Libraries are closed until further notice.
We are now offering contactless pickup and return at select locations with Books on the Go!

Some notices were not sent. Check your account for due dates (but we are still fine free)!

Cover of Snow.
(Book)

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(1)
4 star
 
(1)
3 star
 
(1)
2 star
 
(1)
1 star
 
(1)
Status:
15 copies, 1 person is on the wait list.
Cary Regional - Adult Fiction
MILCHMAN
East Regional - Adult Fiction has 2
MILCHMAN
Eva H. Perry Regional - Adult Fiction has 2
MILCHMAN
Copies
Location
Call Number
Status
Cameron Village Regional - Adult Fiction
MILCHMAN
Item being held
Cary Regional - Adult Fiction
MILCHMAN
On Shelf
East Regional - Adult Fiction
MILCHMAN
On Shelf
East Regional - Adult Fiction
MILCHMAN
On Shelf
Eva H. Perry Regional - Adult Fiction
MILCHMAN
On Shelf
Eva H. Perry Regional - Adult Fiction
MILCHMAN
On Shelf
Eva H. Perry Regional - Adult Fiction
MILCHMAN
Checked out
Middlecreek Community - Adult Fiction
MILCHMAN
On Shelf
North Regional - Adult Fiction
MILCHMAN
Checked out
North Regional - Adult Fiction
MILCHMAN
Checked out
Northeast Regional - Adult Fiction
MILCHMAN
On Shelf
Northeast Regional - Adult Fiction
MILCHMAN
On Shelf
Remote Storage - Adult Fiction
MILCHMAN
On Shelf
Southeast Regional - Adult Fiction
MILCHMAN
On Shelf
West Regional - Adult Fiction
MILCHMAN
On Shelf
More Details
Published:
[Place of publication not identified] : Ballantine Books, 2013.
Format:
Book
Language:
English
ISBN:
9780345534224, 9780345534217, 0345534220, 9780345534224 :

Notes

Description
"Jenny Milchman's Cover of Snow is a remarkable debut, a gripping tale of suspense in the tradition of Gillian Flynn, Chris Bohjalian, and Nancy Pickard. Waking up one wintry morning in her old farmhouse nestled in the Adirondack Mountains of New York, Nora Hamilton instantly knows that something is wrong. When her fog of sleep clears, she finds her world is suddenly, irretrievably shattered: Her husband, Brendan, has committed suicide. The first few hours following Nora's devastating discovery pass for her in a blur of numbness and disbelief. Then, a disturbing awareness slowly settles in: Brendan left no note and gave no indication that he was contemplating taking his own life. Why would a rock-solid police officer with unwavering affection for his wife, job, and quaint hometown suddenly choose to end it all? Having spent a lifetime avoiding hard truths, Nora must now start facing them. Unraveling her late husband's final days, Nora searches for an explanation--but finds a bewildering resistance from Brendan's best friend and partner, his fellow police officers, and his brittle mother. It quickly becomes clear to Nora that she is asking questions no one wants to answer. For beneath the soft cover of snow lies a powerful conspiracy that will stop at nothing to keep its presence unknown and its darkest secrets hidden. Advance praise for Cover of Snow "Everything a great suspense novel should be--tense, emotional, mysterious, and satisfying. Let's hope this is the start of a long career."--Lee Child, #1 New York Times bestselling author of A Wanted Man "A suspenseful, darkly atmospheric story of switchbacks and surprises, reminiscent of Margaret Maron's work, which is about the highest praise I can bestow."--Laura Lippmann"--,Provided by publisher.
Description
"On a wintry morning, in the remote Adirondack village of Wedeskyull, New York, Nora Hamilton wakes to find her life utterly changed: her rock-solid policeman husband has committed suicide. The life that Nora has grown to know and love in her husband's peaceful hometown is gone. And almost immediately, the pieces don't add up: solid as an oak Brendan was prescribed sedatives a week earlier, an odd local mechanic tells Nora strange stories about her husband's past, Brendan's coworkers on the police force are keeping an eye on her, as is a genial local reporter, hot on the trail of an explosive expose. Relying on the methodical nature that serves her so well as a restorer of old homes, Nora struggles to understand what happened to her husband -- even as this insular, frigid mountain town is determined to keep its deadly secrets buried"--,Provided by publisher.
Also in This Series
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Milchman, J. (2013). Cover of Snow. [Place of publication not identified]: Ballantine Books.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Milchman, Jenny. 2013. Cover of Snow. [Place of publication not identified]: Ballantine Books.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Milchman, Jenny, Cover of Snow. [Place of publication not identified]: Ballantine Books, 2013.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Milchman, Jenny. Cover of Snow. [Place of publication not identified]: Ballantine Books, 2013. Print.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
810b7dad-4f75-db73-319a-e14cfdb6a673
Go To GroupedWork

Record Information

Last File Modification TimeOct 28, 2020 07:38:26 AM
Last Grouped Work Modification TimeOct 28, 2020 01:42:23 PM

MARC Record

LEADER04693nam a2200445Ta 4500
001in501380680
003Ingram
00520160905132700.0
008130826s2013                  000 1 eng d
020 |a 9780345534224
020 |a 9780345534217
020 |a 0345534220
020 |a 9780345534224 :|c $15.00
040 |a TnLvILS|c TnLvILS|d UtOrBLW
08204|a [Fic]
092 |a MILCHMAN
1001 |a Milchman, Jenny
24510|a Cover of Snow.
264 1|a [Place of publication not identified] :|b Ballantine Books,|c 2013.
336 |a text|b txt|2 rdacontent
337 |a unmediated|b n|2 rdamedia
338 |a volume|b nc|2 rdacarrier
520 |a "Jenny Milchman's Cover of Snow is a remarkable debut, a gripping tale of suspense in the tradition of Gillian Flynn, Chris Bohjalian, and Nancy Pickard. Waking up one wintry morning in her old farmhouse nestled in the Adirondack Mountains of New York, Nora Hamilton instantly knows that something is wrong. When her fog of sleep clears, she finds her world is suddenly, irretrievably shattered: Her husband, Brendan, has committed suicide. The first few hours following Nora's devastating discovery pass for her in a blur of numbness and disbelief. Then, a disturbing awareness slowly settles in: Brendan left no note and gave no indication that he was contemplating taking his own life. Why would a rock-solid police officer with unwavering affection for his wife, job, and quaint hometown suddenly choose to end it all? Having spent a lifetime avoiding hard truths, Nora must now start facing them. Unraveling her late husband's final days, Nora searches for an explanation--but finds a bewildering resistance from Brendan's best friend and partner, his fellow police officers, and his brittle mother. It quickly becomes clear to Nora that she is asking questions no one wants to answer. For beneath the soft cover of snow lies a powerful conspiracy that will stop at nothing to keep its presence unknown and its darkest secrets hidden. Advance praise for Cover of Snow "Everything a great suspense novel should be--tense, emotional, mysterious, and satisfying. Let's hope this is the start of a long career."--Lee Child, #1 New York Times bestselling author of A Wanted Man "A suspenseful, darkly atmospheric story of switchbacks and surprises, reminiscent of Margaret Maron's work, which is about the highest praise I can bestow."--Laura Lippmann"--|c Provided by publisher.
520 |a "On a wintry morning, in the remote Adirondack village of Wedeskyull, New York, Nora Hamilton wakes to find her life utterly changed: her rock-solid policeman husband has committed suicide. The life that Nora has grown to know and love in her husband's peaceful hometown is gone. And almost immediately, the pieces don't add up: solid as an oak Brendan was prescribed sedatives a week earlier, an odd local mechanic tells Nora strange stories about her husband's past, Brendan's coworkers on the police force are keeping an eye on her, as is a genial local reporter, hot on the trail of an explosive expose. Relying on the methodical nature that serves her so well as a restorer of old homes, Nora struggles to understand what happened to her husband -- even as this insular, frigid mountain town is determined to keep its deadly secrets buried"--|c Provided by publisher.
949 |b 32046810814181|c SYSAFIC|d MILCHMAN|l CAM|n 5360111|o 0|s h|w 06/11/2014|x 10|y PBK
949 |b 32046203788117|c SYSAFIC|d MILCHMAN|l SER|n 5053459|o 0|s i|w 11/01/2012|x 39|y BK
949 |b 32046810814066|c SYSAFIC|d MILCHMAN|l CRY|n 5360099|o 0|s i|w 06/11/2014|x 15|y PBK
949 |b 32046810814074|c SYSAFIC|d MILCHMAN|l LAB|n 5360100|o 0|s i|w 06/11/2014|x 11|y PBK
949 |b 32046810814090|c SYSAFIC|d MILCHMAN|l EVA|n 5360102|o 0|s i|w 06/11/2014|x 7|y PBK
949 |b 32046810814124|c SYSAFIC|d MILCHMAN|l NER|n 5360105|o 0|s i|w 06/11/2014|x 9|y PBK
949 |b 32046810814132|c SYSAFIC|d MILCHMAN|l NER|n 5360106|o 0|s i|w 06/11/2014|x 14|y PBK
949 |b 32046810814207|c SYSAFIC|d MILCHMAN|l ERL|n 5360113|o 0|s i|w 06/11/2014|x 3|y PBK
949 |b 32046810794706|c SYSAFIC|d MILCHMAN|l WRL|n 5361248|o 0|s i|w 06/12/2014|x 16|y PBK
949 |b 32046810794748|c SYSAFIC|d MILCHMAN|l MID|n 5361252|o 0|s i|w 06/12/2014|x 8|y PBK
949 |b 32046810794755|c SYSAFIC|d MILCHMAN|l ERL|n 5361253|o 0|s i|w 06/12/2014|x 10|y PBK
949 |b 32046810794771|c SYSAFIC|d MILCHMAN|l EVA|n 5361255|o 0|s i|w 06/12/2014|x 6|y PBK
949 |b 32046810814082|c SYSAFIC|d MILCHMAN|l EVA|n 5360101|o 0|s o|w 06/11/2014|x 7|y PBK
949 |b 32046810814116|c SYSAFIC|d MILCHMAN|l NOR|n 5360104|o 0|s o|w 06/11/2014|x 14|y PBK
949 |b 32046810794722|c SYSAFIC|d MILCHMAN|l NOR|n 5361250|o 0|s o|w 06/12/2014|x 12|y PBK
999 |a 672543