The Best Man
(OverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive Listen)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Author:
Lexile measure:
540L
Status:
Available from OverDrive
More Details
Published:
Books on Tape 2016
Format:
OverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive Listen
Edition:
Unabridged
Street Date:
09/20/2016
Language:
English
ISBN:
9780735288898
Accelerated Reader:
MG
Level 4.1, 6 Points
Lexile measure:
540
Also in This Series
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Copy Details
LibraryOwnedAvailable
Shared Digital Collection11
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Richard Peck. (2016). The Best Man. Unabridged Books on Tape.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Richard Peck. 2016. The Best Man. Books on Tape.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Richard Peck, The Best Man. Books on Tape, 2016.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Richard Peck. The Best Man. Unabridged Books on Tape, 2016.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
71106c2a-6f5f-abdb-afdb-a476628e0b9c
Go To Grouped Work
Needs Update?:
No
Date Added:
Nov 29, 2016 18:35:03
Date Updated:
Nov 15, 2017 23:41:26
Last Metadata Check:
May 18, 2019 15:35:47
Last Metadata Change:
Mar 25, 2019 19:54:53
Last Availability Check:
May 18, 2019 15:35:47
Last Availability Change:
Apr 01, 2019 08:01:37

OverDrive Product Record

sortTitle
Best Man
crossRefId
2542793
images
    • cover:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-100/1191-1/{DDF21D87-9B1F-4877-B0B7-3CFF4143A5FE}Img100.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • thumbnail:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-200/1191-1/{DDF21D87-9B1F-4877-B0B7-3CFF4143A5FE}Img200.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover150Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-150/1191-1/DDF/21D/87/{DDF21D87-9B1F-4877-B0B7-3CFF4143A5FE}Img150.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover300Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-400/1191-1/DDF/21D/87/{DDF21D87-9B1F-4877-B0B7-3CFF4143A5FE}Img400.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
formats
      • identifiers:
            • type: 8
            • value: penguinrandomhouse_audio#9780735288874
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9780735288898
      • name: OverDrive MP3 Audiobook
      • id: audiobook-mp3
      • identifiers:
            • type: 8
            • value: penguinrandomhouse_audio#9780735288874
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9780735288898
      • name: OverDrive Listen
      • id: audiobook-overdrive
mediaType
Audiobook
primaryCreator
    • role: Author
    • name: Richard Peck
id
ddf21d87-9b1f-4877-b0b7-3cff4143a5fe
title
The Best Man
starRating
4.1
dateAdded
2016-11-29T13:27:00-05:00
contentDetails
      • href: https://link.overdrive.com/?websiteID=426&titleID=2542793
      • type: text/html
      • account:
          • name: Wake County Public Libraries (NC)
          • id: 1893

OverDrive MetaData

isPublicDomain
False
images
    • cover:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-100/1191-1/{DDF21D87-9B1F-4877-B0B7-3CFF4143A5FE}Img100.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • thumbnail:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-200/1191-1/{DDF21D87-9B1F-4877-B0B7-3CFF4143A5FE}Img200.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover150Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-150/1191-1/DDF/21D/87/{DDF21D87-9B1F-4877-B0B7-3CFF4143A5FE}Img150.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover300Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-400/1191-1/DDF/21D/87/{DDF21D87-9B1F-4877-B0B7-3CFF4143A5FE}Img400.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
isPublicPerformanceAllowed
False
formats
      • fileName: BestMan-62474
      • partCount: 4
      • fileSize: 127622788
      • identifiers:
            • audience: retailer
            • type: 8
            • value: penguinrandomhouse_audio#9780735288874
            • audience: library
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9780735288898
      • rights:
            • type: PlayOnPC
            • value: 1
            • type: PlayOnPCCount
            • value: -1
            • type: BurnToCD
            • value: 1
            • type: BurnToCDCount
            • value: -1
            • type: PlayOnPM
            • value: 1
            • type: TransferToSDMI
            • value: 1
            • type: TransferToNonSDMI
            • value: 1
            • type: TransferCount
            • value: -1
            • type: CollaborativePlay
            • value: 0
            • type: PublicPerformance
            • value: 0
            • type: TranscodeToAAC
            • value: 1
      • name: OverDrive MP3 Audiobook
      • id: audiobook-mp3
      • onSaleDate: 09/20/2016
      • samples:
            • source: Part 1
            • formatType: audiobook-mp3
            • url: https://excerpts.cdn.overdrive.com/FormatType-425/1191-1/2542793-TheBestMan.mp3
            • source: From the book
            • formatType: audiobook-overdrive
            • url: https://samples.overdrive.com/?crid=ddf21d87-9b1f-4877-b0b7-3cff4143a5fe&.epub-sample.overdrive.com
      • fileName: BestMan-62474
      • partCount: 0
      • fileSize: 127491969
      • identifiers:
            • audience: retailer
            • type: 8
            • value: penguinrandomhouse_audio#9780735288874
            • audience: library
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9780735288898
      • name: OverDrive Listen
      • id: audiobook-overdrive
      • onSaleDate: 09/20/2016
      • samples:
            • source: Part 1
            • formatType: audiobook-mp3
            • url: https://excerpts.cdn.overdrive.com/FormatType-425/1191-1/2542793-TheBestMan.mp3
            • source: From the book
            • formatType: audiobook-overdrive
            • url: https://samples.overdrive.com/?crid=ddf21d87-9b1f-4877-b0b7-3cff4143a5fe&.epub-sample.overdrive.com
languages
      • code: en
      • name: English
creators
      • role: Author
      • fileAs: Peck, Richard
      • bioText: RICHARD PECK (1934-2018) was born in Decatur, Illinois and lived in New York City for nearly 50 years. The acclaimed author of 35 novels for children and young adults, he won the Newbery Medal for A Year Down Yonder, a Newbery Honor for A Long Way from Chicago, the Scott O'Dell Award for The River Between Us, the Edgar Allen Poe Award for Are You in the House Alone?, a Boston Globe-Horn BookAward Honor for The Best Man, and the Christopher Medal for The Teacher's Funeral. He was the first children's author ever to have been awarded a National Humanities Medal, and was twice a National Book Award Finalist.
      • name: Richard Peck
      • role: Narrator
      • fileAs: Crouch, Michael
      • name: Michael Crouch
imprint
Listening Library
subjects
      • value: Juvenile Fiction
      • value: Juvenile Literature
publishDate
2016-09-20T00:00:00-04:00
edition
Unabridged
publishDateText
09/20/2016
mediaType
Audiobook
shortDescription
Newbery Medalist Richard Peck tells a story of small-town life, gay marriage, and everyday heroes in this novel for fans of Gary Schmidt and Jack Gantos
Archer Magill has spent a lively five years of grade school with one eye out in search of grown-up role models. Three of the best are his grandpa, the great architect; his dad, the great vintage car customizer,; and his uncle Paul, who is just plain great. These are the three he wants to be. Along the way he finds a fourth—Mr. McLeod, a teacher. In fact, the first male teacher in the history of the school.
But now here comes middle school and puberty. Change. Archer wonders how much change has to happen before his voice does. He doesn't see too far ahead, so every day or so a startling revelation breaks over him. Then a really big one when he's the best man at the wedding of two of his role models. But that gets ahead of the story.
In pages that ripple with laughter, there's a teardrop here and there. And...
isOwnedByCollections
True
title
The Best Man
fullDescription
Newbery Medalist Richard Peck tells a story of small-town life, gay marriage, and everyday heroes in this novel for fans of Gary Schmidt and Jack Gantos
Archer Magill has spent a lively five years of grade school with one eye out in search of grown-up role models. Three of the best are his grandpa, the great architect; his dad, the great vintage car customizer,; and his uncle Paul, who is just plain great. These are the three he wants to be. Along the way he finds a fourth—Mr. McLeod, a teacher. In fact, the first male teacher in the history of the school.
But now here comes middle school and puberty. Change. Archer wonders how much change has to happen before his voice does. He doesn't see too far ahead, so every day or so a startling revelation breaks over him. Then a really big one when he's the best man at the wedding of two of his role models. But that gets ahead of the story.
In pages that ripple with laughter, there's a teardrop here and there. And more than a few insights about the bewildering world of adults, made by a boy on his way to being the best man he can be.
From the Hardcover edition.
sortTitle
Best Man
crossRefId
2542793
popularity
1137
publisher
Books on Tape
links
    • self:
        • href: https://api.overdrive.com/v1/collections/L1BLQAAAA2a/products/ddf21d87-9b1f-4877-b0b7-3cff4143a5fe/metadata
        • type: application/vnd.overdrive.api+json
id
ddf21d87-9b1f-4877-b0b7-3cff4143a5fe
starRating
4
Formats
OverDrive MP3 Audiobook
Works on MP3 Players, PCs, and Macs. Some mobile devices may require an application to be installed.
Need Help?
If you are having problem using our eCollection, please visit our support center.