Libraries are closed until further notice.
We are now offering contactless pickup and return at select locations with Books on the Go!

Some notices were not sent. Check your account for due dates (but we are still fine free)!

Marcus Vega Doesn't Speak Spanish
(OverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive Listen)

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(0)
4 star
 
(1)
3 star
 
(1)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Lexile measure:
HL: High-Low 580L
Status:
Checked Out
More Details
Published:
Penguin Random House Audio Publishing Group 2018
Format:
OverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive Listen
Edition:
Unabridged
Street Date:
08/21/2018
Language:
English
ISBN:
9780525625582
Accelerated Reader:
MG
Level 3.9, 6 Points
Lexile code:
HL: High-Low
Lexile measure:
580
Also in This Series
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Copy Details
LibraryOwnedAvailable
Shared Digital Collection20
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Pablo Cartaya. (2018). Marcus Vega Doesn't Speak Spanish. Unabridged Penguin Random House Audio Publishing Group.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Pablo Cartaya. 2018. Marcus Vega Doesn't Speak Spanish. Penguin Random House Audio Publishing Group.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Pablo Cartaya, Marcus Vega Doesn't Speak Spanish. Penguin Random House Audio Publishing Group, 2018.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Pablo Cartaya. Marcus Vega Doesn't Speak Spanish. Unabridged Penguin Random House Audio Publishing Group, 2018.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
155f49e7-3724-e422-710c-b0f71281333d
Go To Grouped Work
Needs Update?:
No
Date Added:
Aug 17, 2018 17:24:27
Date Updated:
Aug 17, 2018 17:24:27
Last Metadata Check:
Oct 26, 2020 12:54:08
Last Metadata Change:
Oct 24, 2020 16:16:14
Last Availability Check:
Oct 26, 2020 12:54:08
Last Availability Change:
Oct 26, 2020 12:19:18
Last Grouped Work Modification Time:
Oct 26, 2020 07:30:42

OverDrive Product Record

sortTitle
Marcus Vega Doesnt Speak Spanish
crossRefId
3668908
images
    • cover:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-100/1191-1/{6E9EDF11-1E4A-45D7-ACB9-5A1AE1DEEF85}Img100.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • thumbnail:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-200/1191-1/{6E9EDF11-1E4A-45D7-ACB9-5A1AE1DEEF85}Img200.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover150Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-150/1191-1/6E9/EDF/11/{6E9EDF11-1E4A-45D7-ACB9-5A1AE1DEEF85}Img150.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover300Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-400/1191-1/6E9/EDF/11/{6E9EDF11-1E4A-45D7-ACB9-5A1AE1DEEF85}Img400.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
formats
      • identifiers:
            • type: 8
            • value: penguinrandomhouse_audio#9780525625568
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9780525625582
      • name: OverDrive MP3 Audiobook
      • id: audiobook-mp3
      • identifiers:
            • type: 8
            • value: penguinrandomhouse_audio#9780525625568
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9780525625582
      • name: OverDrive Listen
      • id: audiobook-overdrive
mediaType
Audiobook
primaryCreator
    • role: Author
    • name: Pablo Cartaya
id
6e9edf11-1e4a-45d7-acb9-5a1ae1deef85
title
Marcus Vega Doesn't Speak Spanish
starRating
0
dateAdded
2018-08-17T16:19:00-04:00
contentDetails
      • href: https://link.overdrive.com/?websiteID=426&titleID=3668908
      • type: text/html
      • account:
          • name: Wake County Public Libraries (NC)
          • id: 1893

OverDrive MetaData

isPublicDomain
False
images
    • cover:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-100/1191-1/{6E9EDF11-1E4A-45D7-ACB9-5A1AE1DEEF85}Img100.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • thumbnail:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-200/1191-1/{6E9EDF11-1E4A-45D7-ACB9-5A1AE1DEEF85}Img200.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover150Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-150/1191-1/6E9/EDF/11/{6E9EDF11-1E4A-45D7-ACB9-5A1AE1DEEF85}Img150.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover300Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-400/1191-1/6E9/EDF/11/{6E9EDF11-1E4A-45D7-ACB9-5A1AE1DEEF85}Img400.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
isPublicPerformanceAllowed
False
formats
      • fileName: MarcusVegaDoesntSpeakSpanish-65114
      • partCount: 4
      • fileSize: 132340428
      • identifiers:
            • audience: retailer
            • type: 8
            • value: penguinrandomhouse_audio#9780525625568
            • audience: library
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9780525625582
      • rights:
            • type: PlayOnPC
            • value: 1
            • type: PlayOnPCCount
            • value: -1
            • type: BurnToCD
            • value: 1
            • type: BurnToCDCount
            • value: -1
            • type: PlayOnPM
            • value: 1
            • type: TransferToSDMI
            • value: 1
            • type: TransferToNonSDMI
            • value: 1
            • type: TransferCount
            • value: -1
            • type: CollaborativePlay
            • value: 0
            • type: PublicPerformance
            • value: 0
            • type: TranscodeToAAC
            • value: 1
      • name: OverDrive MP3 Audiobook
      • id: audiobook-mp3
      • onSaleDate: 08/21/2018
      • samples:
            • source: Part 1
            • formatType: audiobook-mp3
            • url: https://excerpts.cdn.overdrive.com/FormatType-425/1191-1/3668908-MarcusVegaDoesn'tSpeakSpanish.mp3
            • source: From the book
            • formatType: audiobook-overdrive
            • url: https://samples.overdrive.com/?crid=6e9edf11-1e4a-45d7-acb9-5a1ae1deef85&.epub-sample.overdrive.com
      • fileName: MarcusVegaDoesntSpeakSpanish-65114
      • partCount: 0
      • fileSize: 132321487
      • identifiers:
            • audience: retailer
            • type: 8
            • value: penguinrandomhouse_audio#9780525625568
            • audience: library
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9780525625582
      • name: OverDrive Listen
      • id: audiobook-overdrive
      • onSaleDate: 08/21/2018
      • samples:
            • source: Part 1
            • formatType: audiobook-mp3
            • url: https://excerpts.cdn.overdrive.com/FormatType-425/1191-1/3668908-MarcusVegaDoesn'tSpeakSpanish.mp3
            • source: From the book
            • formatType: audiobook-overdrive
            • url: https://samples.overdrive.com/?crid=6e9edf11-1e4a-45d7-acb9-5a1ae1deef85&.epub-sample.overdrive.com
languages
      • code: en
      • name: English
creators
      • role: Author
      • fileAs: Cartaya, Pablo
      • bioText: PABLO CARTAYA currently serves as lead faculty at Sierra Nevada College's low residency MFA program for Writing for Children and Young Adults. He writes stories that reflect his family, culture, and love of words. Pablo lives in Miami with his wife and two kids. Learn more about Pablo at pablocartaya.com.
      • name: Pablo Cartaya
      • role: Narrator
      • fileAs: Cartaya, Pablo
      • bioText: PABLO CARTAYA currently serves as lead faculty at Sierra Nevada College's low residency MFA program for Writing for Children and Young Adults. He writes stories that reflect his family, culture, and love of words. Pablo lives in Miami with his wife and two kids. Learn more about Pablo at pablocartaya.com.
      • name: Pablo Cartaya
imprint
Listening Library (Audio)
subjects
      • value: Juvenile Fiction
      • value: Juvenile Literature
publishDate
2018-08-21T00:00:00-04:00
edition
Unabridged
publishDateText
08/21/2018
mediaType
Audiobook
shortDescription
One boy's search for his father leads him to Puerto Rico where he discovers the true meaning of family in this moving novel, for fans of Ghost and See You in the Cosmos.
Marcus Vega is six feet tall, 180 pounds, and the owner of a premature mustache. When you look like this and you're only in the eighth grade, you're both a threat and a target. Facing suspension after a fight, Marcus knows that all classmates and teachers see when they look at him is a monster.
     But appearances are deceiving. The real Marcus is a devoted brother; he spends every evening caring for his younger brother, Charlie, who has Down syndrome. He also runs several businesses at school to add spare cash to the family's rainy day fund. Mom works long hours as a flight attendant and Dad walked out ten years ago—someone has to pick up the slack.
     After the fight, Marcus's mom decides the family...
isOwnedByCollections
True
title
Marcus Vega Doesn't Speak Spanish
fullDescription
One boy's search for his father leads him to Puerto Rico in this moving middle grade novel, for fans of Ghost and See You in the Cosmos.
Marcus Vega is six feet tall, 180 pounds, and the owner of a premature mustache. When you look like this and you're only in the eighth grade, you're both a threat and a target.
After a fight at school leaves Marcus facing suspension, Marcus's mom decides it's time for a change of environment. She takes Marcus and his younger brother to Puerto Rico to spend a week with relatives they don't remember or have never met. But Marcus can't focus knowing that his father—who walked out of their lives ten years ago—is somewhere on the island.
So begins Marcus's incredible journey, a series of misadventures that take him all over Puerto Rico in search of his elusive namesake. Marcus doesn't know if he'll ever find his father, but what he ultimately discovers changes his life. And he even learns a bit of Spanish along the way.
sortTitle
Marcus Vega Doesnt Speak Spanish
crossRefId
3668908
awards
      • source: Association for Library Service to Children
      • value: Notable Children's Books
      • source: Association for Library Service to Children
      • value: Notable Children's Recordings
popularity
1447
publisher
Penguin Random House Audio Publishing Group
links
    • self:
        • href: https://api.overdrive.com/v1/collections/L1BLQAAAA2a/products/6e9edf11-1e4a-45d7-acb9-5a1ae1deef85/metadata
        • type: application/vnd.overdrive.api+json
id
6e9edf11-1e4a-45d7-acb9-5a1ae1deef85
starRating
4.2
Formats
OverDrive MP3 Audiobook
Works on MP3 Players, PCs, and Macs. Some mobile devices may require an application to be installed.
Need Help?
If you are having problem using our eCollection, please visit our support center.