShelfNOR
ils:6940015447680Remote Storage - Adult FictionPRAAG1falsefalseOn ShelfLAB
ils:6940015447686Holly Springs Community - Adult FictionPRAAG1falsefalseChecked outHSP
ils:6940016228256West Regional - Adult FictionPRAAG1falsefalseIn TransitWRL
overdrive:111ee83d-e71a-4f07-a403-c8ae0cf2beb4-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
last_indexed2020-09-26T11:44:35.602Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_catalogPRAAG
owning_library_catalogWake County Public Libraries
owning_location_catalogCameron Village Regional
Cary Community
East Regional
Eva H. Perry Regional
Fuquay-Varina Community
Holly Springs Community
Middle Creek Community
North Regional
Northeast Regional
Southeast Regional
West Regional
primary_isbn9780804178983
publishDate2014
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
ils:694001BookBooksEnglishBallantine Books, 2014.pages ; cm
overdrive:111ee83d-e71a-4f07-a403-c8ae0cf2beb4eBookeBookEnglishRandom House Publishing Group2014
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:6940015447707On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:6940015447698On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:6940016228257On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:6940015447706On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:6940015792154On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:6940015447682On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:6940015447702On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:6940015447681On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:6940015447688On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:6940015447694On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:6940015447711On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:6940015447687On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:6940015792155Checked outChecked outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:6940015447705On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:6940015447700On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:6940015447696On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:6940016872167On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:6940015792157Checked OutIn Transitfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:6940015447697On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:6940015447680On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:6940015447686Checked outChecked outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:6940016228256Checked OutIn Transitfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue
overdrive:111ee83d-e71a-4f07-a403-c8ae0cf2beb4-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
subject_facetFICTION / Contemporary Women
FICTION / Literary
FICTION / Sagas
title_displayThe dress shop of dreams : a novel
title_fullThe Dress Shop of Dreams A Novel
The dress shop of dreams : a novel / Menna van Praag
title_shortThe dress shop of dreams
title_suba novel
topic_facetFICTION / Contemporary Women
FICTION / Literary
FICTION / Sagas
Fiction