Cover of Snow: A Novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(1)
4 star
 
(1)
3 star
 
(1)
2 star
 
(1)
1 star
 
(1)
Language:
English
More Details
ISBN:
9780345534224
9780345534217
9780385366236
9780345534231
Also in This Series
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID6332f390-87d8-445f-a785-a4fc389485d1
Grouping Titlecover of snow
Grouping Authormilchman jenny
Grouping Categorybook
Last Grouping Update2019-10-23 07:24:55AM
Last Indexed2019-10-23 07:39:32AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
authorMilchman, Jenny
author_displayJenny Milchman
available_at_catalogEast Regional
Leesville Community
Middle Creek Community
North Regional
Northeast Regional
Southeast Regional
Wake Forest Community
West Regional
collection_catalogAdult Fiction
detailed_location_catalogEast Regional - Adult Fiction
Green Road Community - Adult Fiction
Leesville Community - Adult Fiction
Middlecreek Community - Adult Fiction
North Regional - Adult Fiction
Northeast Regional - Adult Fiction
Southeast Regional - Adult Fiction
Wake Forest Community - Adult Fiction
West Regional - Adult Fiction
display_description"Jenny Milchman's Cover of Snow is a remarkable debut, a gripping tale of suspense in the tradition of Gillian Flynn, Chris Bohjalian, and Nancy Pickard. Waking up one wintry morning in her old farmhouse nestled in the Adirondack Mountains of New York, Nora Hamilton instantly knows that something is wrong. When her fog of sleep clears, she finds her world is suddenly, irretrievably shattered: Her husband, Brendan, has committed suicide. The first few hours following Nora's devastating discovery pass for her in a blur of numbness and disbelief. Then, a disturbing awareness slowly settles in: Brendan left no note and gave no indication that he was contemplating taking his own life. Why would a rock-solid police officer with unwavering affection for his wife, job, and quaint hometown suddenly choose to end it all? Having spent a lifetime avoiding hard truths, Nora must now start facing them. Unraveling her late husband's final days, Nora searches for an explanation--but finds a bewildering resistance from Brendan's best friend and partner, his fellow police officers, and his brittle mother. It quickly becomes clear to Nora that she is asking questions no one wants to answer. For beneath the soft cover of snow lies a powerful conspiracy that will stop at nothing to keep its presence unknown and its darkest secrets hidden. Advance praise for Cover of Snow "Everything a great suspense novel should be--tense, emotional, mysterious, and satisfying. Let's hope this is the start of a long career."--Lee Child, #1 New York Times bestselling author of A Wanted Man "A suspenseful, darkly atmospheric story of switchbacks and surprises, reminiscent of Margaret Maron's work, which is about the highest praise I can bestow."--Laura Lippmann"-- "On a wintry morning, in the remote Adirondack village of Wedeskyull, New York, Nora Hamilton wakes to find her life utterly changed: her rock-solid policeman husband has committed suicide. The life that Nora has grown to know and love in her husband's peaceful hometown is gone. And almost immediately, the pieces don't add up: solid as an oak Brendan was prescribed sedatives a week earlier, an odd local mechanic tells Nora strange stories about her husband's past, Brendan's coworkers on the police force are keeping an eye on her, as is a genial local reporter, hot on the trail of an explosive expose. Relying on the methodical nature that serves her so well as a restorer of old homes, Nora struggles to understand what happened to her husband -- even as this insular, frigid mountain town is determined to keep its deadly secrets buried"--
format_catalogBook
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_catalogAudio Books
Books
eBook
id6332f390-87d8-445f-a785-a4fc389485d1
isbn9780345534217
9780345534224
9780345534231
9780385366236
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
overdrive:354428e8-00c6-44d0-b9ac-8d7ef79d9bf2-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books2falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenAvailable Online
overdrive:db9b303e-5988-4d1c-b37e-76a748e41ac5-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook12falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadChecked Out
ils:6725435361253East Regional - Adult FictionMILCHMAN1falsefalseOn ShelfERL
ils:6725435360111Southeast Regional - Adult FictionMILCHMAN1falsefalseOn ShelfSER
ils:6725435361252Middlecreek Community - Adult FictionMILCHMAN1falsefalseOn ShelfMID
ils:6725435360099Wake Forest Community - Adult FictionMILCHMAN1falsefalseOn ShelfWAK
ils:6725435053457North Regional - Adult FictionMILCHMAN1falsefalseChecked outNOR
ils:6725435360105Northeast Regional - Adult FictionMILCHMAN1falsefalseOn ShelfNER
ils:6725435361250Leesville Community - Adult FictionMILCHMAN1falsefalseOn ShelfLEE
ils:6725435360104North Regional - Adult FictionMILCHMAN1falsefalseOn ShelfNOR
ils:6725435053451Green Road Community - Adult FictionMILCHMAN1falsefalseRemote StorageGRE
ils:6725435053459Southeast Regional - Adult FictionMILCHMAN1falsefalseOn ShelfSER
ils:6725435360107Northeast Regional - Adult FictionMILCHMAN1falsefalseOn ShelfNER
ils:6725435360113East Regional - Adult FictionMILCHMAN1falsefalseOn ShelfERL
ils:6725435360106Northeast Regional - Adult FictionMILCHMAN1falsefalseOn ShelfNER
ils:6725435361248West Regional - Adult FictionMILCHMAN1falsefalseOn ShelfWRL
last_indexed2019-10-23T11:39:32.412Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_catalogMILCHMAN
owning_library_catalogWake County Public Libraries
owning_location_catalogEast Regional
Green Road Community
Leesville Community
Middle Creek Community
North Regional
Northeast Regional
Southeast Regional
Wake Forest Community
West Regional
primary_isbn9780345534224
publishDate2013
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
overdrive:354428e8-00c6-44d0-b9ac-8d7ef79d9bf2eAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishPenguin Random House Audio Publishing Group2013
overdrive:db9b303e-5988-4d1c-b37e-76a748e41ac5eBookeBookEnglishRandom House Publishing Group2013
ils:672543BookBooksEnglishBallantine Books, 2013.
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_catalog
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:354428e8-00c6-44d0-b9ac-8d7ef79d9bf2-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:db9b303e-5988-4d1c-b37e-76a748e41ac5-1Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsefalse
ils:6725435361253On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:6725435360111On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:6725435361252On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:6725435360099On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:6725435053457Checked outChecked outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:6725435360105On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:6725435361250On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:6725435360104On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:6725435053451Currently UnavailableRemote Storagefalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:6725435053459On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:6725435360107On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:6725435360113On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:6725435360106On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:6725435361248On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
title_displayCover of Snow
title_fullCover of Snow A Novel
Cover of Snow Milchman, Jenny
title_shortCover of Snow
title_subA Novel
topic_facetFiction
Suspense
Thriller