Cover of Snow: A Novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(1)
4 star
 
(1)
3 star
 
(1)
2 star
 
(1)
1 star
 
(0)
Language:
English
More Details
ISBN:
9780345534224
9780345534217
9780385366236
9780345534231
Also in This Series
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 6332f390-87d8-445f-a785-a4fc389485d1
Grouping Title cover of snow
Grouping Author milchman jenny
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2019-08-20 09:21:45AM
Last Indexed 2019-08-20 09:22:21AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Milchman, Jenny
author_display Jenny Milchman
available_at_catalog Cary Community
East Regional
Green Road Community
Middle Creek Community
North Regional
Northeast Regional
Southeast Regional
West Regional
collection_catalog Adult Fiction
detailed_location_catalog Cameron Village Regional - Adult Fiction
Cary Community - Adult Fiction
East Regional - Adult Fiction
Green Road Community - Adult Fiction
Leesville Community - Adult Fiction
Middlecreek Community - Adult Fiction
North Regional - Adult Fiction
Northeast Regional - Adult Fiction
Southeast Regional - Adult Fiction
West Regional - Adult Fiction
display_description "Jenny Milchman's Cover of Snow is a remarkable debut, a gripping tale of suspense in the tradition of Gillian Flynn, Chris Bohjalian, and Nancy Pickard. Waking up one wintry morning in her old farmhouse nestled in the Adirondack Mountains of New York, Nora Hamilton instantly knows that something is wrong. When her fog of sleep clears, she finds her world is suddenly, irretrievably shattered: Her husband, Brendan, has committed suicide. The first few hours following Nora's devastating discovery pass for her in a blur of numbness and disbelief. Then, a disturbing awareness slowly settles in: Brendan left no note and gave no indication that he was contemplating taking his own life. Why would a rock-solid police officer with unwavering affection for his wife, job, and quaint hometown suddenly choose to end it all? Having spent a lifetime avoiding hard truths, Nora must now start facing them. Unraveling her late husband's final days, Nora searches for an explanation--but finds a bewildering resistance from Brendan's best friend and partner, his fellow police officers, and his brittle mother. It quickly becomes clear to Nora that she is asking questions no one wants to answer. For beneath the soft cover of snow lies a powerful conspiracy that will stop at nothing to keep its presence unknown and its darkest secrets hidden. Advance praise for Cover of Snow "Everything a great suspense novel should be--tense, emotional, mysterious, and satisfying. Let's hope this is the start of a long career."--Lee Child, #1 New York Times bestselling author of A Wanted Man "A suspenseful, darkly atmospheric story of switchbacks and surprises, reminiscent of Margaret Maron's work, which is about the highest praise I can bestow."--Laura Lippmann"-- "On a wintry morning, in the remote Adirondack village of Wedeskyull, New York, Nora Hamilton wakes to find her life utterly changed: her rock-solid policeman husband has committed suicide. The life that Nora has grown to know and love in her husband's peaceful hometown is gone. And almost immediately, the pieces don't add up: solid as an oak Brendan was prescribed sedatives a week earlier, an odd local mechanic tells Nora strange stories about her husband's past, Brendan's coworkers on the police force are keeping an eye on her, as is a genial local reporter, hot on the trail of an explosive expose. Relying on the methodical nature that serves her so well as a restorer of old homes, Nora struggles to understand what happened to her husband -- even as this insular, frigid mountain town is determined to keep its deadly secrets buried"--
format_catalog Book
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_catalog Audio Books
Books
eBook
id 6332f390-87d8-445f-a785-a4fc389485d1
isbn 9780345534217
9780345534224
9780345534231
9780385366236
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
overdrive:354428e8-00c6-44d0-b9ac-8d7ef79d9bf2 -1 Online OverDrive Collection Online OverDrive eAudiobook Audio Books 2 false true OverDrive OverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive Listen Available Online
overdrive:db9b303e-5988-4d1c-b37e-76a748e41ac5 -1 Online OverDrive Collection Online OverDrive eBook eBook 12 false true OverDrive Adobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive Read Available Online
ils:672543 5360104 North Regional - Adult Fiction MILCHMAN 1 false false On Shelf NOR
ils:672543 5361247 Cary Community - Adult Fiction MILCHMAN 1 false false On Shelf CRY
ils:672543 5053451 Green Road Community - Adult Fiction MILCHMAN 1 false false On Shelf GRE
ils:672543 5361253 East Regional - Adult Fiction MILCHMAN 1 false false On Shelf ERL
ils:672543 5361252 Middlecreek Community - Adult Fiction MILCHMAN 1 false false On Shelf MID
ils:672543 5053457 North Regional - Adult Fiction MILCHMAN 1 false false On Shelf NOR
ils:672543 5361250 Leesville Community - Adult Fiction MILCHMAN 1 false false Checked out LEE
ils:672543 5361248 West Regional - Adult Fiction MILCHMAN 1 false false On Shelf WRL
ils:672543 5360113 East Regional - Adult Fiction MILCHMAN 1 false false On Shelf ERL
ils:672543 5360099 Cameron Village Regional - Adult Fiction MILCHMAN 1 false false Checked out CAM
ils:672543 5053459 Southeast Regional - Adult Fiction MILCHMAN 1 false false On Shelf SER
ils:672543 5360107 Northeast Regional - Adult Fiction MILCHMAN 1 false false On Shelf NER
ils:672543 5360106 Northeast Regional - Adult Fiction MILCHMAN 1 false false On Shelf NER
ils:672543 5360105 Northeast Regional - Adult Fiction MILCHMAN 1 false false On Shelf NER
ils:672543 5360111 Southeast Regional - Adult Fiction MILCHMAN 1 false false On Shelf SER
itype_catalog
last_indexed 2019-08-20T13:22:21.485Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog MILCHMAN
owning_library_catalog Wake County Public Libraries
owning_location_catalog Cameron Village Regional
Cary Community
East Regional
Green Road Community
Leesville Community
Middle Creek Community
North Regional
Northeast Regional
Southeast Regional
West Regional
primary_isbn 9780345534224
publishDate 2013
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
overdrive:354428e8-00c6-44d0-b9ac-8d7ef79d9bf2 eAudiobook Audio Books English Penguin Random House Audio Publishing Group 2013
overdrive:db9b303e-5988-4d1c-b37e-76a748e41ac5 eBook eBook English Random House Publishing Group 2013
ils:672543 Book Books English Ballantine Books, 2013.
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:354428e8-00c6-44d0-b9ac-8d7ef79d9bf2 -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
overdrive:db9b303e-5988-4d1c-b37e-76a748e41ac5 -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
ils:672543 5360104 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:672543 5361247 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:672543 5053451 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:672543 5361253 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:672543 5361252 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:672543 5053457 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:672543 5361250 Checked out Checked out false false true false false true
ils:672543 5361248 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:672543 5360113 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:672543 5360099 Checked out Checked out false false true false false true
ils:672543 5053459 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:672543 5360107 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:672543 5360106 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:672543 5360105 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:672543 5360111 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
title_display Cover of Snow
title_full Cover of Snow A Novel
Cover of Snow Milchman, Jenny
title_short Cover of Snow
title_sub A Novel
topic_facet Fiction
Suspense
Thriller