The Waking Dark
(Adobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive Read)

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(2)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Lexile measure:
870L
Status:
Available from OverDrive
More Details
Published:
Random House Children's Books 2013
Format:
Adobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive Read
Street Date:
09/10/2013
Language:
English
ISBN:
9780375899621
ASIN:
B00BVJG2OM
Accelerated Reader:
UG
Level 5.8, 19 Points
Lexile measure:
870
Also in This Series
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Copy Details
LibraryOwnedAvailable
Shared Digital Collection22
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Robin Wasserman. (2013). The Waking Dark. Random House Children's Books.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Robin Wasserman. 2013. The Waking Dark. Random House Children's Books.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Robin Wasserman, The Waking Dark. Random House Children's Books, 2013.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Robin Wasserman. The Waking Dark. Random House Children's Books, 2013. Web.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
5b91a903-1e93-a79a-a7fe-b58af1ab6b85
Go To Grouped Work
Needs Update?:
No
Date Added:
Apr 23, 2014 15:47:30
Date Updated:
Nov 17, 2017 15:55:35
Last Metadata Check:
Apr 20, 2019 08:22:36
Last Metadata Change:
Mar 30, 2019 16:16:45
Last Availability Check:
Apr 20, 2019 08:22:36
Last Availability Change:
Apr 15, 2019 17:48:18

OverDrive Product Record

sortTitle
Waking Dark
crossRefId
1256325
images
    • cover:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-100/0111-1/{22D7EF7D-D2C5-45A5-92D9-3123553F33A4}Img100.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • thumbnail:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-200/0111-1/{22D7EF7D-D2C5-45A5-92D9-3123553F33A4}Img200.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover150Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-150/0111-1/22D/7EF/7D/{22D7EF7D-D2C5-45A5-92D9-3123553F33A4}Img150.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover300Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-400/0111-1/22D/7EF/7D/{22D7EF7D-D2C5-45A5-92D9-3123553F33A4}Img400.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
formats
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9780375899621
            • type: PublisherCatalogNumber
            • value: 208223
      • name: Adobe EPUB eBook
      • id: ebook-epub-adobe
      • identifiers:
            • type: ASIN
            • value: B00BVJG2OM
            • type: PublisherCatalogNumber
            • value: 208223
      • name: Kindle Book
      • id: ebook-kindle
      • identifiers:
            • type: PublisherCatalogNumber
            • value: 208223
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9780375899621
      • name: OverDrive Read
      • id: ebook-overdrive
mediaType
eBook
primaryCreator
    • role: Author
    • name: Robin Wasserman
id
22d7ef7d-d2c5-45a5-92d9-3123553f33a4
title
The Waking Dark
starRating
3.4
dateAdded
2013-09-20T12:41:00-04:00
contentDetails
      • href: https://link.overdrive.com/?websiteID=426&titleID=1256325
      • type: text/html
      • account:
          • name: Wake County Public Libraries (NC)
          • id: 1893

OverDrive MetaData

interestLevel
UG
isPublicDomain
False
formats
      • fileName: WakingDark9780375899621
      • partCount: 0
      • fileSize: 2719436
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9780375899621
            • type: PublisherCatalogNumber
            • value: 208223
      • rights:
            • type: Copying
            • value: 0
            • type: Printing
            • value: 0
            • type: Lending
            • value: 0
            • type: ReadAloud
            • value: 0
            • type: ExpirationRights
            • value: 0
      • name: Adobe EPUB eBook
      • id: ebook-epub-adobe
      • onSaleDate: 09/10/2013
      • samples:
            • source: From the book
            • formatType: ebook-overdrive
            • url: https://samples.overdrive.com/waking-dark-22d7ef?.epub-sample.overdrive.com
      • fileName: WakingDark9780375899621
      • partCount: 0
      • fileSize: 0
      • identifiers:
            • type: ASIN
            • value: B00BVJG2OM
            • type: PublisherCatalogNumber
            • value: 208223
      • name: Kindle Book
      • id: ebook-kindle
      • onSaleDate: 09/10/2013
      • samples:
            • source: From the book
            • formatType: ebook-overdrive
            • url: https://samples.overdrive.com/waking-dark-22d7ef?.epub-sample.overdrive.com
      • fileName: WakingDark9780375899621
      • partCount: 0
      • fileSize: 0
      • identifiers:
            • type: PublisherCatalogNumber
            • value: 208223
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9780375899621
      • name: OverDrive Read
      • id: ebook-overdrive
      • onSaleDate: 09/10/2013
      • samples:
            • source: From the book
            • formatType: ebook-overdrive
            • url: https://samples.overdrive.com/waking-dark-22d7ef?.epub-sample.overdrive.com
keywords
      • value: Halloween
      • value: teen books
      • value: Thrillers
      • value: suspense
      • value: Young Adult
      • value: Horror
      • value: Adventure
      • value: Thriller
      • value: survival
      • value: scary books
      • value: books for teens
      • value: thriller books
      • value: adventure books
      • value: horror novels
      • value: young adult books
      • value: ya books
      • value: horror books
      • value: books for teen girls
      • value: suspense books
      • value: tween books for girls ages 11-14
      • value: teen books for girls
      • value: teen girl books
      • value: books for 12 year old boys
      • value: teen boy books
      • value: teen fiction books
      • value: teen books for boys
      • value: books for 12 year old girls
      • value: books for 13 year old boys
      • value: books for 13 year old girls
      • value: books for 14 year old boys
creators
      • role: Author
      • fileAs: Wasserman, Robin
      • bioText:

        ROBIN WASSERMAN is the critically-acclaimed author of the Seven Deadly Sins series, Hacking Harvard, the Skinned trilogy, and The Book of Blood and Shadow. She lives in Brooklyn.

      • name: Robin Wasserman
imprint
Knopf Books for Young Readers
publishDate
2013-09-10T00:00:00-04:00
ATOS
5.8
isOwnedByCollections
True
title
The Waking Dark
fullDescription
The Waking Dark is "a horror story worthy of Stephen King" (Booklist) and "a book you won't soon forget" (Cassandra Clare, author of the Mortal Instruments series)—perfect for readers of Gillian Flynn and Rick Yancey.

They called it the killing day. Twelve people murdered, in the space of a few hours, their killers also all dead by their own hand . . . except one. And that one has no answers to offer the shattered town.

Something is waking in the sleepy town of Oleander, Kansas—something dark and hungry that lives in the flat earth and the open sky, in the vengeful hearts of its upstanding citizens. As the town begins a descent into blood and madness, five survivors of the killing day are the only ones who can stop Oleander from destroying itself.

They have nothing in common. They have nothing left to lose. And they have no way out. Which means they have no choice but to stand and fight, to face the darkness in their town—and in themselves.
"Suspense, chills, gasps—all that and a gem-like writing style that will make you shiver with beauty and horror. A book you won't soon forget." —Cassandra Clare, author of the bestselling Mortal Instruments series and Infernal Devices trilogy
"Twisted, pulse-pounding, shocking, and very, very scary. With The Waking Dark, Robin Wasserman conjures vintage Stephen King as she peers into the dark heart of a nightmare America, where violence and evil lurk behind the golden glow of small-town life, and new terrors arrive by the hour. A superb horror story that is by turns visceral and lyrical, heartrending and heart-stopping." —Libba Bray, bestselling author of the Gemma Doyle trilogy and the Diviners series

"This book has the combination of mystery and fright that I love. So many twists and shocks, I nearly jumped out of my chair several times! Trust me—this is a true chiller. Not to be missed!" —R. L. Stine

"A thriller dark and beautiful and—yes—achingly romantic at every unexpected twist and turn. Astounding." —Lauren Myracle, New York Times bestselling author of The Infinite Moment of Us and Bliss

"Wild, nihilistic madness that will get true horror fans raising their pitchforks and torches in frenzied glee. Wasserman writes as if hooked up to IVs of Stephen King and John Carpenter's spiked blood." —Daniel Kraus, author of Rotters and Scowler
"Great dialogue and intriguing subplots add to the action-packed story . . . the suspense doesn't let up until the final pages." —School Library Journal, Starred Review
From the Hardcover edition.
gradeLevels
      • value: Grade 4
      • value: Grade 5
popularity
344
links
    • self:
        • href: https://api.overdrive.com/v1/collections/L1BLQAAAA2a/products/22d7ef7d-d2c5-45a5-92d9-3123553f33a4/metadata
        • type: application/vnd.overdrive.api+json
id
22d7ef7d-d2c5-45a5-92d9-3123553f33a4
starRating
3.4
images
    • cover:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-100/0111-1/{22D7EF7D-D2C5-45A5-92D9-3123553F33A4}Img100.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • thumbnail:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-200/0111-1/{22D7EF7D-D2C5-45A5-92D9-3123553F33A4}Img200.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover150Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-150/0111-1/22D/7EF/7D/{22D7EF7D-D2C5-45A5-92D9-3123553F33A4}Img150.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover300Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-400/0111-1/22D/7EF/7D/{22D7EF7D-D2C5-45A5-92D9-3123553F33A4}Img400.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
isPublicPerformanceAllowed
False
languages
      • code: en
      • name: English
subjects
      • value: Horror
      • value: Thriller
      • value: Young Adult Fiction
      • value: Young Adult Literature
publishDateText
09/10/2013
mediaType
eBook
shortDescription

The Waking Dark is "a horror story worthy of Stephen King" (Booklist) and "a book you won't soon forget" (Cassandra Clare, author of the Mortal Instruments series)--perfect for readers of Gillian Flynn and Rick Yancey.

They called it the killing day. Twelve people murdered, in the space of a few hours, their killers also all dead by their own hand . . . except one. And that one has no answers to offer the shattered town.

Something is waking in the sleepy town of Oleander, Kansas--something dark and hungry that lives in the flat earth and the open sky, in the vengeful hearts of its upstanding citizens. As the town begins a descent into blood and madness, five survivors of the killing day are the only ones who can stop Oleander from destroying itself.

They have nothing in common. They have nothing left to lose. And they have no way out. Which means they have no choice but to stand and fight, to face the darkness in their...

sortTitle
Waking Dark
lexileScore
870
crossRefId
1256325
awards
      • source: Young Adult Library Services Association
      • value: Best Fiction for Young Adults
publisher
Random House Children's Books
Formats
Adobe EPUB eBook
Works on all eReaders (except Kindles), desktop computers and mobile devices with with reading apps installed.
Kindle Book
Works on Kindles and devices with a Kindle app installed.
Need Help?
If you are having problem using our eCollection, please visit our support center.