When Breath Becomes Air
(OverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive Listen)

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(29)
4 star
 
(20)
3 star
 
(16)
2 star
 
(6)
1 star
 
(2)
Status:
Checked Out
More Details
Published:
Penguin Random House Audio Publishing Group 2016
Format:
OverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive Listen
Edition:
Unabridged
Street Date:
01/12/2016
Language:
English
ISBN:
9780399566196
Also in This Series
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Copy Details
LibraryOwnedAvailable
Shared Digital Collection100

There are 5 holds on this title.

Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Paul Kalanithi. (2016). When Breath Becomes Air. Unabridged Penguin Random House Audio Publishing Group.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Paul Kalanithi. 2016. When Breath Becomes Air. Penguin Random House Audio Publishing Group.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Paul Kalanithi, When Breath Becomes Air. Penguin Random House Audio Publishing Group, 2016.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Paul Kalanithi. When Breath Becomes Air. Unabridged Penguin Random House Audio Publishing Group, 2016.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
0de9d167-daea-69eb-c75c-af625c9205a6
Go To Grouped Work
Needs Update?:
No
Date Added:
Feb 22, 2016 19:43:13
Date Updated:
Nov 15, 2017 23:41:20
Last Metadata Check:
Oct 22, 2019 18:02:28
Last Metadata Change:
Oct 20, 2019 10:02:29
Last Availability Check:
Oct 22, 2019 18:02:29
Last Availability Change:
Oct 22, 2019 17:31:57
Last Grouped Work Modification Time:
Oct 22, 2019 13:48:34

OverDrive Product Record

sortTitle
When Breath Becomes Air
crossRefId
2246786
images
    • cover:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-100/1191-1/{3FA2B0AC-6949-4BE7-9085-49A1FA1CDC13}Img100.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • thumbnail:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-200/1191-1/{3FA2B0AC-6949-4BE7-9085-49A1FA1CDC13}Img200.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover150Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-150/1191-1/3FA/2B0/AC/{3FA2B0AC-6949-4BE7-9085-49A1FA1CDC13}Img150.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover300Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-400/1191-1/3FA/2B0/AC/{3FA2B0AC-6949-4BE7-9085-49A1FA1CDC13}Img400.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
formats
      • identifiers:
            • type: 8
            • value: penguinrandomhouse_audio#9780399566172
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9780399566196
      • name: OverDrive MP3 Audiobook
      • id: audiobook-mp3
      • identifiers:
            • type: 8
            • value: penguinrandomhouse_audio#9780399566172
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9780399566196
      • name: OverDrive Listen
      • id: audiobook-overdrive
mediaType
Audiobook
primaryCreator
    • role: Author
    • name: Paul Kalanithi
id
3fa2b0ac-6949-4be7-9085-49a1fa1cdc13
title
When Breath Becomes Air
starRating
4.3
dateAdded
2016-02-22T16:26:00-05:00
contentDetails
      • href: https://link.overdrive.com/?websiteID=426&titleID=2246786
      • type: text/html
      • account:
          • name: Wake County Public Libraries (NC)
          • id: 1893

OverDrive MetaData

isPublicDomain
False
images
    • cover:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-100/1191-1/{3FA2B0AC-6949-4BE7-9085-49A1FA1CDC13}Img100.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • thumbnail:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-200/1191-1/{3FA2B0AC-6949-4BE7-9085-49A1FA1CDC13}Img200.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover150Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-150/1191-1/3FA/2B0/AC/{3FA2B0AC-6949-4BE7-9085-49A1FA1CDC13}Img150.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover300Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-400/1191-1/3FA/2B0/AC/{3FA2B0AC-6949-4BE7-9085-49A1FA1CDC13}Img400.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
isPublicPerformanceAllowed
False
formats
      • fileName: WhenBreathBecomesAir-61924
      • partCount: 5
      • fileSize: 161186034
      • identifiers:
            • audience: retailer
            • type: 8
            • value: penguinrandomhouse_audio#9780399566172
            • audience: library
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9780399566196
      • rights:
            • type: PlayOnPC
            • value: 1
            • type: PlayOnPCCount
            • value: -1
            • type: BurnToCD
            • value: 1
            • type: BurnToCDCount
            • value: -1
            • type: PlayOnPM
            • value: 1
            • type: TransferToSDMI
            • value: 1
            • type: TransferToNonSDMI
            • value: 1
            • type: TransferCount
            • value: -1
            • type: CollaborativePlay
            • value: 0
            • type: PublicPerformance
            • value: 0
            • type: TranscodeToAAC
            • value: 1
      • name: OverDrive MP3 Audiobook
      • id: audiobook-mp3
      • onSaleDate: 01/12/2016
      • samples:
            • source: Part 1
            • formatType: audiobook-mp3
            • url: https://excerpts.cdn.overdrive.com/FormatType-425/1191-1/2246786-WhenBreathBecomesAir.mp3
            • source: From the book
            • formatType: audiobook-overdrive
            • url: https://samples.overdrive.com/?crid=3fa2b0ac-6949-4be7-9085-49a1fa1cdc13&.epub-sample.overdrive.com
      • fileName: WhenBreathBecomesAir-61924
      • partCount: 0
      • fileSize: 161046359
      • identifiers:
            • audience: retailer
            • type: 8
            • value: penguinrandomhouse_audio#9780399566172
            • audience: library
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9780399566196
      • name: OverDrive Listen
      • id: audiobook-overdrive
      • onSaleDate: 01/12/2016
      • samples:
            • source: Part 1
            • formatType: audiobook-mp3
            • url: https://excerpts.cdn.overdrive.com/FormatType-425/1191-1/2246786-WhenBreathBecomesAir.mp3
            • source: From the book
            • formatType: audiobook-overdrive
            • url: https://samples.overdrive.com/?crid=3fa2b0ac-6949-4be7-9085-49a1fa1cdc13&.epub-sample.overdrive.com
languages
      • code: en
      • name: English
creators
      • role: Author
      • fileAs: Kalanithi, Paul
      • bioText: Paul Kalanithi was a neurosurgeon and writer. He grew up in Kingman, Arizona, and graduated from Stanford University with a BA and MA in English literature and a BA in human biology. He earned an MPhil in history and philosophy of science and medicine from the University of Cambridge and graduated cum laude from the Yale School of Medicine, where he was inducted into the Alpha Omega Alpha national medical honor society. He returned to Stanford to complete his residency training in neurological surgery and a postdoctoral fellowship in neuroscience, during which he received the American Academy of Neurological Surgery's highest award for research. He died in March 2015. He is survived by his large, loving family, including his wife, Lucy, and their daughter, Elizabeth Acadia.
      • name: Paul Kalanithi
      • role: Author of introduction, etc.
      • fileAs: Verghese, Abraham
      • name: Abraham Verghese
      • role: Narrator
      • fileAs: Malhotra, Sunil
      • name: Sunil Malhotra
      • role: Narrator
      • fileAs: Campbell, Cassandra
      • name: Cassandra Campbell
imprint
Random House Audio
subjects
      • value: Biography & Autobiography
      • value: Philosophy
      • value: Sociology
      • value: Nonfiction
publishDate
2016-01-12T00:00:00-05:00
edition
Unabridged
publishDateText
01/12/2016
mediaType
Audiobook
shortDescription
#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER
  • PULITZER PRIZE FINALIST • For readers of Atul Gawande, Andrew Solomon, and Anne Lamott, this inspiring, exquisitely observed memoir finds hope and beauty in the face of insurmountable odds as an idealistic young neurosurgeon attempts to answer the question What makes a life worth living?
    NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY
    The New York Times Book Review • People
  • NPR • The Washington Post • Slate • Harper's Bazaar • Esquire • Time Out New York • Publishers Weekly • BookPage
    Finalist for the PEN Center USA Literary Award in Creative Nonfiction and the Books for a Better Life Award in Inspirational Memoir
    At the age of thirty-six, on the verge of completing a decade's worth of training as a neurosurgeon, Paul Kalanithi was diagnosed with stage IV lung cancer. One day he was a doctor treating the dying, and...
  • isOwnedByCollections
    True
    title
    When Breath Becomes Air
    fullDescription
    #1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER
  • PULITZER PRIZE FINALIST
  • This inspiring, exquisitely observed memoir finds hope and beauty in the face of insurmountable odds as an idealistic young neurosurgeon attempts to answer the question What makes a life worth living?
    NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY
    The New York Times Book Review • People
  • NPR • The Washington Post • Slate • Harper's Bazaar
  • Time Out New York • Publishers Weekly • BookPage
    Finalist for the PEN Center USA Literary Award in Creative Nonfiction and the Books for a Better Life Award in Inspirational Memoir
    At the age of thirty-six, on the verge of completing a decade's worth of training as a neurosurgeon, Paul Kalanithi was diagnosed with stage IV lung cancer. One day he was a doctor treating the dying, and the next he was a patient struggling to live. And just like that, the future he and his wife had imagined evaporated. When Breath Becomes Air chronicles Kalanithi's transformation from a naïve medical student "possessed," as he wrote, "by the question of what, given that all organisms die, makes a virtuous and meaningful life" into a neurosurgeon at Stanford working in the brain, the most critical place for human identity, and finally into a patient and new father confronting his own mortality.
    What makes life worth living in the face of death? What do you do when the future, no longer a ladder toward your goals in life, flattens out into a perpetual present? What does it mean to have a child, to nurture a new life as another fades away? These are some of the questions Kalanithi wrestles with in this profoundly moving, exquisitely observed memoir.
    Paul Kalanithi died in March 2015, while working on this book, yet his words live on as a guide and a gift to us all. "I began to realize that coming face to face with my own mortality, in a sense, had changed nothing and everything," he wrote. "Seven words from Samuel Beckett began to repeat in my head: 'I can't go on. I'll go on.'" When Breath Becomes Air is an unforgettable, life-affirming reflection on the challenge of facing death and on the relationship between doctor and patient, from a brilliant writer who became both.
  • sortTitle
    When Breath Becomes Air
    crossRefId
    2246786
    awards
        • source: Columbia University
        • value: Pulitzer Prize Finalist
        • source: Library Journal
        • value: Best Audio Books
        • source: Audio Publishers Association
        • value: Audie Award Nominee
    popularity
    25062
    publisher
    Penguin Random House Audio Publishing Group
    links
      • self:
          • href: https://api.overdrive.com/v1/collections/L1BLQAAAA2a/products/3fa2b0ac-6949-4be7-9085-49a1fa1cdc13/metadata
          • type: application/vnd.overdrive.api+json
    id
    3fa2b0ac-6949-4be7-9085-49a1fa1cdc13
    starRating
    4.3
    Formats
    OverDrive MP3 Audiobook
    Works on MP3 Players, PCs, and Macs. Some mobile devices may require an application to be installed.
    Need Help?
    If you are having problem using our eCollection, please visit our support center.