The Reader: The Reader Series, Book 1
(Adobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive Read)

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(3)
4 star
 
(1)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(1)
1 star
 
(0)
Author:
Series:
Lexile measure:
810L
Status:
Available from OverDrive
More Details
Published:
Penguin Young Readers Group 2016
Format:
Adobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive Read
Street Date:
09/13/2016
Language:
English
ISBN:
9780698410626
ASIN:
B00WDP82V4
Accelerated Reader:
UG
Level 5.7, 16 Points
Lexile measure:
810
Also in This Series
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Copy Details
LibraryOwnedAvailable
Shared Digital Collection21
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Traci Chee. (2016). The Reader: The Reader Series, Book 1. Penguin Young Readers Group.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Traci Chee. 2016. The Reader: The Reader Series, Book 1. Penguin Young Readers Group.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Traci Chee, The Reader: The Reader Series, Book 1. Penguin Young Readers Group, 2016.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Traci Chee. The Reader: The Reader Series, Book 1. Penguin Young Readers Group, 2016. Web.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
078e5c80-a748-25df-31ab-0e77090d180d
Go To Grouped Work
Needs Update?:
No
Date Added:
Nov 29, 2016 17:42:26
Date Updated:
May 14, 2021 00:39:18
Last Metadata Check:
Dec 05, 2021 07:58:54
Last Metadata Change:
Dec 05, 2021 07:58:54
Last Availability Check:
Dec 05, 2021 07:58:55
Last Availability Change:
Nov 24, 2021 23:27:20
Last Grouped Work Modification Time:
Dec 05, 2021 05:29:18

OverDrive Product Record

images
    • cover:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-100/1523-1/{31E117B1-D613-498B-9E63-01556DA6D6B8}Img100.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • thumbnail:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-200/1523-1/{31E117B1-D613-498B-9E63-01556DA6D6B8}Img200.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover150Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-150/1523-1/31E/117/B1/{31E117B1-D613-498B-9E63-01556DA6D6B8}Img150.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover300Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-400/1523-1/31E/117/B1/{31E117B1-D613-498B-9E63-01556DA6D6B8}Img400.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
formats
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9780698410626
      • name: Adobe EPUB eBook
      • id: ebook-epub-adobe
      • identifiers:
            • type: ASIN
            • value: B00WDP82V4
      • name: Kindle Book
      • id: ebook-kindle
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9780698410626
      • name: OverDrive Read
      • id: ebook-overdrive
mediaType
eBook
primaryCreator
    • role: Author
    • name: Traci Chee
title
The Reader
dateAdded
2016-11-29T13:22:00-05:00
contentDetails
      • href: https://link.overdrive.com/?websiteID=426&titleID=2192742
      • type: text/html
      • account:
          • name: Wake County Public Libraries (NC)
          • id: 1893
sortTitle
Reader The Reader Series Book 01
crossRefId
2192742
series
The Reader
subtitle
The Reader Series, Book 1
id
31e117b1-d613-498b-9e63-01556da6d6b8
starRating
3.9

OverDrive MetaData

interestLevel
UG
isPublicDomain
False
formats
      • fileName: TheReader_9780698410626_2192742
      • partCount: 0
      • fileSize: 6642568
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9780698410626
      • rights:
            • type: Copying
            • value: 0
            • type: Printing
            • value: 0
            • type: Lending
            • value: 0
            • type: ReadAloud
            • value: 0
            • type: ExpirationRights
            • value: 0
      • name: Adobe EPUB eBook
      • id: ebook-epub-adobe
      • onSaleDate: 09/13/2016
      • samples:
            • source: From the book
            • formatType: ebook-overdrive
            • url: https://samples.overdrive.com/?crid=31e117b1-d613-498b-9e63-01556da6d6b8&.epub-sample.overdrive.com
      • fileName: TheReader_2192742
      • partCount: 0
      • fileSize: 0
      • identifiers:
            • type: ASIN
            • value: B00WDP82V4
      • name: Kindle Book
      • id: ebook-kindle
      • onSaleDate: 09/13/2016
      • samples:
            • source: From the book
            • formatType: ebook-overdrive
            • url: https://samples.overdrive.com/?crid=31e117b1-d613-498b-9e63-01556da6d6b8&.epub-sample.overdrive.com
      • fileName: TheReader_9780698410626_2192742
      • partCount: 0
      • fileSize: 4375756
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9780698410626
      • name: OverDrive Read
      • id: ebook-overdrive
      • onSaleDate: 09/13/2016
      • samples:
            • source: From the book
            • formatType: ebook-overdrive
            • url: https://samples.overdrive.com/?crid=31e117b1-d613-498b-9e63-01556da6d6b8&.epub-sample.overdrive.com
keywords
      • value: romance
      • value: Diversity
      • value: teen books
      • value: quest
      • value: Thrillers
      • value: Asian
      • value: Adventure
      • value: trilogy
      • value: Magic
      • value: pirate
      • value: reader
      • value: human trafficking
      • value: Assassins
      • value: fantasy
      • value: books for teens
      • value: thriller books
      • value: mystery books
      • value: adventure books
      • value: young adult books
      • value: fantasy books
      • value: ya books
      • value: books fantasy
      • value: fantasy books for adults
      • value: books for teen girls
      • value: tween books for girls ages 11-14
      • value: books for 12 year old boys
      • value: teen fiction books
      • value: teen books for boys
      • value: books for 12 year old girls
      • value: books for 13 year old boys
      • value: books for 13 year old girls
      • value: books for 14 year old girls
creators
      • role: Author
      • fileAs: Chee, Traci
      • name: Traci Chee
imprint
G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers
publishDate
2016-09-13T05:00:00+01:00
ATOS
5.7
isOwnedByCollections
True
title
The Reader
fullDescription

Instant New York Times Bestseller
A stunning debut set in a world where reading is unheard-of, perfect for fans of Inkheart and Shadow and Bone

Sefia knows what it means to survive. After her father is brutally murdered, she flees into the wilderness with her aunt Nin, who teaches her to hunt, track, and steal. But when Nin is kidnapped, leaving Sefia completely alone, none of her survival skills can help her discover where Nin's been taken, or if she's even alive. The only clue to both her aunt's disappearance and her father's murder is the odd rectangular object her father left behind, an object she comes to realize is a book—a marvelous item unheard of in her otherwise illiterate society. With the help of this book, and the aid of a mysterious stranger with dark secrets of his own, Sefia sets out to rescue her aunt and find out what really happened the day her father was killed—and punish the people responsible.
With overlapping stories of swashbuckling pirates and merciless assassins, The Reader is a brilliantly told adventure from an extraordinary new talent.


From the Hardcover edition.
gradeLevels
      • value: Grade 3
      • value: Grade 4
popularity
1116
links
    • self:
        • href: https://api.overdrive.com/v1/collections/L1BLQAAAA2a/products/31e117b1-d613-498b-9e63-01556da6d6b8/metadata
        • type: application/vnd.overdrive.api+json
id
31e117b1-d613-498b-9e63-01556da6d6b8
starRating
3.9
images
    • cover:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-100/1523-1/{31E117B1-D613-498B-9E63-01556DA6D6B8}Img100.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • thumbnail:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-200/1523-1/{31E117B1-D613-498B-9E63-01556DA6D6B8}Img200.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover150Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-150/1523-1/31E/117/B1/{31E117B1-D613-498B-9E63-01556DA6D6B8}Img150.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover300Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-400/1523-1/31E/117/B1/{31E117B1-D613-498B-9E63-01556DA6D6B8}Img400.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
isPublicPerformanceAllowed
False
languages
      • code: en
      • name: English
subjects
      • value: Fantasy
      • value: Mystery
      • value: Young Adult Fiction
      • value: Young Adult Literature
publishDateText
09/13/2016
mediaType
eBook
shortDescription

Instant New York Times Bestseller

A stunning debut set in a world where reading is unheard-of, perfect for fans of Inkheart and Shadow and Bone

Sefia knows what it means to survive. After her father is brutally murdered, she flees into the wilderness with her aunt Nin, who teaches her to hunt, track, and steal. But when Nin is kidnapped, leaving Sefia completely alone, none of her survival skills can help her discover where Nin’s been taken, or if she’s even alive. The only clue to both her aunt’s disappearance and her father’s murder is the odd rectangular object her father left behind, an object she comes to realize is a book—a marvelous item unheard of in her otherwise illiterate society. With the help of this book, and the aid of a mysterious stranger with dark secrets of his own, Sefia sets out to rescue her aunt and find out what really happened the day her father was killed—and punish...

sortTitle
Reader The Reader Series Book 01
lexileScore
810
crossRefId
2192742
series
The Reader
awards
      • source: Romantic Times BOOKreviews Magazine
      • value: Romantic Times Reviewers' Choice Award Nominee - Best Book
      • source: Young Adult Library Services Association
      • value: Best Fiction for Young Adults
subtitle
The Reader Series, Book 1
publisher
Penguin Young Readers Group
Formats
Adobe EPUB eBook
Works on all eReaders (except Kindles), desktop computers and mobile devices with reading apps installed.
Kindle Book
Works on Kindles and devices with a Kindle app installed.
Need Help?
If you are having problem using our eCollection, please visit our support center.