Sarah, Plain and Tall: Sarah, Plain and Tall Series, Book 1
(Adobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive Read)

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(2)
4 star
 
(1)
3 star
 
(2)
2 star
 
(3)
1 star
 
(0)
Series:
Lexile measure:
660L
Status:
Available from OverDrive
More Details
Published:
HarperCollins 2013
Format:
Adobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive Read
Street Date:
06/25/2013
Language:
English
ISBN:
9780062285768
ASIN:
B00BS8SO9M
Accelerated Reader:
MG
Level 3.4, 1 Points
Lexile measure:
660
Also in This Series
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Copy Details
LibraryOwnedAvailable
Shared Digital Collection44
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Patricia MacLachlan. (2013). Sarah, Plain and Tall: Sarah, Plain and Tall Series, Book 1. HarperCollins.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Patricia MacLachlan. 2013. Sarah, Plain and Tall: Sarah, Plain and Tall Series, Book 1. HarperCollins.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Patricia MacLachlan, Sarah, Plain and Tall: Sarah, Plain and Tall Series, Book 1. HarperCollins, 2013.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Patricia MacLachlan. Sarah, Plain and Tall: Sarah, Plain and Tall Series, Book 1. HarperCollins, 2013. Web.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
223d6efa-0644-08ff-24dd-1f2b54ba19cc
Go To Grouped Work
Needs Update?:
No
Date Added:
Apr 23, 2014 15:43:47
Date Updated:
Dec 08, 2020 21:21:49
Last Metadata Check:
Aug 07, 2022 06:12:09
Last Metadata Change:
Aug 07, 2022 06:12:09
Last Availability Check:
Aug 07, 2022 06:12:10
Last Availability Change:
Aug 05, 2022 10:23:47
Last Grouped Work Modification Time:
Aug 11, 2022 05:27:03

OverDrive Product Record

images
    • cover:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-100/0293-1/{8B359B24-7E4D-4F4F-B838-ABD657303A1E}Img100.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • thumbnail:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-200/0293-1/{8B359B24-7E4D-4F4F-B838-ABD657303A1E}Img200.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover150Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-150/0293-1/8B3/59B/24/{8B359B24-7E4D-4F4F-B838-ABD657303A1E}Img150.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover300Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-400/0293-1/8B3/59B/24/{8B359B24-7E4D-4F4F-B838-ABD657303A1E}Img400.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
formats
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9780062285768
      • name: Adobe EPUB eBook
      • id: ebook-epub-adobe
      • identifiers:
            • type: ASIN
            • value: B00BS8SO9M
      • name: Kindle Book
      • id: ebook-kindle
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9780062285768
      • name: OverDrive Read
      • id: ebook-overdrive
mediaType
eBook
primaryCreator
    • role: Author
    • name: Patricia MacLachlan
title
Sarah, Plain and Tall
dateAdded
2013-07-16T05:08:44.367-04:00
contentDetails
      • href: https://link.overdrive.com/?websiteID=426&titleID=1253063
      • type: text/html
      • account:
          • name: Wake County Public Libraries (NC)
          • id: 1893
sortTitle
Sarah Plain and Tall Sarah Plain and Tall Series Book 01
crossRefId
1253063
series
Sarah, Plain and Tall
subtitle
Sarah, Plain and Tall Series, Book 1
id
8b359b24-7e4d-4f4f-b838-abd657303a1e
starRating
4.3

OverDrive MetaData

interestLevel
MG
isPublicDomain
False
formats
      • fileName: SarahPlainandTall_9780062285768_1253063
      • partCount: 0
      • fileSize: 1394609
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9780062285768
      • rights:
            • type: Copying
            • value: 12
            • type: Printing
            • value: 12
            • type: Lending
            • value: 0
            • type: ReadAloud
            • value: 1
            • type: ExpirationRights
            • value: 0
      • name: Adobe EPUB eBook
      • id: ebook-epub-adobe
      • onSaleDate: 06/25/2013
      • samples:
            • source: From the book
            • formatType: ebook-overdrive
            • url: https://samples.overdrive.com/sarah-plain-and?.epub-sample.overdrive.com
      • fileName: SarahPlainandTall_1253063
      • partCount: 0
      • fileSize: 0
      • identifiers:
            • type: ASIN
            • value: B00BS8SO9M
      • name: Kindle Book
      • id: ebook-kindle
      • onSaleDate: 06/25/2013
      • samples:
            • source: From the book
            • formatType: ebook-overdrive
            • url: https://samples.overdrive.com/sarah-plain-and?.epub-sample.overdrive.com
      • fileName: SarahPlainandTall_9780062285768_1253063
      • partCount: 0
      • fileSize: 0
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9780062285768
      • name: OverDrive Read
      • id: ebook-overdrive
      • onSaleDate: 06/25/2013
      • samples:
            • source: From the book
            • formatType: ebook-overdrive
            • url: https://samples.overdrive.com/sarah-plain-and?.epub-sample.overdrive.com
creators
      • role: Author
      • fileAs: MacLachlan, Patricia
      • bioText:

        Patricia MacLachlan (1938-2022) was the celebrated author of many timeless books for young readers, including Sarah, Plain and Tall, winner of the Newbery Medal. She was also the author of many beloved picture books, a number of which she cowrote with her daughter, Emily.

      • name: Patricia MacLachlan
publishDate
2013-06-25T00:00:00-04:00
ATOS
3.4
isOwnedByCollections
True
title
Sarah, Plain and Tall
fullDescription

This beloved Newbery Medal–winning book is the first of five books in Patricia MacLachlan's chapter book series about the Witting family.

Set in the late nineteenth century and told from young Anna's point of view, Sarah, Plain and Tall tells the story of how Sarah Elisabeth Wheaton comes from Maine to the prairie to answer Papa's advertisement for a wife and mother. Before Sarah arrives, Anna and her younger brother Caleb wait and wonder. Will Sarah be nice? Will she sing? Will she stay?

This children's literature classic is perfect for fans of Laura Ingalls Wilder's Little House on the Prairie books, historical fiction, and timeless stories using rich and beautiful language, and it's a strong choice for independent reading. Sarah, Plain and Tall gently explores themes of abandonment, loss, and love.

This anniversary edition includes author Patricia MacLachlan's Newbery speech, a discussion guide, and a reading list.

Read the rest of the Sarah books by Patricia MacLachlan: Skylark, Caleb's Story, More Perfect than the Moon, and Grandfather's Dance.

gradeLevels
      • value: Grade 2
      • value: Grade 3
popularity
1628
links
    • self:
        • href: https://api.overdrive.com/v1/collections/L1BLQAAAA2a/products/8b359b24-7e4d-4f4f-b838-abd657303a1e/metadata
        • type: application/vnd.overdrive.api+json
id
8b359b24-7e4d-4f4f-b838-abd657303a1e
starRating
4.3
images
    • cover:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-100/0293-1/{8B359B24-7E4D-4F4F-B838-ABD657303A1E}Img100.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • thumbnail:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-200/0293-1/{8B359B24-7E4D-4F4F-B838-ABD657303A1E}Img200.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover150Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-150/0293-1/8B3/59B/24/{8B359B24-7E4D-4F4F-B838-ABD657303A1E}Img150.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover300Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-400/0293-1/8B3/59B/24/{8B359B24-7E4D-4F4F-B838-ABD657303A1E}Img400.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
isPublicPerformanceAllowed
False
languages
      • code: en
      • name: English
subjects
      • value: Classic Literature
      • value: Juvenile Fiction
      • value: Juvenile Literature
publishDateText
06/25/2013
mediaType
eBook
shortDescription

This beloved Newbery Medal–winning book is the first of five books in Patricia MacLachlan's chapter book series about the Witting family.

Set in the late nineteenth century and told from young Anna's point of view, Sarah, Plain and Tall tells the story of how Sarah Elisabeth Wheaton comes from Maine to the prairie to answer Papa's advertisement for a wife and mother. Before Sarah arrives, Anna and her younger brother Caleb wait and wonder. Will Sarah be nice? Will she sing? Will she stay?

This children's literature classic is perfect for fans of Laura Ingalls Wilder's Little House on the Prairie books, historical fiction, and timeless stories using rich and beautiful language, and it's a strong choice for independent reading. Sarah, Plain and Tall gently explores themes of abandonment, loss, and love.

This anniversary edition includes author Patricia MacLachlan's Newbery speech, a discussion guide, and a reading list.

Read the...

sortTitle
Sarah Plain and Tall Sarah Plain and Tall Series Book 01
lexileScore
660
crossRefId
1253063
series
Sarah, Plain and Tall
subtitle
Sarah, Plain and Tall Series, Book 1
publisher
HarperCollins
Formats
Adobe EPUB eBook
Works on all eReaders (except Kindles), desktop computers and mobile devices with reading apps installed.
Kindle Book
Works on Kindles and devices with a Kindle app installed.
OverDrive Read
Need Help?
If you are having problem using our eCollection, please visit our support center.