Clayton Byrd Goes Underground
(OverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive Listen)

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(3)
4 star
 
(1)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Lexile measure:
720L
Status:
Available from OverDrive
More Details
Published:
Quill Tree Books 2017
Format:
OverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive Listen
Edition:
Unabridged
Street Date:
05/09/2017
Language:
English
ISBN:
9780062682581
Accelerated Reader:
MG
Level 4.4, 4 Points
Lexile measure:
720
Also in This Series
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Copy Details
LibraryOwnedAvailable
Shared Digital Collection22
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Rita Williams-Garcia. (2017). Clayton Byrd Goes Underground. Unabridged Quill Tree Books.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Rita Williams-Garcia. 2017. Clayton Byrd Goes Underground. Quill Tree Books.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Rita Williams-Garcia, Clayton Byrd Goes Underground. Quill Tree Books, 2017.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Rita Williams-Garcia. Clayton Byrd Goes Underground. Unabridged Quill Tree Books, 2017.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
fae0521b-ff10-caf8-fc9f-2b812e06625a
Go To Grouped Work
Needs Update?:
No
Date Added:
May 17, 2017 00:23:55
Date Updated:
Nov 15, 2017 23:58:26
Last Metadata Check:
Nov 28, 2021 07:37:40
Last Metadata Change:
Nov 28, 2021 07:37:40
Last Availability Check:
Nov 28, 2021 07:37:41
Last Availability Change:
Nov 10, 2021 07:43:39
Last Grouped Work Modification Time:
Dec 02, 2021 05:22:53

OverDrive Product Record

sortTitle
Clayton Byrd Goes Underground
crossRefId
3022352
images
    • cover:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-100/0293-1/{515DF009-27E5-4436-AF6D-29297F713709}Img100.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • thumbnail:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-200/0293-1/{515DF009-27E5-4436-AF6D-29297F713709}Img200.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover150Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-150/0293-1/515/DF0/09/{515DF009-27E5-4436-AF6D-29297F713709}Img150.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover300Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-400/0293-1/515/DF0/09/{515DF009-27E5-4436-AF6D-29297F713709}Img400.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
formats
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9780062682581
      • name: OverDrive MP3 Audiobook
      • id: audiobook-mp3
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9780062682581
      • name: OverDrive Listen
      • id: audiobook-overdrive
mediaType
Audiobook
primaryCreator
    • role: Author
    • name: Rita Williams-Garcia
id
515df009-27e5-4436-af6d-29297f713709
title
Clayton Byrd Goes Underground
starRating
3.8
dateAdded
2017-05-02T14:28:00-04:00
contentDetails
      • href: https://link.overdrive.com/?websiteID=426&titleID=3022352
      • type: text/html
      • account:
          • name: Wake County Public Libraries (NC)
          • id: 1893

OverDrive MetaData

interestLevel
MG
isPublicDomain
False
formats
      • fileName: ClaytonByrdGoesUnderground-5521
      • partCount: 4
      • fileSize: 107952596
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9780062682581
      • rights:
            • type: PlayOnPC
            • value: 1
            • type: PlayOnPCCount
            • value: -1
            • type: BurnToCD
            • value: 1
            • type: BurnToCDCount
            • value: -1
            • type: PlayOnPM
            • value: 1
            • type: TransferToSDMI
            • value: 1
            • type: TransferToNonSDMI
            • value: 1
            • type: TransferCount
            • value: -1
            • type: CollaborativePlay
            • value: 0
            • type: PublicPerformance
            • value: 0
            • type: TranscodeToAAC
            • value: 1
      • name: OverDrive MP3 Audiobook
      • id: audiobook-mp3
      • onSaleDate: 05/09/2017
      • samples:
            • source: Part 1
            • formatType: audiobook-mp3
            • url: https://excerpts.cdn.overdrive.com/FormatType-425/0293-1/3022352-ClaytonByrdGoesUnderground.mp3
            • source: From the book
            • formatType: audiobook-overdrive
            • url: https://samples.overdrive.com/?crid=515df009-27e5-4436-af6d-29297f713709&.epub-sample.overdrive.com
      • fileName: ClaytonByrdGoesUnderground-5521
      • partCount: 0
      • fileSize: 107939420
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9780062682581
      • name: OverDrive Listen
      • id: audiobook-overdrive
      • onSaleDate: 05/09/2017
      • samples:
            • source: Part 1
            • formatType: audiobook-mp3
            • url: https://excerpts.cdn.overdrive.com/FormatType-425/0293-1/3022352-ClaytonByrdGoesUnderground.mp3
            • source: From the book
            • formatType: audiobook-overdrive
            • url: https://samples.overdrive.com/?crid=515df009-27e5-4436-af6d-29297f713709&.epub-sample.overdrive.com
creators
      • role: Author
      • fileAs: Williams-Garcia, Rita
      • bioText:

        Rita Williams-Garcia's Newbery Honor-winning novel, One Crazy Summer, was a winner of the Coretta Scott King Award, a National Book Award finalist, the recipient of the Scott O'Dell Award for Historical Fiction, and a New York Times bestseller. The sequel, P.S. Be Eleven, was also a Coretta Scott King Award winner and an ALA Notable Children's Book for Middle Readers. She is also the author of six distinguished novels for young adults: Jumped, a National Book Award finalist; No Laughter Here, Every Time a Rainbow Dies (a Publishers Weekly Best Children's Book), and Fast Talk on a Slow Track (all ALA Best Books for Young Adults); Blue Tights; and Like Sisters on the Homefront, a Coretta Scott King Honor Book. Rita Williams-Garcia lives in Jamaica, New York, is on the faculty at the Vermont College of Fine Arts in the Writing for Children & Young Adults Program, and has two adult daughters, Stephanie and Michelle, and a son-in-law, Adam.

      • name: Rita Williams-Garcia
      • role: Narrator
      • fileAs: Lazarre-White, Adam
      • name: Adam Lazarre-White
publishDate
2017-05-09T05:00:00+01:00
edition
Unabridged
ATOS
4.4
isOwnedByCollections
True
title
Clayton Byrd Goes Underground
fullDescription

National Book Award Finalist * Kirkus Best Books of 2017 * Horn Book Best Books of 2017 * Publishers Weekly Best Books of 2017 * School Library Journal Best Books of 2017 * NAACP Image Awards Nominee * Chicago Public Library Best Books * Boston Globe Best Books of 2017

From beloved Newbery Honor winner and three-time Coretta Scott King Award winner Rita Williams-Garcia comes a powerful and heartfelt novel about loss, family, and love that will appeal to fans of Jason Reynolds and Kwame Alexander.

Clayton feels most alive when he's with his grandfather, Cool Papa Byrd, and the band of Bluesmen—he can't wait to join them, just as soon as he has a blues song of his own. But then the unthinkable happens. Cool Papa Byrd dies, and Clayton's mother forbids Clayton from playing the blues. And Clayton knows that's no way to live.

Armed with his grandfather's brown porkpie hat and his harmonica, he runs away from home in search of the Bluesmen, hoping he can join them on the road. But on the journey that takes him through the New York City subways and to Washington Square Park, Clayton learns some things that surprise him.

"This slim novel strikes a strong chord."—Publishers Weekly (starred review)

"This complex tale of family and forgiveness has heart." —School Library Journal (starred review)

"Strong characterizations and vivid musical scenes add layers to this warm family story." —Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

"An appealing, realistic story with frequent elegant turns of phrase." —The Horn Book (starred review)

"Garcia-Williams skillfully finds melody in words." —Booklist (starred review)

gradeLevels
      • value: Grade 3
popularity
667
links
    • self:
        • href: https://api.overdrive.com/v1/collections/L1BLQAAAA2a/products/515df009-27e5-4436-af6d-29297f713709/metadata
        • type: application/vnd.overdrive.api+json
id
515df009-27e5-4436-af6d-29297f713709
starRating
3.9
images
    • cover:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-100/0293-1/{515DF009-27E5-4436-AF6D-29297F713709}Img100.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • thumbnail:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-200/0293-1/{515DF009-27E5-4436-AF6D-29297F713709}Img200.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover150Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-150/0293-1/515/DF0/09/{515DF009-27E5-4436-AF6D-29297F713709}Img150.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover300Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-400/0293-1/515/DF0/09/{515DF009-27E5-4436-AF6D-29297F713709}Img400.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
isPublicPerformanceAllowed
False
languages
      • code: en
      • name: English
subjects
      • value: Juvenile Fiction
      • value: Juvenile Literature
publishDateText
05/09/2017
mediaType
Audiobook
shortDescription

National Book Award Finalist * Kirkus Best Books of 2017 * Horn Book Best Books of 2017 * Publishers Weekly Best Books of 2017 * School Library Journal Best Books of 2017 * NAACP Image Awards Nominee * Chicago Public Library Best Books

From beloved Newbery Honor winner and three-time Coretta Scott King Award winner Rita Williams-Garcia comes a powerful and heartfelt novel about loss, family, and love that will appeal to fans of Jason Reynolds and Kwame Alexander.

Clayton feels most alive when he's with his grandfather, Cool Papa Byrd, and the band of Bluesmen—he can't wait to join them, just as soon as he has a blues song of his own. But then the unthinkable happens. Cool Papa Byrd dies, and Clayton's mother forbids Clayton from playing the blues. And Clayton knows that's no way to live.

Armed with his grandfather's brown porkpie hat and his harmonica, he runs away from home in search of the Bluesmen, hoping he can join...

sortTitle
Clayton Byrd Goes Underground
lexileScore
720
crossRefId
3022352
awards
      • source: National Book Foundation
      • value: National Book Award Finalist
      • source: Association for Library Service to Children
      • value: Notable Children's Books
      • source: International Reading Association & The Children's Book Council
      • value: Children's Choices Selection
publisher
Quill Tree Books
Formats
OverDrive MP3 Audiobook
Works on MP3 Players, PCs, and Macs. Some mobile devices may require an application to be installed.
Need Help?
If you are having problem using our eCollection, please visit our support center.