Cover of Snow: A Novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(1)
4 star
 
(1)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(1)
1 star
 
(0)
Language:
English
More Details
ISBN:
9780345534224
9780345534217
9780345534231
9780385366236
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Also in this Series
More Like This
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 6332f390-87d8-445f-a785-a4fc389485d1
full_title cover of snow
author milchman jenny
grouping_category book
lastUpdate 2017-02-26 10:36:42AM

Solr Details

_version_ 1560410615078453248
accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Milchman, Jenny
author-letter Milchman, Jenny
author_display Milchman, Jenny
availability_toggle_catalog Available Now, Available Online, Entire Collection
available_at_catalog Cary Community, East Regional, Eva H. Perry Regional, Fuquay-Varina Community, Green Road Community, Holly Springs Community, North Regional, Northeast Regional, Richard B. Harrison Community, Southeast Regional, Southgate Community
callnumber_sort_catalog MILCHMAN
collection_catalog Adult Fiction
date_added 2013-01-14T05:00:00Z
days_since_added 1504
detailed_location_catalog Cary Community - Adult Fiction, Duraleigh Road - Adult Fiction, East Regional - Adult Fiction, Eva H. Perry Regional - Adult Fiction, Fuquay-Varina Community - Adult Fiction, Green Road Community - Adult Fiction, Holly Springs Community - Adult Fiction, North Regional - Adult Fiction, Northeast Regional - Adult Fiction, Richard B Harrison - Adult Fiction, Southeast Regional - Adult Fiction, Southgate Community - Adult Fiction, Wake Forest Community - Adult Fiction
display_description "Jenny Milchman's Cover of Snow is a remarkable debut, a gripping tale of suspense in the tradition of Gillian Flynn, Chris Bohjalian, and Nancy Pickard. Waking up one wintry morning in her old farmhouse nestled in the Adirondack Mountains of New York, Nora Hamilton instantly knows that something is wrong. When her fog of sleep clears, she finds her world is suddenly, irretrievably shattered: Her husband, Brendan, has committed suicide. The first few hours following Nora's devastating discovery pass for her in a blur of numbness and disbelief. Then, a disturbing awareness slowly settles in: Brendan left no note and gave no indication that he was contemplating taking his own life. Why would a rock-solid police officer with unwavering affection for his wife, job, and quaint hometown suddenly choose to end it all? Having spent a lifetime avoiding hard truths, Nora must now start facing them. Unraveling her late husband's final days, Nora searches for an explanation--but finds a bewildering resistance from Brendan's best friend and partner, his fellow police officers, and his brittle mother. It quickly becomes clear to Nora that she is asking questions no one wants to answer. For beneath the soft cover of snow lies a powerful conspiracy that will stop at nothing to keep its presence unknown and its darkest secrets hidden. Advance praise for Cover of Snow "Everything a great suspense novel should be--tense, emotional, mysterious, and satisfying. Let's hope this is the start of a long career."--Lee Child, #1 New York Times bestselling author of A Wanted Man "A suspenseful, darkly atmospheric story of switchbacks and surprises, reminiscent of Margaret Maron's work, which is about the highest praise I can bestow."--Laura Lippmann"-- "On a wintry morning, in the remote Adirondack village of Wedeskyull, New York, Nora Hamilton wakes to find her life utterly changed: her rock-solid policeman husband has committed suicide. The life that Nora has grown to know and love in her husband's peaceful hometown is gone. And almost immediately, the pieces don't add up: solid as an oak Brendan was prescribed sedatives a week earlier, an odd local mechanic tells Nora strange stories about her husband's past, Brendan's coworkers on the police force are keeping an eye on her, as is a genial local reporter, hot on the trail of an explosive expose. Relying on the methodical nature that serves her so well as a restorer of old homes, Nora struggles to understand what happened to her husband -- even as this insular, frigid mountain town is determined to keep its deadly secrets buried"--
econtent_device Android, BlackBerry, Kindle, Kindle Fire, Mac, Windows, iPad, iPhone, iPod touch
econtent_protection_type_catalog Limited Access
econtent_source_catalog OverDrive
format_boost 30
format_catalog Book, eAudiobook, eBook
format_category_catalog Audio Books, Books, eBook
genre Fiction
genre_facet Fiction
grouping_category book
id 6332f390-87d8-445f-a785-a4fc389485d1
isbn 9780345534217, 9780345534224, 9780345534231, 9780385366236
item_details ils:672543|5053451|Northeast Regional - Adult Fiction|MILCHMAN|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||NER||, ils:672543|5053457|North Regional - Adult Fiction|MILCHMAN|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||NOR||, ils:672543|5053459|Duraleigh Road - Adult Fiction|MILCHMAN|||1|false|false|||||Checked out||DUR||, ils:672543|5360099|Holly Springs Community - Adult Fiction|MILCHMAN|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||HSP||, ils:672543|5360102|Green Road Community - Adult Fiction|MILCHMAN|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||GRE||, ils:672543|5360104|Wake Forest Community - Adult Fiction|MILCHMAN|||1|false|false|||||Checked out||WAK||, ils:672543|5360105|East Regional - Adult Fiction|MILCHMAN|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||ERL||, ils:672543|5360106|Northeast Regional - Adult Fiction|MILCHMAN|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||NER||, ils:672543|5360107|Cary Community - Adult Fiction|MILCHMAN|||1|false|false|||||Display||CRY||, ils:672543|5360110|Fuquay-Varina Community - Adult Fiction|MILCHMAN|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||FUQ||, ils:672543|5360111|Southgate Community - Adult Fiction|MILCHMAN|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||SGA||, ils:672543|5360113|Southeast Regional - Adult Fiction|MILCHMAN|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||SER||, ils:672543|5361247|Cary Community - Adult Fiction|MILCHMAN|||1|false|false|||||Display||CRY||, ils:672543|5361248|Eva H. Perry Regional - Adult Fiction|MILCHMAN|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||EVA||, ils:672543|5361250|Richard B Harrison - Adult Fiction|MILCHMAN|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||RBH||, ils:672543|5361252|Southeast Regional - Adult Fiction|MILCHMAN|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||SER||, ils:672543|5361253|East Regional - Adult Fiction|MILCHMAN|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||ERL||, ils:672543|5361254|North Regional - Adult Fiction|MILCHMAN|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||NOR||, ils:672543|5361255|Holly Springs Community - Adult Fiction|MILCHMAN|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||HSP||, overdrive:354428e8-00c6-44d0-b9ac-8d7ef79d9bf2|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eAudiobook|Audio Books|2|false|true|OverDrive|||OverDrive MP3 Audiobook,OverDrive Listen|Available Online||||, overdrive:db9b303e-5988-4d1c-b37e-76a748e41ac5|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|12|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,OverDrive Read,Kindle Book|Available Online||||
itype_catalog
language English
language_boost 10
language_boost_es 1
lexile_code
lexile_score -1
lib_boost_catalog 50
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_catalog MILCHMAN
local_callnumber_exact_catalog MILCHMAN
local_callnumber_left_catalog MILCHMAN
local_days_since_added_catalog 1280
num_holdings 33
owning_library_catalog Wake County Public Libraries
owning_location_catalog Cary Community, Duraleigh Road Community, East Regional, Eva H. Perry Regional, Fuquay-Varina Community, Green Road Community, Holly Springs Community, North Regional, Northeast Regional, Richard B. Harrison Community, Southeast Regional, Southgate Community, Wake Forest Community
popularity 24
primary_isbn 9780345534224
publishDate 2013
publishDateSort 2013
publisher Ballantine Books,, Penguin Random House Audio Publishing Group, Random House Publishing Group
rating 3.6667
rating_facet oneStar, threeStar, twoStar
record_details ils:672543|Book|Books||English|Ballantine Books,|2013.|, overdrive:354428e8-00c6-44d0-b9ac-8d7ef79d9bf2|eAudiobook|Audio Books||English|Penguin Random House Audio Publishing Group|2013|, overdrive:db9b303e-5988-4d1c-b37e-76a748e41ac5|eBook|eBook||English|Random House Publishing Group|2013|
recordtype grouped_work
scope_has_related_records adr, bkm, cam, catalog, cry, dur, eic, elf, erl, eva, fuq, gre, hsp, lab, lee, lts, mid, ner, nor, orl, rbh, ser, sga, wak, wen, wrl, zeb
scoping_details_catalog ils:672543|5053451|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true|||, ils:672543|5053457|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true|||, ils:672543|5053459|Checked out|Checked out|false|false|true|false|false|true|||, ils:672543|5360099|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true|||, ils:672543|5360102|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true|||, ils:672543|5360104|Checked out|Checked out|false|false|true|false|false|true|||, ils:672543|5360105|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true|||, ils:672543|5360106|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true|||, ils:672543|5360107|On Shelf|Display|false|true|true|false|false|true|||, ils:672543|5360110|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true|||, ils:672543|5360111|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true|||, ils:672543|5360113|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true|||, ils:672543|5361247|On Shelf|Display|false|true|true|false|false|true|||, ils:672543|5361248|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true|||, ils:672543|5361250|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true|||, ils:672543|5361252|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true|||, ils:672543|5361253|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true|||, ils:672543|5361254|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true|||, ils:672543|5361255|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true|||, overdrive:354428e8-00c6-44d0-b9ac-8d7ef79d9bf2|-1|Available Online|Available Online|false|true|true|false|false|false|||, overdrive:db9b303e-5988-4d1c-b37e-76a748e41ac5|-1|Available Online|Available Online|false|true|true|false|false|false|||
target_audience Adult
target_audience_full Adult
title Cover of Snow A Novel
title_display Cover of Snow
title_full Cover of Snow, Cover of Snow A Novel
title_short Cover of Snow
title_sort cover of snow
title_sub A Novel
topic Fiction, Suspense, Thriller
topic_facet Fiction, Suspense, Thriller