Libraries are open! We still offer contactless pickup with Books on the Go!

Secret Sisters of the Salty Sea
(OverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive Listen)

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(1)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Lexile measure:
590L
Status:
Available from OverDrive
More Details
Published:
Greenwillow Books 2018
Format:
OverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive Listen
Edition:
Unabridged
Street Date:
05/15/2018
Language:
English
ISBN:
9780062841391
Accelerated Reader:
MG
Level 4, 4 Points
Lexile measure:
590
Also in This Series
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Copy Details
LibraryOwnedAvailable
Shared Digital Collection22
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Lynne Rae Perkins. (2018). Secret Sisters of the Salty Sea. Unabridged Greenwillow Books.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Lynne Rae Perkins. 2018. Secret Sisters of the Salty Sea. Greenwillow Books.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Lynne Rae Perkins, Secret Sisters of the Salty Sea. Greenwillow Books, 2018.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Lynne Rae Perkins. Secret Sisters of the Salty Sea. Unabridged Greenwillow Books, 2018.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
f480fb53-dc53-9ea7-db47-60fb8d8a8c87
Go To Grouped Work
Needs Update?:
No
Date Added:
Jun 01, 2018 17:04:26
Date Updated:
Jun 01, 2018 17:04:26
Last Metadata Check:
Oct 17, 2021 07:06:14
Last Metadata Change:
Oct 17, 2021 07:06:14
Last Availability Check:
Oct 17, 2021 07:06:15
Last Availability Change:
Jun 16, 2021 00:16:14
Last Grouped Work Modification Time:
Oct 20, 2021 05:22:50

OverDrive Product Record

sortTitle
Secret Sisters of the Salty Sea
crossRefId
3441269
images
    • cover:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-100/0293-1/{9E385417-6CB5-4FF5-BA80-65E40CECE0F7}Img100.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • thumbnail:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-200/0293-1/{9E385417-6CB5-4FF5-BA80-65E40CECE0F7}Img200.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover150Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-150/0293-1/9E3/854/17/{9E385417-6CB5-4FF5-BA80-65E40CECE0F7}Img150.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover300Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-400/0293-1/9E3/854/17/{9E385417-6CB5-4FF5-BA80-65E40CECE0F7}Img400.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
formats
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9780062841391
            • type: 8
            • value: harpercollins_audio#9780062841391
      • name: OverDrive MP3 Audiobook
      • id: audiobook-mp3
      • identifiers:
            • type: 8
            • value: harpercollins_audio#9780062841391
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9780062841391
      • name: OverDrive Listen
      • id: audiobook-overdrive
mediaType
Audiobook
primaryCreator
    • role: Author
    • name: Lynne Rae Perkins
id
9e385417-6cb5-4ff5-ba80-65e40cece0f7
title
Secret Sisters of the Salty Sea
starRating
5
dateAdded
2018-06-01T14:23:00-04:00
contentDetails
      • href: https://link.overdrive.com/?websiteID=426&titleID=3441269
      • type: text/html
      • account:
          • name: Wake County Public Libraries (NC)
          • id: 1893

OverDrive MetaData

isPublicDomain
False
formats
      • fileName: SecretSistersoftheSaltySea-6049
      • partCount: 3
      • fileSize: 92493170
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9780062841391
            • type: KoboAudioID
            • value: harpercollins_audio#9780062841391
      • rights:
            • type: PlayOnPC
            • value: 1
            • type: PlayOnPCCount
            • value: -1
            • type: BurnToCD
            • value: 1
            • type: BurnToCDCount
            • value: -1
            • type: PlayOnPM
            • value: 1
            • type: TransferToSDMI
            • value: 1
            • type: TransferToNonSDMI
            • value: 1
            • type: TransferCount
            • value: -1
            • type: CollaborativePlay
            • value: 0
            • type: PublicPerformance
            • value: 0
            • type: TranscodeToAAC
            • value: 1
      • name: OverDrive MP3 Audiobook
      • id: audiobook-mp3
      • onSaleDate: 05/15/2018
      • samples:
            • source: Part 1
            • formatType: audiobook-mp3
            • url: https://excerpts.cdn.overdrive.com/FormatType-425/0293-1/3441269-SecretSistersOfTheSaltySea.mp3
            • source: From the book
            • formatType: audiobook-overdrive
            • url: https://samples.overdrive.com/?crid=9e385417-6cb5-4ff5-ba80-65e40cece0f7&.epub-sample.overdrive.com
      • fileName: SecretSistersoftheSaltySea-6049
      • partCount: 0
      • fileSize: 92482662
      • identifiers:
            • type: KoboAudioID
            • value: harpercollins_audio#9780062841391
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9780062841391
      • name: OverDrive Listen
      • id: audiobook-overdrive
      • onSaleDate: 05/15/2018
      • samples:
            • source: Part 1
            • formatType: audiobook-mp3
            • url: https://excerpts.cdn.overdrive.com/FormatType-425/0293-1/3441269-SecretSistersOfTheSaltySea.mp3
            • source: From the book
            • formatType: audiobook-overdrive
            • url: https://samples.overdrive.com/?crid=9e385417-6cb5-4ff5-ba80-65e40cece0f7&.epub-sample.overdrive.com
creators
      • role: Author
      • fileAs: Perkins, Lynne Rae
      • bioText:

        Lynne Rae Perkins was awarded the Newbery Medal for Criss Cross. She is the author of four other novels—All Alone in the Universe, As Easy as Falling Off the Face of the Earth, Nuts to You, and Secret Sisters of the Salty Sea. Lynne Rae Perkins has also written and illustrated several acclaimed picture books, including Frank and Lucky Get Schooled; The Broken Cat; Snow Music: Pictures from Our Vacation; and The Cardboard Piano. The author lives with her family in northern Michigan. www.lynnerae.com

      • name: Lynne Rae Perkins
      • role: Narrator
      • fileAs: Pressley, Brittany
      • name: Brittany Pressley
imprint
Greenwillow Books
publishDate
2018-05-15T00:00:00-04:00
edition
Unabridged
isOwnedByCollections
True
title
Secret Sisters of the Salty Sea
fullDescription

Newbery Medalist Lynne Rae Perkins introduces two irresistible sisters—Alix and Jools—and takes readers on an unforgettable vacation to the beach.

This is a joyful celebration of sisters, family, friendship, and the ocean. The Wall Street Journal said, "Ocean meets sky meets two young girls in Lynne Rae Perkins's affectionate chapter book. A sunny summer story." For fans of Kate DiCamillo and Rebecca Stead.

Alix and her older sister, Jools, have never been to the ocean. When their parents pack them up to spend a week by the shore, Alix is nervous about leaving home—but excited, too. At the beach, the sisters make friends, go exploring, and have adventures big and small. To Alix's surprise, as the week comes to an end, she finds she doesn't want to leave!

Each chapter contains its own miniature discovery—from picking periwinkles, meeting a crab, and making sandcastles, to exploring the nearby town. Award-winning author Lynne Rae Perkins has beautifully crafted a genuine and engaging novel about sisters, family, and exploration.

A great read-aloud, as well as a good choice for newly independent readers. Booklist said, "Ordinary pleasures, in the hands of a writer so skilled, are elevated."

gradeLevels
      • value: Grade 2
      • value: Grade 3
popularity
0
links
    • self:
        • href: https://api.overdrive.com/v1/collections/L1BLQAAAA2a/products/9e385417-6cb5-4ff5-ba80-65e40cece0f7/metadata
        • type: application/vnd.overdrive.api+json
id
9e385417-6cb5-4ff5-ba80-65e40cece0f7
starRating
3.8
images
    • cover:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-100/0293-1/{9E385417-6CB5-4FF5-BA80-65E40CECE0F7}Img100.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • thumbnail:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-200/0293-1/{9E385417-6CB5-4FF5-BA80-65E40CECE0F7}Img200.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover150Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-150/0293-1/9E3/854/17/{9E385417-6CB5-4FF5-BA80-65E40CECE0F7}Img150.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover300Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-400/0293-1/9E3/854/17/{9E385417-6CB5-4FF5-BA80-65E40CECE0F7}Img400.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
isPublicPerformanceAllowed
False
languages
      • code: en
      • name: English
subjects
      • value: Juvenile Fiction
      • value: Juvenile Literature
publishDateText
05/15/2018
mediaType
Audiobook
shortDescription

From Newbery Medalist Lynne Rae Perkins, this effervescent story introduces two sisters—Alix and Jools—and takes readers on an unforgettable journey to the beach.

In the style of the author's acclaimed Nuts to You, this joyful celebration of sisters, family, and the ocean contains black-and-white illustrations throughout. Fans of Kate DiCamillo's Raymie Nightingale and Rebecca Stead's Liar and Spy will love this engaging family story.

Alix and her sister, Jools, have never seen the ocean. When their parents pack them up for a week at the shore, Alix is nervous about leaving home, but excited, too. At the beach, the girls make friends, go exploring, and have adventures both big and small. They pick periwinkles, spot crabs, and discover that the beach is full of endless possibilities. As the week comes to an end, Alix is surprised to find she doesn't want to leave!

Award-winning author Lynne Rae Perkins has beautifully crafted a...

sortTitle
Secret Sisters of the Salty Sea
lexileScore
590
crossRefId
3441269
publisher
Greenwillow Books
Formats
OverDrive MP3 Audiobook
Works on MP3 Players, PCs, and Macs. Some mobile devices may require an application to be installed.
Need Help?
If you are having problem using our eCollection, please visit our support center.