Heads in Beds: A Reckless Memoir of Hotels, Hustles, and So-Called Hospitality

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(4)
4 star
 
(3)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(2)
1 star
 
(0)
Language:
English
More Details
ISBN:
9780385535649
9780449807101
Also in This Series
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID262dd353-fdde-92e1-65d6-dff1e3ac85ed
Grouping Titleheads in beds a reckless memoir of hotels hustles and so called hospitality
Grouping Authorjacob tomsky
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2022-09-28 05:22:59AM
Last Indexed2022-09-28 05:44:55AM

Solr Fields

accelerated_reader_point_value
0
accelerated_reader_reading_level
0
author
Tomsky, Jacob
author_display
Tomsky, Jacob
display_description
In the tradition of Kitchen Confidential and Waiter Rant, a rollicking, eye-opening, fantastically indiscreet memoir of a life spent (and misspent) in the hotel industry.
“Highly amusing."—New York Times

Jacob Tomsky never intended to go into the hotel business. As a new college graduate, armed only with a philosophy degree and a singular lack of career direction, he became a valet parker for a large luxury hotel in New Orleans. Yet, rising fast through the ranks, he ended up working in “hospitality” for more than a decade, doing everything from supervising the housekeeping department to manning the front desk at an upscale Manhattan hotel. He’s checked you in, checked you out, separated your white panties from the white bed sheets, parked your car, tasted your room-service meals, cleaned your toilet, denied you a late checkout, given you a wake-up call, eaten M&Ms out of your minibar, laughed at your jokes, and taken your money. In Heads in Beds he pulls back the curtain to expose the crazy and compelling reality of a multi-billion-dollar industry we think we know.

Heads in Beds is a funny, authentic, and irreverent chronicle of the highs and lows of hotel life, told by a keenly observant insider who’s seen it all. Prepare to be amused, shocked, and amazed as he spills the unwritten code of the bellhops, the antics that go on in the valet parking garage, the housekeeping department’s dirty little secrets—not to mention the shameless activities of the guests, who are rarely on their best behavior. Prepare to be moved, too, by his candor about what it’s like to toil in a highly demanding service industry at the luxury level, where people expect to get what they pay for (and often a whole lot more). Employees are poorly paid and frequently abused by coworkers and guests alike, and maintaining a semblance of sanity is a daily challenge.
Along his journey Tomsky also reveals the secrets of the industry, offering easy ways to get what you need from your hotel without any hassle. This book (and a timely proffered twenty-dollar bill) will help you score late checkouts and upgrades, get free stuff galore, and make that pay-per-view charge magically disappear. Thanks to him you’ll know how to get the very best service from any business that makes its money from putting heads in beds. Or, at the very least, you will keep the bellmen from taking your luggage into the camera-free back office and bashing it against the wall repeatedly.
format_catalog
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_catalog
Audio Books
eBook
id
262dd353-fdde-92e1-65d6-dff1e3ac85ed
isbn
9780385535649
9780449807101
last_indexed
2022-09-28T09:44:55.111Z
lexile_score
-1
literary_form
Non Fiction
literary_form_full
Non Fiction
primary_isbn
9780385535649
publishDate
2012
publisher
Books on Tape
Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group
recordtype
grouped_work
title_display
Heads in Beds A Reckless Memoir of Hotels, Hustles, and So-Called Hospitality
title_full
Heads in Beds A Reckless Memoir of Hotels, Hustles, and So-Called Hospitality
title_short
Heads in Beds
title_sub
A Reckless Memoir of Hotels, Hustles, and So-Called Hospitality
topic_facet
Biography & Autobiography
Business
Humor (Nonfiction)
Nonfiction

Solr Details Tables

item_details

Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent URLDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocation
overdrive:b9df1033-6692-4462-be86-b62551c9d179-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books2falsetrueOverDriveChecked Out
overdrive:e3b67155-6319-4581-9718-1714e506e7cf-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook9falsetrueOverDriveAvailable Online

record_details

Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
overdrive:b9df1033-6692-4462-be86-b62551c9d179eAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishBooks on Tape2012
overdrive:e3b67155-6319-4581-9718-1714e506e7cfeBookeBookEnglishKnopf Doubleday Publishing Group2012

scoping_details_catalog

Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:b9df1033-6692-4462-be86-b62551c9d179-1Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:e3b67155-6319-4581-9718-1714e506e7cf-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse