Libraries are closed until further notice.
We are now offering contactless pickup and return at select locations with Books on the Go!

Some notices were not sent. Check your account for due dates (but we are still fine free)!

The Field Guide to the North American Teenager
(OverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive Listen)

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(1)
4 star
 
(1)
3 star
 
(1)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Author:
Lexile measure:
HL: High-Low 830L
Status:
Available from OverDrive
More Details
Published:
Balzer + Bray 2019
Format:
OverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive Listen
Edition:
Unabridged
Street Date:
01/08/2019
Language:
English
ISBN:
9780062885203
Accelerated Reader:
UG
Level 5.9, 13 Points
Lexile code:
HL: High-Low
Lexile measure:
830
Also in This Series
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Copy Details
LibraryOwnedAvailable
Shared Digital Collection11
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Ben Philippe. (2019). The Field Guide to the North American Teenager. Unabridged Balzer + Bray.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Ben Philippe. 2019. The Field Guide to the North American Teenager. Balzer + Bray.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Ben Philippe, The Field Guide to the North American Teenager. Balzer + Bray, 2019.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Ben Philippe. The Field Guide to the North American Teenager. Unabridged Balzer + Bray, 2019.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
a5989068-f85e-3e3e-9140-4ae491cd9d2a
Go To Grouped Work
Needs Update?:
No
Date Added:
Sep 14, 2019 01:57:31
Date Updated:
Sep 14, 2019 01:57:31
Last Metadata Check:
Oct 25, 2020 08:55:53
Last Metadata Change:
Sep 05, 2020 15:18:21
Last Availability Check:
Oct 25, 2020 08:55:54
Last Availability Change:
Sep 12, 2020 22:43:31
Last Grouped Work Modification Time:
Oct 25, 2020 07:36:20

OverDrive Product Record

sortTitle
Field Guide to the North American Teenager
crossRefId
3948869
images
    • cover:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-100/0293-1/{E34AB0C3-D3D0-483D-BD16-54FBBEFCCDF8}Img100.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • thumbnail:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-200/0293-1/{E34AB0C3-D3D0-483D-BD16-54FBBEFCCDF8}Img200.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover150Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-150/0293-1/E34/AB0/C3/{E34AB0C3-D3D0-483D-BD16-54FBBEFCCDF8}Img150.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover300Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-400/0293-1/E34/AB0/C3/{E34AB0C3-D3D0-483D-BD16-54FBBEFCCDF8}Img400.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
formats
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9780062885203
            • type: 8
            • value: harpercollins_audio#9780062885203
      • name: OverDrive MP3 Audiobook
      • id: audiobook-mp3
      • identifiers:
            • type: 8
            • value: harpercollins_audio#9780062885203
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9780062885203
      • name: OverDrive Listen
      • id: audiobook-overdrive
mediaType
Audiobook
primaryCreator
    • role: Author
    • name: Ben Philippe
id
e34ab0c3-d3d0-483d-bd16-54fbbefccdf8
title
The Field Guide to the North American Teenager
starRating
3.8
contentDetails
      • href: https://link.overdrive.com/?websiteID=426&titleID=3948869
      • type: text/html
      • account:
          • name: Wake County Public Libraries (NC)
          • id: 1893

OverDrive MetaData

isPublicDomain
False
images
    • cover:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-100/0293-1/{E34AB0C3-D3D0-483D-BD16-54FBBEFCCDF8}Img100.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • thumbnail:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-200/0293-1/{E34AB0C3-D3D0-483D-BD16-54FBBEFCCDF8}Img200.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover150Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-150/0293-1/E34/AB0/C3/{E34AB0C3-D3D0-483D-BD16-54FBBEFCCDF8}Img150.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover300Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-400/0293-1/E34/AB0/C3/{E34AB0C3-D3D0-483D-BD16-54FBBEFCCDF8}Img400.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
isPublicPerformanceAllowed
False
formats
      • fileName: FieldGuidetotheNorthAmericanTeenager-6501
      • partCount: 8
      • fileSize: 265006450
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9780062885203
            • type: 8
            • value: harpercollins_audio#9780062885203
      • rights:
            • type: PlayOnPC
            • value: 1
            • type: PlayOnPCCount
            • value: -1
            • type: BurnToCD
            • value: 1
            • type: BurnToCDCount
            • value: -1
            • type: PlayOnPM
            • value: 1
            • type: TransferToSDMI
            • value: 1
            • type: TransferToNonSDMI
            • value: 1
            • type: TransferCount
            • value: -1
            • type: CollaborativePlay
            • value: 0
            • type: PublicPerformance
            • value: 0
            • type: TranscodeToAAC
            • value: 1
      • name: OverDrive MP3 Audiobook
      • id: audiobook-mp3
      • onSaleDate: 01/08/2019
      • samples:
            • source: Part 1
            • formatType: audiobook-mp3
            • url: https://excerpts.cdn.overdrive.com/FormatType-425/0293-1/3948869-TheFieldGuideToTheNorthAmericanTeenager.mp3
            • source: From the book
            • formatType: audiobook-overdrive
            • url: https://samples.overdrive.com/?crid=e34ab0c3-d3d0-483d-bd16-54fbbefccdf8&.epub-sample.overdrive.com
      • fileName: FieldGuidetotheNorthAmericanTeenager-6501
      • partCount: 0
      • fileSize: 264978812
      • identifiers:
            • type: 8
            • value: harpercollins_audio#9780062885203
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9780062885203
      • name: OverDrive Listen
      • id: audiobook-overdrive
      • onSaleDate: 01/08/2019
      • samples:
            • source: Part 1
            • formatType: audiobook-mp3
            • url: https://excerpts.cdn.overdrive.com/FormatType-425/0293-1/3948869-TheFieldGuideToTheNorthAmericanTeenager.mp3
            • source: From the book
            • formatType: audiobook-overdrive
            • url: https://samples.overdrive.com/?crid=e34ab0c3-d3d0-483d-bd16-54fbbefccdf8&.epub-sample.overdrive.com
languages
      • code: en
      • name: English
creators
      • role: Author
      • fileAs: Philippe, Ben
      • bioText:

        Ben Philippe is a New York–based writer and screenwriter, born in Haiti and raised in Montreal, Canada. He has a Bachelor of Arts from Columbia University and an MFA in fiction and screenwriting from the Michener Center for Writers in Austin, Texas. He also teaches film studies and screenwriting at Barnard College. He is the author of the William C. Morris Award–winning novel The Field Guide to the North American Teenager. Find him online at www.benphilippe.com.

      • name: Ben Philippe
      • role: Narrator
      • fileAs: Fouhey, James
      • name: James Fouhey
imprint
Balzer + Bray
subjects
      • value: Humor (Fiction)
      • value: Young Adult Fiction
      • value: Young Adult Literature
publishDate
2019-01-08T00:00:00-05:00
edition
Unabridged
publishDateText
01/08/2019
mediaType
Audiobook
shortDescription

William C. Morris YA Debut Award Winner!

A hilarious YA contemporary realistic novel about a witty Black French Canadian teen who moves to Austin, Texas, and experiences the joys, clichés, and awkward humiliations of the American high school experience—including falling in love. Perfect for fans of Nicola Yoon, When Dimple Met Rishi, and John Green.

Norris Kaplan is clever, cynical, and quite possibly too smart for his own good. A Black French Canadian, he knows from watching American sitcoms that those three things don't bode well when you are moving to Austin, Texas.

Plunked into a new high school and sweating a ridiculous amount from the oppressive Texas heat, Norris finds himself cataloging everyone he meets: the Cheerleaders, the Jocks, the Loners, and even the Manic Pixie Dream Girl. Making a ton of friends has never been a priority for him, and this way he can at least amuse himself until it's time to go...

isOwnedByCollections
True
title
The Field Guide to the North American Teenager
fullDescription

William C. Morris YA Debut Award Winner!

A hilarious YA contemporary realistic novel about a witty Black French Canadian teen who moves to Austin, Texas, and experiences the joys, clichés, and awkward humiliations of the American high school experience—including falling in love. Perfect for fans of Nicola Yoon, When Dimple Met Rishi, and John Green.

Norris Kaplan is clever, cynical, and quite possibly too smart for his own good. A Black French Canadian, he knows from watching American sitcoms that those three things don't bode well when you are moving to Austin, Texas.

Plunked into a new high school and sweating a ridiculous amount from the oppressive Texas heat, Norris finds himself cataloging everyone he meets: the Cheerleaders, the Jocks, the Loners, and even the Manic Pixie Dream Girl. Making a ton of friends has never been a priority for him, and this way he can at least amuse himself until it's time to go back to Canada, where he belongs.

Yet against all odds, those labels soon become actual people to Norris...like loner Liam, who makes it his mission to befriend Norris, or Madison the beta cheerleader, who is so nice that it has to be a trap. Not to mention Aarti the Manic Pixie Dream Girl, who might, in fact, be a real love interest in the making.

But the night of the prom, Norris screws everything up royally. As he tries to pick up the pieces, he realizes it might be time to stop hiding behind his snarky opinions and start living his life—along with the people who have found their way into his heart.

sortTitle
Field Guide to the North American Teenager
crossRefId
3948869
awards
      • source: Young Adult Library Services Association
      • value: William C. Morris Debut Young Adult Award
      • source: Young Adult Library Services Association
      • value: Best Fiction for Young Adults
popularity
1269
publisher
Balzer + Bray
links
    • self:
        • href: https://api.overdrive.com/v1/collections/L1BLQAAAA2a/products/e34ab0c3-d3d0-483d-bd16-54fbbefccdf8/metadata
        • type: application/vnd.overdrive.api+json
id
e34ab0c3-d3d0-483d-bd16-54fbbefccdf8
starRating
3.7
Formats
OverDrive MP3 Audiobook
Works on MP3 Players, PCs, and Macs. Some mobile devices may require an application to be installed.
Need Help?
If you are having problem using our eCollection, please visit our support center.