Clayton Byrd Goes Underground
(Adobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive Read)

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(4)
4 star
 
(1)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Lexile measure:
720L
Status:
Available from OverDrive
More Details
Published:
HarperCollins 2017
Format:
Adobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive Read
Street Date:
05/09/2017
Language:
English
ISBN:
9780062215949
ASIN:
B01KFAVITG
Accelerated Reader:
MG
Level 4.4, 4 Points
Lexile measure:
720
Also in This Series
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Copy Details
LibraryOwnedAvailable
Shared Digital Collection22
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Rita Williams-Garcia. (2017). Clayton Byrd Goes Underground. HarperCollins.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Rita Williams-Garcia. 2017. Clayton Byrd Goes Underground. HarperCollins.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Rita Williams-Garcia, Clayton Byrd Goes Underground. HarperCollins, 2017.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Rita Williams-Garcia. Clayton Byrd Goes Underground. HarperCollins, 2017. Web.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
fae0521b-ff10-caf8-fc9f-2b812e06625a
Go To Grouped Work
Needs Update?:
No
Date Added:
May 22, 2017 17:29:21
Date Updated:
Nov 18, 2017 05:38:25
Last Metadata Check:
Jun 26, 2022 07:44:59
Last Metadata Change:
Jun 19, 2022 09:27:44
Last Availability Check:
Jun 26, 2022 07:45:00
Last Availability Change:
Jun 17, 2022 09:50:06
Last Grouped Work Modification Time:
Jul 01, 2022 05:22:59

OverDrive Product Record

sortTitle
Clayton Byrd Goes Underground
crossRefId
2911276
images
    • cover:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-100/0293-1/{C3D3F6D0-1C7B-4019-A2D3-B6FF827D17F7}Img100.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • thumbnail:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-200/0293-1/{C3D3F6D0-1C7B-4019-A2D3-B6FF827D17F7}Img200.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover150Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-150/0293-1/C3D/3F6/D0/{C3D3F6D0-1C7B-4019-A2D3-B6FF827D17F7}Img150.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover300Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-400/0293-1/C3D/3F6/D0/{C3D3F6D0-1C7B-4019-A2D3-B6FF827D17F7}Img400.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
formats
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9780062215949
      • name: Adobe EPUB eBook
      • id: ebook-epub-adobe
      • identifiers:
            • type: ASIN
            • value: B01KFAVITG
      • name: Kindle Book
      • id: ebook-kindle
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9780062215949
      • name: OverDrive Read
      • id: ebook-overdrive
mediaType
eBook
primaryCreator
    • role: Author
    • name: Rita Williams-Garcia
id
c3d3f6d0-1c7b-4019-a2d3-b6ff827d17f7
title
Clayton Byrd Goes Underground
starRating
3.6
dateAdded
2017-05-22T16:37:08.723-04:00
contentDetails
      • href: https://link.overdrive.com/?websiteID=426&titleID=2911276
      • type: text/html
      • account:
          • name: Wake County Public Libraries (NC)
          • id: 1893

OverDrive MetaData

interestLevel
MG
isPublicDomain
False
formats
      • fileName: ClaytonByrdGoesUnder_9780062215949_2911276
      • partCount: 0
      • fileSize: 1450220
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9780062215949
      • rights:
            • type: Copying
            • value: 18
            • type: Printing
            • value: 18
            • type: Lending
            • value: 0
            • type: ReadAloud
            • value: 1
            • type: ExpirationRights
            • value: 0
      • name: Adobe EPUB eBook
      • id: ebook-epub-adobe
      • onSaleDate: 05/09/2017
      • samples:
            • source: From the book
            • formatType: ebook-overdrive
            • url: https://samples.overdrive.com/?crid=c3d3f6d0-1c7b-4019-a2d3-b6ff827d17f7&.epub-sample.overdrive.com
      • fileName: ClaytonByrdGoesUnder_2911276
      • partCount: 0
      • fileSize: 0
      • identifiers:
            • type: ASIN
            • value: B01KFAVITG
      • name: Kindle Book
      • id: ebook-kindle
      • onSaleDate: 05/09/2017
      • samples:
            • source: From the book
            • formatType: ebook-overdrive
            • url: https://samples.overdrive.com/?crid=c3d3f6d0-1c7b-4019-a2d3-b6ff827d17f7&.epub-sample.overdrive.com
      • fileName: ClaytonByrdGoesUnder_9780062215949_2911276
      • partCount: 0
      • fileSize: 1534985
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9780062215949
      • name: OverDrive Read
      • id: ebook-overdrive
      • onSaleDate: 05/09/2017
      • samples:
            • source: From the book
            • formatType: ebook-overdrive
            • url: https://samples.overdrive.com/?crid=c3d3f6d0-1c7b-4019-a2d3-b6ff827d17f7&.epub-sample.overdrive.com
creators
      • role: Author
      • fileAs: Williams-Garcia, Rita
      • bioText:

        Rita Williams-Garcia's Newbery Honor Book, One Crazy Summer, was a winner of the Coretta Scott King Author Award, a National Book Award finalist, the recipient of the Scott O'Dell Award for Historical Fiction, and a New York Times bestseller. The two sequels, P.S. Be Eleven and Gone Crazy in Alabama, were both Coretta Scott King Author Award winners and ALA Notable Children's Books. Her novel Clayton Byrd Goes Underground was a National Book Award finalist and winner of the NAACP Image Award for Youth/Teen Literature. Rita is also the author of five other distinguished novels for young adults: Jumped, a National Book Award finalist; No Laughter Here, Every Time a Rainbow Dies (a Publishers Weekly Best Children's Book), Fast Talk on a Slow Track (all ALA Best Books for Young Adults); and Blue Tights. Rita Williams-Garcia lives in Jamaica, New York, with her husband and has two adult daughters. You can visit her online at www.ritawg.com.

      • name: Rita Williams-Garcia
      • role: Illustrator
      • fileAs: Morrison, Frank
      • name: Frank Morrison
imprint
Quill Tree Books
publishDate
2017-05-09T00:00:00-04:00
ATOS
4.4
isOwnedByCollections
True
title
Clayton Byrd Goes Underground
fullDescription

From beloved Newbery Honor winner and three-time Coretta Scott King Award winner Rita Williams-Garcia comes a powerful and heartfelt novel about loss, family, and love that will appeal to fans of Jason Reynolds and Kwame Alexander.

Clayton feels most alive when he's with his grandfather, Cool Papa Byrd, and the band of Bluesmen—he can't wait to join them, just as soon as he has a blues song of his own. But then the unthinkable happens. Cool Papa Byrd dies, and Clayton's mother forbids Clayton from playing the blues. And Clayton knows that's no way to live.

Armed with his grandfather's brown porkpie hat and his harmonica, he runs away from home in search of the Bluesmen, hoping he can join them on the road. But on the journey that takes him through the New York City subways and to Washington Square Park, Clayton learns some things that surprise him.

National Book Award Finalist * Kirkus Best Books of 2017 * Horn Book Best Books of 2017 * Publishers Weekly Best Books of 2017 * School Library Journal Best Books of 2017 * NAACP Image Awards Youth/Teens Winner * Chicago Public Library Best Books * Boston Globe Best Books of 2017

"This slim novel strikes a strong chord."—Publishers Weekly (starred review)

"This complex tale of family and forgiveness has heart." —School Library Journal (starred review)

"Strong characterizations and vivid musical scenes add layers to this warm family story." —Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

"An appealing, realistic story with frequent elegant turns of phrase." —The Horn Book (starred review)

"Garcia-Williams skillfully finds melody in words." —Booklist (starred review)

gradeLevels
      • value: Grade 3
popularity
702
links
    • self:
        • href: https://api.overdrive.com/v1/collections/L1BLQAAAA2a/products/c3d3f6d0-1c7b-4019-a2d3-b6ff827d17f7/metadata
        • type: application/vnd.overdrive.api+json
id
c3d3f6d0-1c7b-4019-a2d3-b6ff827d17f7
starRating
3.5
images
    • cover:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-100/0293-1/{C3D3F6D0-1C7B-4019-A2D3-B6FF827D17F7}Img100.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • thumbnail:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-200/0293-1/{C3D3F6D0-1C7B-4019-A2D3-B6FF827D17F7}Img200.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover150Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-150/0293-1/C3D/3F6/D0/{C3D3F6D0-1C7B-4019-A2D3-B6FF827D17F7}Img150.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover300Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-400/0293-1/C3D/3F6/D0/{C3D3F6D0-1C7B-4019-A2D3-B6FF827D17F7}Img400.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
isPublicPerformanceAllowed
False
languages
      • code: en
      • name: English
subjects
      • value: Juvenile Fiction
      • value: Juvenile Literature
publishDateText
05/09/2017
mediaType
eBook
shortDescription

From beloved Newbery Honor winner and three-time Coretta Scott King Award winner Rita Williams-Garcia comes a powerful and heartfelt novel about loss, family, and love that will appeal to fans of Jason Reynolds and Kwame Alexander.

Clayton feels most alive when he's with his grandfather, Cool Papa Byrd, and the band of Bluesmen—he can't wait to join them, just as soon as he has a blues song of his own. But then the unthinkable happens. Cool Papa Byrd dies, and Clayton's mother forbids Clayton from playing the blues. And Clayton knows that's no way to live.

Armed with his grandfather's brown porkpie hat and his harmonica, he runs away from home in search of the Bluesmen, hoping he can join them on the road. But on the journey that takes him through the New York City subways and to Washington Square Park, Clayton learns some things that surprise him.

National Book Award Finalist * Kirkus Best Books of 2017 * Horn Book Best Books...

sortTitle
Clayton Byrd Goes Underground
lexileScore
720
crossRefId
2911276
awards
      • source: National Book Foundation
      • value: National Book Award Finalist
      • source: Association for Library Service to Children
      • value: Notable Children's Books
      • source: International Reading Association & The Children's Book Council
      • value: Children's Choices Selection
publisher
HarperCollins
Formats
Adobe EPUB eBook
Works on all eReaders (except Kindles), desktop computers and mobile devices with reading apps installed.
Kindle Book
Works on Kindles and devices with a Kindle app installed.
OverDrive Read
Need Help?
If you are having problem using our eCollection, please visit our support center.