Saving Winslow
(Adobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive Read)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Lexile measure:
690L
Status:
Available from OverDrive
More Details
Published:
HarperCollins 2018
Format:
Adobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive Read
Street Date:
09/11/2018
Language:
English
ISBN:
9780062570734
ASIN:
B074SJ7R8M
Accelerated Reader:
MG
Level 4.2, 2 Points
Lexile measure:
690
Also in This Series
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Copy Details
LibraryOwnedAvailable
Shared Digital Collection33
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Sharon Creech. (2018). Saving Winslow. HarperCollins.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Sharon Creech. 2018. Saving Winslow. HarperCollins.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Sharon Creech, Saving Winslow. HarperCollins, 2018.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Sharon Creech. Saving Winslow. HarperCollins, 2018. Web.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
7a196118-b5bf-471d-bb28-fe2d18a57e5c
Go To Grouped Work
Needs Update?:
No
Date Added:
Sep 21, 2018 12:21:14
Date Updated:
Sep 21, 2018 12:21:14
Last Metadata Check:
Nov 21, 2021 07:36:48
Last Metadata Change:
Nov 21, 2021 07:36:48
Last Availability Check:
Nov 21, 2021 07:36:49
Last Availability Change:
Oct 28, 2021 07:27:28
Last Grouped Work Modification Time:
Nov 27, 2021 05:22:52

OverDrive Product Record

sortTitle
Saving Winslow
crossRefId
3695459
images
    • cover:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-100/0293-1/{F7F88642-F9B2-41F1-9207-C0FEB0E8EEA0}Img100.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • thumbnail:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-200/0293-1/{F7F88642-F9B2-41F1-9207-C0FEB0E8EEA0}Img200.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover150Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-150/0293-1/F7F/886/42/{F7F88642-F9B2-41F1-9207-C0FEB0E8EEA0}Img150.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover300Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-400/0293-1/F7F/886/42/{F7F88642-F9B2-41F1-9207-C0FEB0E8EEA0}Img400.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
formats
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9780062570734
      • name: Adobe EPUB eBook
      • id: ebook-epub-adobe
      • identifiers:
            • type: ASIN
            • value: B074SJ7R8M
      • name: Kindle Book
      • id: ebook-kindle
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9780062570734
      • name: OverDrive Read
      • id: ebook-overdrive
mediaType
eBook
primaryCreator
    • role: Author
    • name: Sharon Creech
id
f7f88642-f9b2-41f1-9207-c0feb0e8eea0
title
Saving Winslow
starRating
2
dateAdded
2018-09-21T12:07:01.25-04:00
contentDetails
      • href: https://link.overdrive.com/?websiteID=426&titleID=3695459
      • type: text/html
      • account:
          • name: Wake County Public Libraries (NC)
          • id: 1893

OverDrive MetaData

interestLevel
MG
isPublicDomain
False
formats
      • fileName: SavingWinslow9780062570734
      • partCount: 0
      • fileSize: 1509116
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9780062570734
      • rights:
            • type: Copying
            • value: 18
            • type: Printing
            • value: 18
            • type: Lending
            • value: 0
            • type: ReadAloud
            • value: 1
            • type: ExpirationRights
            • value: 0
      • name: Adobe EPUB eBook
      • id: ebook-epub-adobe
      • onSaleDate: 09/11/2018
      • samples:
            • source: From the book
            • formatType: ebook-overdrive
            • url: https://samples.overdrive.com/?crid=f7f88642-f9b2-41f1-9207-c0feb0e8eea0&.epub-sample.overdrive.com
      • fileName: SavingWinslow9780062570734
      • partCount: 0
      • fileSize: 0
      • identifiers:
            • type: ASIN
            • value: B074SJ7R8M
      • name: Kindle Book
      • id: ebook-kindle
      • onSaleDate: 09/11/2018
      • samples:
            • source: From the book
            • formatType: ebook-overdrive
            • url: https://samples.overdrive.com/?crid=f7f88642-f9b2-41f1-9207-c0feb0e8eea0&.epub-sample.overdrive.com
      • fileName: SavingWinslow9780062570734
      • partCount: 0
      • fileSize: 0
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9780062570734
      • name: OverDrive Read
      • id: ebook-overdrive
      • onSaleDate: 09/11/2018
      • samples:
            • source: From the book
            • formatType: ebook-overdrive
            • url: https://samples.overdrive.com/?crid=f7f88642-f9b2-41f1-9207-c0feb0e8eea0&.epub-sample.overdrive.com
creators
      • role: Author
      • fileAs: Creech, Sharon
      • bioText:

        Sharon Creech has written twenty-one books for young people and is published in over twenty languages. Her books have received awards in both the U.S. and abroad, including the Newbery Medal for Walk Two Moons, the Newbery Honor for The Wanderer, and Great Britain's Carnegie Medal for Ruby Holler.

        Before beginning her writing career, Sharon Creech taught English for fifteen years in England and Switzerland. She and her husband now live in Maine, "lured there by our grandchildren," Creech says.

        www.sharoncreech.com

      • name: Sharon Creech
publishDate
2018-09-11T00:00:00-04:00
ATOS
4.2
isOwnedByCollections
True
title
Saving Winslow
fullDescription

Indie Next List Pick · ALA Notable Children's Book · Texas Bluebonnet Award Winner

"A winning tale of love." Kirkus (starred review)

Perfect for fans of Charlotte's Web and The One and Only Ivan, Saving Winslow is an uplifting modern classic in the making about a young boy who befriends an ailing newborn donkey and nurses him back to health, from New York Times bestseller and Newbery Medal winner Sharon Creech.

Louie doesn't have the best luck when it comes to nurturing small creatures. So when his father brings home a sickly newborn mini donkey, he's determined to save him. He names him Winslow. Taking care of him helps Louie feel closer to his brother, Gus, who is far, far away in the army.

Everyone worries that Winslow won't survive, especially Louie's quirky new friend, Nora, who has experienced loss of her own. But as Louie's bond with Winslow grows, surprising and life-altering events prove that this fragile donkey is stronger than anyone could have imagined.

Written in the spirit of Creech favorites Moo and Love That Dog, this standout tale about love and friendship and letting go will tug at the heartstrings.

"This heartwarming story is sure to be a hit with fans of E. B. White's Charlotte's Web and Kate DiCamillo's Because of Winn-Dixie." School Library Journal (starred review)

"Creech packs a tremendous amount of emotion between the lines of her understated prose. Animal lovers in particular will relish Louie's hard-won triumphs and find joy in Winslow's strength." Publishers Weekly (starred review)

"Woven into this narrative is a convincing portrayal of human growth and blossoming—the story is told simply but subtly, celebrating the unexpected strength of the vulnerable." —Horn Book (starred review)

gradeLevels
      • value: Grade 2
      • value: Grade 3
popularity
1158
links
    • self:
        • href: https://api.overdrive.com/v1/collections/L1BLQAAAA2a/products/f7f88642-f9b2-41f1-9207-c0feb0e8eea0/metadata
        • type: application/vnd.overdrive.api+json
id
f7f88642-f9b2-41f1-9207-c0feb0e8eea0
starRating
4.4
images
    • cover:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-100/0293-1/{F7F88642-F9B2-41F1-9207-C0FEB0E8EEA0}Img100.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • thumbnail:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-200/0293-1/{F7F88642-F9B2-41F1-9207-C0FEB0E8EEA0}Img200.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover150Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-150/0293-1/F7F/886/42/{F7F88642-F9B2-41F1-9207-C0FEB0E8EEA0}Img150.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover300Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-400/0293-1/F7F/886/42/{F7F88642-F9B2-41F1-9207-C0FEB0E8EEA0}Img400.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
isPublicPerformanceAllowed
False
languages
      • code: en
      • name: English
subjects
      • value: Juvenile Fiction
      • value: Juvenile Literature
publishDateText
09/11/2018
mediaType
eBook
shortDescription

Indie Next List Pick · ALA Notable Children's Book · Texas Bluebonnet Award Winner

"A winning tale of love." Kirkus (starred review)

Perfect for fans of Charlotte's Web and The One and Only Ivan, Saving Winslow is an uplifting modern classic in the making about a young boy who befriends an ailing newborn donkey and nurses him back to health, from New York Times bestseller and Newbery Medal winner Sharon Creech. This middle grade novel is an excellent choice for tween readers in grades 5 to 6, especially during homeschooling. It's a fun way to keep your child entertained and engaged while not in the classroom.

Louie doesn't have the best luck when it comes to nurturing small creatures. So when his father brings home a sickly newborn mini donkey, he's determined to save him. He...

sortTitle
Saving Winslow
lexileScore
690
crossRefId
3695459
awards
      • source: Association for Library Service to Children
      • value: Notable Children's Books
publisher
HarperCollins
Formats
Adobe EPUB eBook
Works on all eReaders (except Kindles), desktop computers and mobile devices with reading apps installed.
Kindle Book
Works on Kindles and devices with a Kindle app installed.
Need Help?
If you are having problem using our eCollection, please visit our support center.