There is an issue with the catalog.  Information about book availability and locations may be incorrect.  We are working to resolve the problem.

Cover of Snow: A Novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(1)
4 star
 
(1)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(1)
1 star
 
(0)
Language:
English
More Details
ISBN:
9780345534224
9780345534217
9780385366236
9780345534231
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Also in this Series
More Like This
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 6332f390-87d8-445f-a785-a4fc389485d1
Full title cover of snow
Author milchman jenny
Grouping Category book
Last Update 2018-06-18 07:31:38AM
Last Indexed 2018-06-18 07:39:06AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Milchman, Jenny
author_display Jenny Milchman
available_at_catalog Duraleigh Road Community, East Regional, Eva H. Perry Regional, Green Road Community, Holly Springs Community, North Regional, Northeast Regional, Richard B. Harrison Community, Southgate Community, Wendell Community, West Regional
collection_catalog Adult Fiction
detailed_location_catalog Cary Community - Adult Fiction, Duraleigh Road - Adult Fiction, East Regional - Adult Fiction, Eva H. Perry Regional - Adult Fiction, Green Road Community - Adult Fiction, Holly Springs Community - Adult Fiction, North Regional - Adult Fiction, Northeast Regional - Adult Fiction, Richard B Harrison - Adult Fiction, Southeast Regional - Adult Fiction, Southgate Community - Adult Fiction, Wendell Community - Adult Fiction, West Regional - Adult Fiction
display_description "Jenny Milchman's Cover of Snow is a remarkable debut, a gripping tale of suspense in the tradition of Gillian Flynn, Chris Bohjalian, and Nancy Pickard. Waking up one wintry morning in her old farmhouse nestled in the Adirondack Mountains of New York, Nora Hamilton instantly knows that something is wrong. When her fog of sleep clears, she finds her world is suddenly, irretrievably shattered: Her husband, Brendan, has committed suicide. The first few hours following Nora's devastating discovery pass for her in a blur of numbness and disbelief. Then, a disturbing awareness slowly settles in: Brendan left no note and gave no indication that he was contemplating taking his own life. Why would a rock-solid police officer with unwavering affection for his wife, job, and quaint hometown suddenly choose to end it all? Having spent a lifetime avoiding hard truths, Nora must now start facing them. Unraveling her late husband's final days, Nora searches for an explanation--but finds a bewildering resistance from Brendan's best friend and partner, his fellow police officers, and his brittle mother. It quickly becomes clear to Nora that she is asking questions no one wants to answer. For beneath the soft cover of snow lies a powerful conspiracy that will stop at nothing to keep its presence unknown and its darkest secrets hidden. Advance praise for Cover of Snow "Everything a great suspense novel should be--tense, emotional, mysterious, and satisfying. Let's hope this is the start of a long career."--Lee Child, #1 New York Times bestselling author of A Wanted Man "A suspenseful, darkly atmospheric story of switchbacks and surprises, reminiscent of Margaret Maron's work, which is about the highest praise I can bestow."--Laura Lippmann"-- "On a wintry morning, in the remote Adirondack village of Wedeskyull, New York, Nora Hamilton wakes to find her life utterly changed: her rock-solid policeman husband has committed suicide. The life that Nora has grown to know and love in her husband's peaceful hometown is gone. And almost immediately, the pieces don't add up: solid as an oak Brendan was prescribed sedatives a week earlier, an odd local mechanic tells Nora strange stories about her husband's past, Brendan's coworkers on the police force are keeping an eye on her, as is a genial local reporter, hot on the trail of an explosive expose. Relying on the methodical nature that serves her so well as a restorer of old homes, Nora struggles to understand what happened to her husband -- even as this insular, frigid mountain town is determined to keep its deadly secrets buried"--
format_catalog Book, eAudiobook, eBook
format_category_catalog Audio Books, Books, eBook
id 6332f390-87d8-445f-a785-a4fc389485d1
isbn 9780345534217, 9780345534224, 9780345534231, 9780385366236
item_details ils:672543|5053451|Green Road Community - Adult Fiction|MILCHMAN|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||GRE||, ils:672543|5053457|North Regional - Adult Fiction|MILCHMAN|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||NOR||, ils:672543|5053459|Duraleigh Road - Adult Fiction|MILCHMAN|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||DUR||, ils:672543|5360099|Eva H. Perry Regional - Adult Fiction|MILCHMAN|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||EVA||, ils:672543|5360102|Southeast Regional - Adult Fiction|MILCHMAN|||1|false|false|||||Transit Request||SER||, ils:672543|5360104|North Regional - Adult Fiction|MILCHMAN|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||NOR||, ils:672543|5360105|North Regional - Adult Fiction|MILCHMAN|||1|false|false|||||Checked out||NOR||, ils:672543|5360106|Northeast Regional - Adult Fiction|MILCHMAN|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||NER||, ils:672543|5360107|Eva H. Perry Regional - Adult Fiction|MILCHMAN|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||EVA||, ils:672543|5360111|Southgate Community - Adult Fiction|MILCHMAN|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||SGA||, ils:672543|5360113|East Regional - Adult Fiction|MILCHMAN|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||ERL||, ils:672543|5361247|Cary Community - Adult Fiction|MILCHMAN|||1|false|false|||||Checked out||CRY||, ils:672543|5361248|West Regional - Adult Fiction|MILCHMAN|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||WRL||, ils:672543|5361250|Richard B Harrison - Adult Fiction|MILCHMAN|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||RBH||, ils:672543|5361252|Wendell Community - Adult Fiction|MILCHMAN|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||WEN||, ils:672543|5361253|East Regional - Adult Fiction|MILCHMAN|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||ERL||, ils:672543|5361254|North Regional - Adult Fiction|MILCHMAN|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||NOR||, ils:672543|5361255|Holly Springs Community - Adult Fiction|MILCHMAN|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||HSP||, overdrive:354428e8-00c6-44d0-b9ac-8d7ef79d9bf2|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eAudiobook|Audio Books|2|false|true|OverDrive|||OverDrive MP3 Audiobook,OverDrive Listen|Checked Out||||, overdrive:db9b303e-5988-4d1c-b37e-76a748e41ac5|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|12|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,Kindle Book,OverDrive Read|Available Online||||
itype_catalog
last_indexed 2018-06-18T11:39:06.045Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog MILCHMAN
owning_library_catalog Wake County Public Libraries
owning_location_catalog Cary Community, Duraleigh Road Community, East Regional, Eva H. Perry Regional, Green Road Community, Holly Springs Community, North Regional, Northeast Regional, Richard B. Harrison Community, Southeast Regional, Southgate Community, Wendell Community, West Regional
primary_isbn 9780345534224
publishDate 2013
record_details ils:672543|Book|Books||English|Ballantine Books,|2013.|, overdrive:354428e8-00c6-44d0-b9ac-8d7ef79d9bf2|eAudiobook|Audio Books||English|Books on Tape|2013|, overdrive:db9b303e-5988-4d1c-b37e-76a748e41ac5|eBook|eBook||English|Random House Publishing Group|2013|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:354428e8-00c6-44d0-b9ac-8d7ef79d9bf2 -1 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false false
overdrive:db9b303e-5988-4d1c-b37e-76a748e41ac5 -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
ils:672543 5361248 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:672543 5361255 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:672543 5360107 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:672543 5360113 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:672543 5361250 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:672543 5361253 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:672543 5360106 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:672543 5053459 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:672543 5361247 Checked out Checked out false false true false false true
ils:672543 5053451 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:672543 5360105 Checked out Checked out false false true false false true
ils:672543 5361254 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:672543 5053457 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:672543 5361252 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:672543 5360111 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:672543 5360104 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:672543 5360102 Checked Out Transit Request false false true false false true
ils:672543 5360099 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
title_display Cover of Snow
title_full Cover of Snow A Novel, Cover of Snow Milchman, Jenny
title_short Cover of Snow
title_sub A Novel
topic_facet Fiction, Suspense, Thriller